Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ifconfig doesn't show BCM4318 card's interface
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
creaker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 10:29 pm    Post subject: ifconfig doesn't show BCM4318 card's interface Reply with quote

I'm totally noob in wifi field so need a help to get wifi card working
It is a PCI card
Code:
01:06.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. WL-138G v2 / WL-138gE / WL-100gE


What I did till now:
SInce kernel has it's own driver for this card, I enabled wifi stuffs in kernel config, built brcmsmac module and loaded it with modprobe, but ifconfig -a doesn't show wireless interface.
I thought it may be module issue and went in other way (following gentoo wiki): emerged sys-firmware/b43-firmware. Though I expected b43 module will built, I can't found it. modprobe says that module not found. But I found brcmutil.ko module and assumed it is a module built by emerge. I modprobed it, but still ifconfig doesn't show wireless interface.

Is it a module issue or is it just broked hardware?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

seems I found it, just forgot to build kernel module b43 in addition to firmware.
ifconfig now shows wlan interface.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Somehow getting my card starting. The next trouble is that it can't find any access point.
Code:
# ip link set wlan0 up
# iw dev wlan0 link
Not connected
# iw dev wlan0 scan
#

shows nothing. Though I'm pretty sure there are 5 or 6 wifi access points around.
Have I to do some additional configurations except wpa_supplicant.conf and /etc/conf.d/net ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe your wifi is blocked by rfkill. Does your computer have a wifi button or switch?

rfkill can be managed using the controls in /sys/class/rfkill/* or by installing the rfkill package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a PCI card wifi, so no any switches or buttons.
Interface started by 'ip link set wlan0 up' and it's state is UP.
I installed rfkill to check for blockage:

Code:
server ~ # rfkill list
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: no


Seems not blocked, but can't locate any access point
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It turns out wifi scans for AP, but in some strange manner. At first run iw shows nothing, but it recognizes APs if command was running once more immediately. After a some timeout I have to run iw twice again to get output. Looks like card sleeps by default and first scan command awakes it up. Next scan collects AP info. After a while it sleeps again. Hmm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum