Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gnome shell memleaks?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jelf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2014 11:03 pm    Post subject: Gnome shell memleaks? Reply with quote

Hello.
I'm using "GNOME Shell 3.10.4" with "x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-337.25". I neither use any extensions (according to "eselect gnome-shell-extensions") nor manualy installed them, so it seems to memory leak in gnome shell, becose it uses less then 1G memory on startup, but more then 2.6G after a day of work (when all windows are closed). It also use much processor time at this moments. I do not sure this is a memory leak, but have no other ideas how to explain this.
This problem is most often seen after playing video games via wine or watching video via vlc. I don't know, what information i should attach, if there isn't a common problem. However i will attach make.conf, just in case this problem is about use flags
PS should i select only nvidia in my VIDEO_CARDS, or it is better to save nouveau there too?
PPS i am using amd64

Make.conf: http://pastebin.com/n64sKb7c

Solved: using systemd fixed all possibly leaks (didn't tested with system monitor extension)
_________________
Sorry for my english, i'm trying


Last edited by jelf on Fri Aug 08, 2014 6:56 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
russK
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2006
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you might be on to something, it looks like I may have the same issue, I just never noticed because I have much more memory than I need.

I noticed just now that you can use 'gnome-shell -r' (replace) which will start a new process and kick the old one out. It's mildly disruptive but the memory footprint goes back down to what it was when first started.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mackal
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2011
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can also hit Alt+F2 and type r to restart gnome-shell. I have also noticed it uses a lot of memory but I also have too much RAM :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jelf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

russK wrote:
I think you might be on to something, it looks like I may have the same issue, I just never noticed because I have much more memory than I need.

I noticed just now that you can use 'gnome-shell -r' (replace) which will start a new process and kick the old one out. It's mildly disruptive but the memory footprint goes back down to what it was when first started.

It works, and works better, then xdm restart :). Thank you a lot
_________________
Sorry for my english, i'm trying
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greyspoke
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jan 2010
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This was discussed on this thread here.

There is a Gnome bug about it (in addition to the link I posted back there) here. Though it is not clear that Gnome recognise them as bugs from the comments by the devs on that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jelf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

greyspoke wrote:
This was discussed on this thread here.

There is a Gnome bug about it (in addition to the link I posted back there) here. Though it is not clear that Gnome recognise them as bugs from the comments by the devs on that.


Ouch, it seems not to be solvable by masking/unmasking :( Interesting that i never noticed this on previous system :(
_________________
Sorry for my english, i'm trying
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thistled
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 548
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, it's been doing this for about a year on my box.

If you enable the system monitor extension you will lose RAM in no time at all.
Without the system monitor enabled, you will lose RAM over a longer period of time.

When you only have 4Gb of RAM, you notice this in no time at all.

As suggested above Alt+F2 followed by r will restore the RAM.

I did notice when the memory mappings (or whatever it's called) are checked, there is a dump file which is swallowing the RAM.

This has been around for a while, and I don't know why it has not been addressed.
Perhaps it's unique to Gentoo, and that is why it is taking so long.

If I could code I would help out. But alas.
_________________
Whatever you do, do it properly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jelf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thistled wrote:
Yep, it's been doing this for about a year on my box.

If you enable the system monitor extension you will lose RAM in no time at all.
Without the system monitor enabled, you will lose RAM over a longer period of time.

When you only have 4Gb of RAM, you notice this in no time at all.

As suggested above Alt+F2 followed by r will restore the RAM.

I did notice when the memory mappings (or whatever it's called) are checked, there is a dump file which is swallowing the RAM.

This has been around for a while, and I don't know why it has not been addressed.
Perhaps it's unique to Gentoo, and that is why it is taking so long.

If I could code I would help out. But alas.


Can you tell me more about that file? Where was it located? I hope to find solution in gnome configuration files / just in sources using "find"
_________________
Sorry for my english, i'm trying
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thistled
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 548
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure Jelf.

Open Gnome-system-monitor
Right click on "gnome-shell"
Select "Memory Maps"

It will display all the processes using memory for Gnome Shell.

In my case, the file in question had "dump" in the title and was consuming memory every fews seconds.

Hope this helps.
_________________
Whatever you do, do it properly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jelf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thistled, i do not have "dump" file there. Sure about that.
Anyway, thank you for this method, i'd never used it before, but it may be usefull
_________________
Sorry for my english, i'm trying
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thistled
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 548
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay Jelf.

If you were to enable the system monitor extension then I guess you would see the dump file.

If you carefully scan the "memory map" for gnome-shell, you should be able to see which process
is gradually consuming the memory.

Hope this helps.
_________________
Whatever you do, do it properly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jelf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2014 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, i have the solution: never use desktop/gnome profile, only desktop/gnome/systemd. Damn
_________________
Sorry for my english, i'm trying
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum