Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
using nokia symbian S60 as usb modem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lordalbert
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 832
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 12:16 am    Post subject: using nokia symbian S60 as usb modem Reply with quote

Hi there,
i'd like to use my Nokia with symbian S60 as usb modem.

I'm using kde, so i tryed to install kde-misc/networkmanagement, now i have the icon of networkmanagement in the systray, but if i click on it, i see "network manager is not running. You need run it" message. I have not daemon in /etc/init.d to launch, related to network manager. Neither a network manager command (sw) in the console.

I have net-misc/networkmanager installed.

By the way, if there is another way to use my nokia as modem, pheraps cli way, no problem. Now i'm managing connection without a "network manager", only launch net.enp3s0 daemon at boot and using ifplugd to manager plug/unplug the eth cable.

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7051
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I was using my S60V5 phone to tether, I found that recent versions of Linux/Networkmanager was generally able to autoconfig the device. I was using I believe the USB cdc-acm driver which it should auto-load and show up on networkmanager.

I believe you also need modemmanager installed (emerge networkmanager with that use flag).

The trick now is to use bluetooth to do the same...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lordalbert
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 832
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

but when i open networkmanagement (the kde widget to manager network) it gives me the message: "network manager is not running. You need run it"

But i don't know how to run it :oops: (there's no daemon, nor script/command)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42587
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lordalbert,

It used to have a /etc/init.d/NetworkManager script so you could add it to a runlevel in the normal way.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lordalbert
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 832
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, i looked for lower-letter "networkmanager" not "NetworkManager" :) Thank you

Now i have Networkmanagement (kde widget) working and i can manage connection, but only cabled, VPN and DNS connection. I have "mobile" tab disabled, so it doesn't recognize my cellphone as modem. (i tried with xubuntu, and network manager of xfce can see and connect to internet with cellphone as modem. Pheraps it depends to kernel module in xubuntu kernel.

I have builded kernel driver followind this howto http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Android_USB_Tethering


UPDATE:
I looked the modules loaded in xubuntu.

I copied the output of lsmod before plug my phone, then i copied the output of lsmod after plugged my phone, in "nokia suite mode" (the mode needed to use it as mode).
So, i diffed the two output and i so that pluggin the phone, xubuntu loaded this modules:

Quote:

rndis_wlan
rndis_host
cdc_ether
usbnet
cdc_phonet
phonet
cdc_acm


Then, i recompile kernel in gentoo with that driver built-in. But kde's network manager don't let me create a mobile-modem connection.

Now i just see the ouput of ifconfig -a, and it see my phone as usb-modem. So, i think i'm on the right way!

but i can't connect anyway. When i tryed to dhcpd it (as explained here: http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Android_USB_Tethering) i have:

Quote:

# dhcpcd usbpn0
dhcpcd[4230]: version 6.4.3 starting
dhcpcd[4230]: DUID 00:01:00:01:1b:1a:2c:f4:e8:11:32:df:7a:47
dhcpcd[4230]: usbpn0: IAID 00:34:03:1b
dhcpcd[4230]: usbpn0: waiting for 3rd party to configure IP address
dhcpcd[4230]: usbpn0: soliciting an IPv6 router
dhcpcd[4230]: usbpn0: ipv6nd_sendrsprobe: sendmsg: Invalid argument
dhcpcd[4230]: timed out
dhcpcd[4230]: allowing 8 seconds for IPv4LL timeout
dhcpcd[4230]: timed out
dhcpcd[4230]: exited


Quote:

# ifconfig
enp3s0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet6 fe80::ea11:32ff:fedf:7a47 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
inet6 fe80::44f1:24b:7f2f:3a54 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
ether e8:11:32:df:7a:47 txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 1565 bytes 822361 (803.0 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 1707 bytes 284110 (277.4 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 65536
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x10<host>
loop txqueuelen 0 (Local Loopback)
RX packets 186 bytes 13756 (13.4 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 186 bytes 13756 (13.4 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

usbpn0: flags=209<UP,POINTOPOINT,RUNNING,NOARP> mtu 65541
inet6 fe80::ae4c:6026:8283:d71d prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
unspec 1B-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 txqueuelen 3 (UNSPEC)
RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0




Any idea? Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lordalbert
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 832
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
When I was using my S60V5 phone to tether, I found that recent versions of Linux/Networkmanager was generally able to autoconfig the device. I was using I believe the USB cdc-acm driver which it should auto-load and show up on networkmanager.

I believe you also need modemmanager installed (emerge networkmanager with that use flag).

The trick now is to use bluetooth to do the same...


a strange thing: i enabled cdc_acm at "Device Drivers -> USB support (USB_SUPPORT [=y]) -> Support for Host-side USB (USB [=m]) -> USB Modem (CDC ACM) support"

but i don't think it enabled in .config

Quote:

# grep CDC /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_USB_NET_CDCETHER=y
CONFIG_USB_NET_CDC_EEM=y
CONFIG_USB_NET_CDC_NCM=y
# CONFIG_USB_NET_HUAWEI_CDC_NCM is not set
# CONFIG_USB_NET_CDC_MBIM is not set
CONFIG_USB_NET_CDC_SUBSET=y
CONFIG_USB_CDC_PHONET=y

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7051
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
config USB_ACM
        tristate "USB Modem (CDC ACM) support"
        depends on TTY
        ---help---
          This driver supports USB modems and ISDN adapters which support the
          Communication Device Class Abstract Control Model interface.
          Please read <file:Documentation/usb/acm.txt> for details.

          If your modem only reports "Cls=ff(vend.)" in the descriptors in
          /proc/bus/usb/devices, then your modem will not work with this
          driver.

          To compile this driver as a module, choose M here: the
          module will be called cdc-acm.

You have to watch out to make sure you're actually seeing the USB CDC ACM device versus the CDC Ethernet device which many phones also support for other uses. A device /dev/ttyACMX will show up when it's plugged in.
You will need pppd, but then again I think newer versions of NM/Modemmanager have ppp built in...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lordalbert
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 832
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When i plug my phone, i have /dev/ttyACM0 available.

Now i installed nm-applet (a gui for networkmanager for gnome) and it let me configure my mobile broadband connection. Then i try to connect, it conntecs to the net (i see it in the popup notification) but immediatly after, less than 1 second, it appears another popup notify me it has disconnected.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aiken
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Jan 2003
Posts: 210
Location: Toowoomba/Australia

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lordalbert wrote:
When i plug my phone, i have /dev/ttyACM0 available.


That rings a bell. I was using a nokia 5800 as a usb modem for awhile. With that I used wvdial.

Code:

[Dialer Defaults]
Init1 = ATZ
Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
Init3 = AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","VirginInternet",,0,0
Modem Type = USB Modem
Phone = *99#
Stupid Mode = yes
ISDN = 0
Username = ''
Password = ''
Modem = /dev/ttyACM0
Baud = 460800


That is my old wvdial.conf. I ran wvdial with that config which would do it's magic and start pppd once it was connected. Where I have VirginInternet change that to the relevant APN for your 3g provider. I was content with manually running wvdial that few times I wanted it.
_________________
Beware the grue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lordalbert
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 832
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

# wvdial
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.61
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
OK
--> Sending: AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","web.noverca.it",,0,0
AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","web.noverca.it",,0,0
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATDT*99#
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATDT*99#
CONNECT
~[7f]}#@!}!} } }2}#}$@#}!}$}%\}"}&} }*} } g}%~
--> Carrier detected. Starting PPP immediately.
--> Starting pppd at Mon Aug 4 12:53:40 2014
--> Pid of pppd: 12255
--> pppd: l[7f]
--> Disconnecting at Mon Aug 4 12:53:41 2014
--> The PPP daemon has died: No ppp module error (exit code = 4)
--> man pppd explains pppd error codes in more detail.
--> I guess that's it for now, exiting
--> The PPP daemon has died. (exit code = 4)



seems same problem of nm-applet. It connects but disconnects immediatly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aiken
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Jan 2003
Posts: 210
Location: Toowoomba/Australia

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to the man page for pppd exit code 4 means the kernel does not have ppp support. Yet another kernel compile could be in your future.

Device drivers -> Network device support -> scroll down a bit for the ppp options.
_________________
Beware the grue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lordalbert
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 832
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, thanks! :)

Now, with nm-applet works... with wvdial seems to works. It gives no error messages, but the network doesn't work... And with knetworkmanagement, i can't connect.

No problem, now i use nm-applet... Now i'm leaving for holliday, so i have no more time to spend with this problem. For now it is ok! :)

Thank you very much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum