Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
xrandr not covering entire monitor
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
admorgan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Location: United States

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 5:29 am    Post subject: xrandr not covering entire monitor Reply with quote

When I use a graphical interface to configure the screen resolution everything works great. But when using xrandr from the command line I get results I did not expect.
Running xrandr --output DVI-0 --mode 800x600 causes the screen to display 800x600, but it is in the top left corner and the rest of the screen is black like the screen size instead of the mode of the device is chagned. Here is a picture of what this looks like https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bx_aonTqXf39cXVueGN0a3VpMFU/edit?usp=sharing Passing --fb or --fbmm does not seem to make a difference.
This is a picture of the screen at normal resolution and everything working fine. https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bx_aonTqXf39NzgtRk5xU2ttRnc/edit?usp=sharing
This is a picture of what I want it to look like. I can get this by using graphical RandR configuration tools. https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bx_aonTqXf39RWg5RkJ1ZVZMbnM/edit?usp=sharing

I need to be able to configure the screen resolution via cli because my wife is legally blind and a number of applications have to be run at this low resolution so she can adequately use them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

admorgan ...

try adding '--pos 0x0'.

HTH & best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There may be an xrandr property for scaling.
Code:
$ xrandr --prop
If so, you may be able to set the scaling mode to "full" or "full-aspect".
Code:
$ xrandr --output DVI-0 --set "scaling mode" "full"
Adjust this command to match your actual output and reported xrandr properties.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
admorgan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Location: United States

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:
admorgan ...

try adding '--pos 0x0'.

HTH & best ... khay


That did not work. I get the same result.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
admorgan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Location: United States

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chithanh wrote:
There may be an xrandr property for scaling.
Code:
$ xrandr --prop
If so, you may be able to set the scaling mode to "full" or "full-aspect".
Code:
$ xrandr --output DVI-0 --set "scaling mode" "full"
Adjust this command to match your actual output and reported xrandr properties.


xrandr --props does not report an scaling optinos.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum