Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
wireless setup on new installation - wpa_supplicant
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rulip13
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Aug 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 7:39 pm    Post subject: wireless setup on new installation - wpa_supplicant Reply with quote

Hello,

I just installed Gentoo last night for the first time and it everything seems to work OK, except I cannot connect to wifi. When I ping a website it fails. I am using "wpa_supplicant"(installed wpa_supplicant with emerge during installation) with the following settings....

/etc/conf.d/net
**************
modules_wlan0="wpa_supplicant"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dnl80211"
config_wlan0="dhcp"
*************************

/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
*********************
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
#ap_scan=0
#update_config=1

network={
ssid="name of my network"
psk="mypassword"
scan_ssid=1
proto=WPA2
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
group=CCMP TKIP
pairwise=CCMP TKIP
priority=5
}
*********************

I also have Ubuntu installed on the same laptop, when connected to wifi in Ubuntu here is the information....

Interface: 802.11 WiFi(wlan0)
Security: WPA/WPA2

Will I be able to get wifi working in Gentoo without doing install again? If there is any more info I can give to help debug please just let me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 9:43 pm    Post subject: Re: wireless setup on new installation - wpa_supplicant Reply with quote

rulip13 wrote:
Will I be able to get wifi working in Gentoo without doing install again? If there is any more info I can give to help debug please just let me know.

rulip13 ... yes ... please post the output of the following:

Code:
# ifconfig -a
# rc-status --all |tr -s ' '

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rulip13
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Aug 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for reply khayyam. Here is the output from each command...

ifconfig -a
*************

enp0s25: flags=4098<BROADCAST, MULTICAST> mtu 1500
ether 00:90:f5:e9:ca:1e txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0,0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0,0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
device interrupt 20 memory 0xf7e00000-f7e20000

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 65536
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
loop txqueuelen 0 (Local, Loopback)
RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0,0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0,0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

**********************


rc-status --all | tr -s ' '
*********************

Runlevel: shutdown
savecache [stopped]
killprocs [stopped]
mount-ro [stopped]
Runlevel: boot
hwclock [started]
modules [started]
fsck [started]
root [started]
mtab [started]
swap [started]
localmount [started]
swapfiles [started]
sysctl [started]
bootmisc [started]
termencoding [started]
loopback [started]
keymaps [started]
hostname [started]
procfs [started]
urandom [started]
tmpfiles.setup [started]
Runlevel: default
syslog-ng [started]
cronie [started]
net.eth0 [stopped]
netmount [stopped]
local [started]
Runlevel: sysinit
sysfs [started]
udev-mount [started]
kmod-static-nodes [started]
devfs [started]
dmesg [started]
tempfiles.dev [started]
udev [started]
Dynamic Runlevel: hotplugged
Dynamic Runlevel: needed
Dynamic Runlevel: manual

*********************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rulip13 ... you're welcome.

Firstly, there is no 'wlan0' device, nor any device for wireless (which in your case would be named 'wlp3s0' or similar due to udev renaming) this suggests the required driver is not enabled in the kernel or you're missing firmware.

Secondly, there is no 'net.wlp{XXX}' configured or 'started' in the default runlevel.

So, check 'lspci -v' for the card and make sure this driver is enabled in the kernel, also check dmesg for clues as to the driver loading and any error (re, firmware).

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rulip13
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Aug 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get a "command not found" when I run "lspci -v". I'll keep poking around anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rulip13 wrote:
I get a "command not found" when I run "lspci -v". I'll keep poking around anyway.

rulip13 ... 'lspci' is from sys-apps/pciutils, this is not part of a stage3 so you will need to emerge it. There are other ways of discovering what wireless card you have, a quick search for the brand/model should provide the hardware specifications.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum