Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Yet another fresh install with no network
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DeadM0nkey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2014 10:57 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Yet another fresh install with no network Reply with quote

I have searched for help and while I didn't find an answer I did see that this comes up a lot, so if there are resources I didn't tap, I'm sorry but I did try to search for the answer.

When issuing /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start I was told that eth0 does not exist. After looking through the handbook again I saw that eth0 was a guess for the name and per the instructions booted the live CD and saw that the interface was named enp0s25. I removed eth0 and issued ln -s net.lo net.enp0s25 and rc-update add net.enp0s25

/etc/init.d/net.enp0s25 said the interface did not exist.

lspci shows the folowing:

Quote:
lspci|egrep -i 'network|ethernet'
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection (rev 04)


and while booted from the livecd ifconfig shows the following

Quote:
enp0s25: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet 10.127.55.127 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 10.127.55.255
inet6 fe80::1a03:73ff:fe45:13fe prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
ether 18:03:73:45:13:fe txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 1232 bytes 94495 (92.2 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 203 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 174 bytes 28713 (28.0 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
device interrupt 20 memory 0xe1500000-e1520000

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 65536
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x10<host>
loop txqueuelen 0 (Local Loopback)
RX packets 2 bytes 140 (140.0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 2 bytes 140 (140.0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0


I went into /usr/src/linux and issued make menuconfig and selected all the available intel network drivers, but I did not see the one specifically for the 82579.

What have I missed?

I'm currently booted from live CD with the filesystem mounted and chrooted.

Thank you in advance.


Last edited by DeadM0nkey on Mon Aug 11, 2014 5:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
quilosaq
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Dec 2009
Posts: 1316

PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2014 12:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

Boot your system without live CD and post the output of
Code:
#(root) ifconfig -a


Last edited by quilosaq on Sun Aug 10, 2014 3:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13504

PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2014 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You probably want e1000e. Do you mean that even after you enabled all the Intel network drivers, you still have the problem described in the first part of the post? For the interface to exist, you must have the driver for it initialized and you must use the right name. If udev device name mangling has not been disabled, it will be an enp?s?? name. Otherwise, for e1000e, it will be an eth? name.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DeadM0nkey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2014 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will post the results on Tuesday when I'm back at work. In regards to the driver, I selected all intel network drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2014 3:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Boot into LiveCD system and run this command:
Code:
lspci -k

it will show you, which driver loaded for your ethernet device.

Reboot into your Gentoo and run this command again. Will it show that ethetnet device's driver as loaded? If so, your networking is just misconfigured. If you have no driver loaded, try to load it with 'modprobe'. It will load driver if you have it built. Otherwise you have to reconfigure your kernel - select appropriate driver - and rebuild kernel.

As well you can check for
Code:
lsmod

command output.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donald3.heckel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Apr 2013
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2014 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply Reply with quote

Hello,

Have you tried passing
Code:
net.ifnames=0
in your bootloader? I think that should get udev to leave networking interface names alone. That should be a good pinpoint. I think you might be trying the wrong name. Is it named net.eth0 but showing up with a new udev net interface name?


Sincerely,


donald3.heckel
_________________
Believing is seeing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42583
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2014 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DeadM0nkey

/etc/init.d/net.* is a symlink to /etc/init.d/net.lo
You need to make the symlink before you try to use it to start the interface.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DeadM0nkey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Neddy, and Donald, I believe I have the udev name correct based on what it shows when I boot from the live CD, hence why I renamed it and issued the ln -s net.lo net.enp0s25 command.



Creaker, lspci -k shows the folowing:

Code:
lspci -k
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family DRAM Controller (rev 09)
        Subsystem: Dell Device 04ad
lspci: Unable to load libkmod resources: error -12
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200/2nd Generation Core Processor Family PCI Express Root Port (rev 09)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)
        Subsystem: Dell Device 04ad
00:16.3 Serial controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family KT Controller (rev 04)
        Subsystem: Dell Device 04ad
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection (rev 04)
        Subsystem: Dell Device 047e
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #2 (rev 04)
        Subsystem: Dell Device 04ad
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
        Subsystem: Dell Device 04ad
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev b4)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 3 (rev b4)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 (rev 04)
        Subsystem: Dell Device 04ad
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev a4)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Q65 Express Chipset Family LPC Controller (rev 04)
        Subsystem: Dell Device 04ad
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family SATA AHCI Controller (rev 04)
        Subsystem: Dell Device 04ad
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller (rev 04)
        Subsystem: Dell Device 04ad
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Cedar [Radeon HD 5000/6000/7350/8350 Series]


Is 047e the name of the module I should be looking for?

lsmod returns some ugly looking things that I would guess is occurring because I am chrooted. Basically several pages of this:

Code:
libkmod: kmod_module_get_holders: could not open '/sys/module/dm_raid/holders': No such file or directory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42583
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DeadM0nkey,

047e is the PCI Device ID. Intels Vendor ID is 8086, so your NIC is a 8086:047e

00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection (rev 04) translates as enp0s25. The p0 is the PCI bus number and the 25 is the device on the bus 19 hex is 25 decimal.

Google says that its a
Code:
< >     Intel(R) PRO/1000 PCI-Express Gigabit Ethernet support (NEW)

Thats the e1000e kernel module.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DeadM0nkey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I boot without the live CD, CD /usr/src/linux, and run make menuconfig, I do a search for e1000e and find that it is one of the drivers I selected. As for as I can see, it should be built into the kernel.

Is it possible that I'm not building the kernel correctly? What I did is as follows:

Quote:
cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig
<select modules to include by browsing to them an pressing y>
make && make modules_install
make install


it was my understanding (and as a noob I am fully prepared to learn that it is wrong) pressing y would include the driver in the kernel, and pressing m would create a module that would have to be loaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42583
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DeadM0nkey,

Gentoo does not mount your /boot partition for you.
If you don't have a boot partition, its not a problem.

If you do you need an extra step
Code:
make && make modules_install
mount /boot
make install


To test, run
Code:
uname -a
# uname -a
Linux NeddySeagoon_Static 3.14.4-gentoo #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat May 17 22:18:23 BST 2014 x86_64 AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
The date and time are the build date and time of the running kernel. The #1 is the build number of this kernel. In my case 1.
Is that your newest kernel build?

If you miss the mount /boot and you need it, the kernel will install to the wrong place and the boot loader will not find it.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DeadM0nkey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my fstab I added boot just in case I needed it (as I did). I got the network to work by pressing M to modularize the driver instead of Y to include. Can someone explain the difference between including a driver and modularizing it please? Also, does the mean I need to modularize all driver I wish to use?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42583
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DeadM0nkey,

Both should work equally well.

When you say <*>, the code goes into the kernel binary that is loaded by the boot loader.
When you say <M> the code goes into /lib/modules/`uname -r` and can only be accessed after the root filesystem is mounted

This means you can often add a module <M> without a kernel rebuild.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DeadM0nkey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To summarize in case someone else looks at this, in my case, the module for the network card would not load when it was built-n (press y in the kernel configuration screen <*>) but worked perfectly when built as a module (Press m in the kernel configuration screen <M>)

Thanks to everyone for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DeadM0nkey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Correction,

Apparently while I had meant to modify my fstab to auto-mount /boot, I never did. my problem is as Neddy said, /boot wasn't mounted, so my kernel configs were being tossed into limbo. mount /boot before make install corrected the issue.

Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42583
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DeadM0nkey,

Your kernel was correctly built but installed to the wrong place.
So you had fixed your problem but didn't know it because you were always loading the old kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum