Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] NoInternetConnection after installlation and reboot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 10:00 pm    Post subject: [Solved] NoInternetConnection after installlation and reboot Reply with quote

So I'm done installing Gentoo and I rebooted. I used Genkernel. But my Ethernet would not work. I have an Intel ethernet and Realtek Ethernet port. I went over the handbook again and realized I forgot to isntall the DHCP Client. So I did that by chrooting. After that, I rebooted but it still didn't work.
I googled and found this thread: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-894140-start-0.html

So I tried
[/code] Genkernel --menuconfig all

I made all Intel ethernet drivers and Realtek ethernet drivers Modules (Under Device Drivers->Network Drivers->Ethernet)
I exited and it began compiling.
I rebooted and I # ifconfig but it only showed the "lo:".

I tried setting them as built-in and it still doesnt work.

Before I had a Ensp2o8 and a Ensp2o10 or something like that.

Help please :oops:


Last edited by ShanaXXII on Sun Jul 06, 2014 1:49 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2546

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use lspci and/or the instructions on this page to identify the correct driver. There are at least 3 drivers for Intel Ethernet cards alone.

Second possibility is that firmware is required. Emerging linux-firmware package should solve that problem. If you are still stuck, I recommend you chroot, emerge wgetpaste, and post the urls returned by lspci | wgetpaste. Simply the manufacture of the hardware is a bit too vague to give specific advice.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 3688
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

changing from built-in to module probably changed the order they (the modules) were installed and they probably have new names.

what does "ifconfig -a" show
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau & radeon, oss4
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
4.14.62 kernel, profile 17.0 (no-pie) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 7.3.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Doctor wrote:
Use lspci and/or the instructions on this page to identify the correct driver. There are at least 3 drivers for Intel Ethernet cards alone.

Second possibility is that firmware is required. Emerging linux-firmware package should solve that problem. If you are still stuck, I recommend you chroot, emerge wgetpaste, and post the urls returned by lspci | wgetpaste. Simply the manufacture of the hardware is a bit too vague to give specific advice.


for the lspci and website i got:

PCI ID Works? Vendor Device Driver
80861a30 Yes Intel Corporation 82845 845 [Brookdale] Chipset Host Bridge intel-agp
80861a31 Yes Intel Corporation 82845 845 [Brookdale] Chipset AGP Bridge intel-agp
8086244e Yes Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge i810_rng
80862440 Yes Intel Corporation 82801BA ISA Bridge (LPC) intel-rng,iTCO_wdt
8086244b Yes Intel Corporation 82801BA IDE U100 Controller ata_piix
80862442 Yes Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM USB Controller #1 usb-uhci,uhci-hcd
80862443 Yes Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM SMBus Controller i2c-i801
80862444 Yes Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM USB Controller #1 usb-uhci,uhci-hcd
80862445 Yes Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM AC'97 Audio Controller snd-intel8x0
10390300 Yes Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 300/305 PCI/AGP VGA Display Adapter sisfb
80862449 Yes Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM/CA/CAM Ethernet Controller e100
10024756 Yes Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI 3D Rage IIC 215IIC [Mach64 GT IIC] atyfb
10ec8139 Yes Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ 8139cp,8139too


I chrooted and emerged linux-firmware and wgetpaste.
http://bpaste.net/show/438987/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
changing from built-in to module probably changed the order they (the modules) were installed and they probably have new names.

what does "ifconfig -a" show



i #ifconfig -a and it gave me this (dont mind the underscore):
#ifconfig -a
enp2s8: flags=4089<BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
______ ether 00:04:23:25:df:2f txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
______ RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0,0 B)
______ RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
______ TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0,0 B)
______ TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

enp2s10: flags=4089<BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
______ ether 00:40:f7:77:68:5b txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
______ RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0,0 B)
______ RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
______ TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0,0 B)
______ TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 65536
______ inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
______ loop txqueuelen 0 (Local Loopback)
______ RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0,0 B)
______ RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
______ TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0,0 B)
______ TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0


But when I # ifconfig, it only give me the lo: one
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2546

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent.
Quote:
80862449 Yes Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM/CA/CAM Ethernet Controller e100
Means that you need is to enable the e100 driver as either a module or built in. I'm surprised genkernel doesn't include it automatically. I don't think your going to need the firmware, but it won't hurt anything, but it shouldn't be necessary.

EDIT: Although, judging from the output of ifconfig -a it may already be there dhcpcd enp2s8 or dhcpcd enp2s10 should bring the interface up. Then you just need to configure whatever network management you plan on using in the long term, either config files or a GUI.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Doctor wrote:
Excellent.
Quote:
80862449 Yes Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM/CA/CAM Ethernet Controller e100
Means that you need is to enable the e100 driver as either a module or built in. I'm surprised genkernel doesn't include it automatically. I don't think your going to need the firmware, but it won't hurt anything, but it shouldn't be necessary.

EDIT: Although, judging from the output of ifconfig -a it may already be there dhcpcd enp2s8 or dhcpcd enp2s10 should bring the interface up. Then you just need to configure whatever network management you plan on using in the long term, either config files or a GUI.


The Driver is already enabled as built-in so I dont understand why it doesnt work. let me try dhcpcd..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 1:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay. It is working now :D thank you. I # dhcpcd enp2s8 and it was loaded
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2546

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was simply as Anon-E-moose suspected. Without any instructions to start networking your system simply didn't.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 3688
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ShanaXXII wrote:
Anon-E-moose wrote:
changing from built-in to module probably changed the order they (the modules) were installed and they probably have new names.

what does "ifconfig -a" show



i #ifconfig -a and it gave me this (dont mind the underscore):
#ifconfig -a
enp2s8: flags=4089<BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
...
enp2s10: flags=4089<BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
...
lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 65536
...

But when I # ifconfig, it only give me the lo: one


That's because ifconfig with no flag only shows interfaces that are up.
"-a" shows all interfaces up or down.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau & radeon, oss4
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
4.14.62 kernel, profile 17.0 (no-pie) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 7.3.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum