Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
google chrome not playing youtube or soundcloud (solved)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MarioMaster100
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jul 2014
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 1:40 am    Post subject: google chrome not playing youtube or soundcloud (solved) Reply with quote

I think when I did my upgrades/updates google chrome and it's plugins were both rebuilt. Well youtube it buffers fine but the progress bar never moves and the only thing I can see is black in the video window and no sound. On soundcloud, it will play the first second of any song and that's all. On http://chipmusic.org/music it will play audio but it's stuttery or very slightly choppy. The spotify app that doesn't rely on a browser is also being stuttery. I was going to install chromium to see if that would work but I added
Code:
dev-libs/libxml2 icu
and
Code:
dev-qt/qtwebkit icu
to the /etc/portage/package.use file and it keeps on erroring with
Code:
!!! Multiple package instances within a single package slot have been pulled
!!! into the dependency graph, resulting in a slot conflict:

dev-libs/libxml2:2

  (dev-libs/libxml2-2.9.2:2/2::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
    dev-libs/libxml2:=[icu] required by (www-client/chromium-40.0.2214.91:0/0::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
                       ^^^                                                                                                                           
 

  (dev-libs/libxml2-2.9.2:2/2::gentoo, installed) pulled in by
    dev-libs/libxml2:2[!icu?] required by (dev-qt/qtwebkit-4.8.5:4/4::gentoo, installed)
                       ^^^^^                                                                     


Last edited by MarioMaster100 on Sat Mar 28, 2015 4:12 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarioMaster100
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jul 2014
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 3:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And watching a video on vlc was a tad stuttery in audio as well, it's jumbling the audio ahead a tad O_O

Edit: mpv played the same video 100% fine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarioMaster100
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jul 2014
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed firefox (still like chrome more) and I'm not having issues there but it still doesn't explain the spotify desktop issues and vlc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
natrix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Aug 2013
Posts: 556

PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2015 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You must install the binanies for chrome:

Code:
www-plugins/chrome-binary-plugins


And add the next in "/etc/portage/package.use"

Code:
>=dev-libs/libxml2-2.9.2 icu
>=dev-qt/qtwebkit-4.8.6-r1 icu


Good Luck!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarioMaster100
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jul 2014
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have had chrome-binary-plugins installed for some time and this is the first time it's acted up. Why would I have to explicitly pick the version for the package.use file, why wouldn't the ones I put be good...?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
natrix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Aug 2013
Posts: 556

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The two llines are a copy-paste from my package.use. I forgot to erase its :roll: :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarioMaster100
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jul 2014
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I put
Code:
dev-libs/libxml2 icu

and
Code:
dev-qt/qtwebkit icu

but it still refused to work...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
natrix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Aug 2013
Posts: 556

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 3:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try it, now run

Code:
emerge --ask --update --deep --newuse --changed-use --with-bdeps=y @world


Maybe you will need too add the next in your package.use
Code:
media-libs/harfbuzz icu


If it fail, show the new output
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarioMaster100
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jul 2014
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright well that worked and I had the harfbuzz one with the icu use flag for a previous package at some point. Chromium is experiencing the same issues as chrome though. Should I keep chromium installed anyway?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
natrix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Aug 2013
Posts: 556

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check the plugins in the browser:

Code:
chrome://plugins


Other option is Chrome:

Code:
www-client/google-chrome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarioMaster100
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jul 2014
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Both google chrome and chromium have the adobe flash player plugin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarioMaster100
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jul 2014
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2015 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I guess I must have been using an old sound config or something. I tried someone's suggested .asoundrc file and it looks like all the weird issues are fixed (except recording sounds with audacity). This was my old config:
Code:
pcm.!default {
  type asym
  playback.pcm "LoopAndReal"
  #capture.pcm "looprec"
  capture.pcm "hw:0,0"
}

pcm.looprec {
    type hw
    card "Loopback"
    device 1
    subdevice 0
}


pcm.LoopAndReal {
  type plug
  slave.pcm mdev
  route_policy "duplicate"
}


pcm.mdev {
  type multi
  slaves.a.pcm pcm.MixReale
  slaves.a.channels 2
  slaves.b.pcm pcm.MixLoopback
  slaves.b.channels 2
  bindings.0.slave a
  bindings.0.channel 0
  bindings.1.slave a
  bindings.1.channel 1
  bindings.2.slave b
  bindings.2.channel 0
  bindings.3.slave b
  bindings.3.channel 1
}


pcm.MixReale {
  type dmix
  ipc_key 1024
  slave {
    pcm "hw:0,0"
    rate 48000
    #rate 44100
    periods 128
    period_time 0
    period_size 1024 # must be power of 2
    buffer_size 8192
  }
}

pcm.MixLoopback {
  type dmix
  ipc_key 1025
  slave {
    pcm "hw:Loopback,0,0"
    rate 48000
    #rate 44100
    periods 128
    period_time 0
    period_size 1024 # must be power of 2
    buffer_size 8192
  }
}

and here's the current config:
Code:
defaults.pcm.dmix.!rate 48000
defaults.pcm.dmix.!format S16_LE
pcm.multi {
    type multi
    slaves.a.pcm "dmix:PCH"
    slaves.a.channels 2
    slaves.b.pcm "dmix:PCH"
    slaves.b.channels 2
    bindings.0 { slave a; channel 0; }
    bindings.1 { slave a; channel 1; }
    bindings.2 { slave b; channel 0; }
    bindings.3 { slave b; channel 1; }
}
pcm.both {
    type route
    slave.pcm "multi"
    ttable.0.0 1
    ttable.1.1 1
    ttable.0.2 1
    ttable.1.3 1
}
pcm.!default {
    type asym
    playback.pcm "plug:both"
    capture.pcm "plug:dsnoop:PCH"
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum