Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDM breaks my system..
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GummyGum173
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 8:28 am    Post subject: KDM breaks my system.. Reply with quote

Hi,

I've installed x11, KDM, KDM-meta and nvidia drivers...
I've set the xdm config to load KDM, and startx to startkde.
When I boot the system, after the kernel loads and the system comes to a point where it should load KDM, I get a black screen with a _ sign at top right corner.
And the system just hangs.

I've booted to the LiveCD environment and chrooted in the system and disabled XDM to load at startup.

Then, I rebooted and tried to just load KDE (startx), and it loaded just fine, then I tried to load XDM and got the black screen again.

I tried to change XDM to load XDM and not KDM, and it loaded just fine, suggesting me that the black screen is caused by KDM, and nothing more.

What can I do in that case?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Apheus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 418

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No need to manipulate startx, just change

Code:
DISPLAYMANAGER="kdm"


in /etc/conf.d/xdm

Undo the change you did to startx, or it can interfere with troubleshooting.

Black screen with cursor normally means graphic mode cannot be set, but this is not the case here because xdm and KDE work. Do desktop effects work in KDE, started by "startkde" as user?

Look for X server errors:

Code:
grep EE /var/log/Xorg.0.log


Also, see here for a KDE guide http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE

Edit: Also, post your xorg.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GummyGum173
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apheus wrote:
No need to manipulate startx, just change

Code:
DISPLAYMANAGER="kdm"


in /etc/conf.d/xdm

Undo the change you did to startx, or it can interfere with troubleshooting.

Black screen with cursor normally means graphic mode cannot be set, but this is not the case here because xdm and KDE work. Do desktop effects work in KDE, started by "startkde" as user?

Look for X server errors:

Code:
grep EE /var/log/Xorg.0.log


Also, see here for a KDE guide http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE

Edit: Also, post your xorg.conf



Haha, seems like reverting startx to normal fixed the issue :P
Thank you very much!

Only one problem left, I've noticed that during boot, when it sets all the things up, I get 2 large walls of texts, one's about loading the modules I think, but the 2nd one looks like some sort of an error with nvidia drivers, the large wall of text lasts about 30 secs and then boots to KDM, should I open a new thread somewhere else? Also, how do I get to see the output I get during the said time?
Thank you in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Apheus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 418

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Also, how do I get to see the output I get during the said time?


The file /var/log/rc.log should contain the boot messages. You can also try to switch back to first terminal with Ctrl+Alt+F1 to see the last boot messages, but this requires a nonstandard config of /etc/inittab (--noclear).

Switch back to KDE with Ctrl+Alt+F7 afterwards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GummyGum173
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apheus wrote:
Quote:
Also, how do I get to see the output I get during the said time?


The file /var/log/rc.log should contain the boot messages. You can also try to switch back to first terminal with Ctrl+Alt+F1 to see the last boot messages, but this requires a nonstandard config of /etc/inittab (--noclear).

Switch back to KDE with Ctrl+Alt+F7 afterwards.


/var/log/rc.log doesn't seem to have the error, it just gives me general messages like "bringing interface eth0" and such, any way to make it show the whole log?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Apheus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 418

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rc.log seems to be the wrong file for this error. Open /etc/inittab. In the second half of the file, there are lines which look like

Code:

# TERMINALS
c1:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty1 linux
c2:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty2 linux
c3:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty3 linux
c4:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty4 linux
c5:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty5 linux
c6:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty6 linux


Add "--noclear" to the first line, so that it looks like

Code:
c1:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty1 linux --noclear


This prevents the init system from clearing the boot messages from the first terminal. Reboot. Then you can switch back from your desktop (on tty7) to tty1 with Ctrl+Alt+F1, and see your boot screen (at least what is no scrolled off yet).

If there is a problem with the nvidia module, dmesg could also contain a clue:

Code:
dmseg|grep -i nvidia


You can also search for some phrase from the error message in all logfiles, like

Code:
grep -iR nvidia /var/log


Last but not least, you can test which driver actually does the magic in your desktop: Install mesa-progs

Code:
emerge -av x11-apps/mesa-progs


And execute in a console window

Code:
glxinfo|head


post the output here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum