Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Application Launcher Menu does not show packages
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 535
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 12:28 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Application Launcher Menu does not show packages Reply with quote

I have a strange problem with the KDE4 Application Launcher Menu:

Most of my applications show up in the sub-menues of KDE4 Application Launcher Menu. But I installed kdemultimedia-meta recently and none of these applications show up under the submenu "Multimedia".

I can start the various applications "by hand", using "Run command..." and type in the app's name. But they are not visible in the Application Launcher Menu.

Is there a way to "re-populate" the "Application Launcher Menu" with the applications installed?
I would like to understand the root cause of this problem. But I have not found much by googling unfortunately.
_________________
/Phil


Last edited by philip on Mon Sep 01, 2014 2:31 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dominique_71
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Aug 2005
Posts: 1675
Location: Switzerland (Romandie)

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2014 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KDE's application menu is in /etc/xdg/menus with additional files in /usr/share/desktop-directories.
Its support for the additional free desktop categories is very poor, but that's another issue. Anyway, a software will be shown into a xdg application menu, only if it provide a desktop file in /usr/share/applications.

For details, as the name of the variables, you can take a look here: Desktop Menu Specification.
For a menu with complete support for the additional categories: https://github.com/domichel/fvwm-xdg-menu If you succeed to made it to work with kde, I am interested to know how.
_________________
[[[ To any NSA and FBI agents reading that text: please consider ]]]
[[[ whether defending the US Constitution against all enemies, ]]]
[[[ foreign or domestic, requires you to follow Snowden's example. ]]]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 535
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for comments Dominique_71,

I have noticed from my other desktop installation that the working of the menu system is not 100%. However, my kdemultimedia applications shows in the sub-menu on the desktop installation. There I have the full blown kde installation, kde-meta.

On this laptop I chose a minimal kde installation, with the intention to add applications as I need them. Unfortunately the kdemultimedia-meta suite does not show up in the submentues.

Unfortunately I believe I do not I have time to investigate https://github.com/domichel/fvwm-xdg-menu . Otherwise it seems to be an interesting alternative.
_________________
/Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 535
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I solved it:

Right Click "Application Launcher Menu" --> Edit Applications --> Edit (in the drop down menu row) --> Restore to System Menu (last option at the bottom)
_________________
/Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum