Installing on the Parallella
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
JelteF
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 9:34 pm    Post subject: Installing on the Parallella Reply with quote

I'll be receiving my Parallella in a couple of days. Since I've been using Gentoo on all my machines for the last two years I was wondering if anyone has already tried to run it on the Parallella.

If not, I'll be posting any relevant updates here and on the Parallella forums.

Also, any tips that you may have would be helpfull.
freke
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks interesting :D

Looking forward to updates - might consider replacing my Raspberry Pi ;)

Lots of unmasking to do on the arm-platform though :(
JelteF
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I received it today, but I found out I lost all my microSD cards. So I'll have to wait till a new one arrives as well.

From first looks it looks nice though, nicely the size of a credit card.
szatox
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please post about your experience with parallella, I like the idea and i'm really curious if it's half as good as they say :)
JelteF
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I currently have Gentoo fully running on the parallella and everything runs ok.

The basic steps that I took to get it running:

• Use the normal kernel images (eventually I changed some settings and recompiled it)
  • Download de armv7a-hardfloat stage3 tarball from one of the servers.
  • Copy that to the partition on my sdcard where ubuntu was on
  • Set up fstab
  • Setting up a crosscompiler on my main pc (used for distcc and recompiling the kernel with extra features)