Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
are these all NICs?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
manoeuvrable
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:15 am    Post subject: are these all NICs? Reply with quote

Hello everyone.I'm a novice here.
I am an Arch user for almost 1 year.It's the first time for me to install gentoo on my Acer Aspire 4736G laptop.
Following the guide book, I have got a basic gentoo without X.
TO be specific,my laptop only own 2 NICs,one is wireless Intel 5100 AGN,another is a 100Mbps wire NIC.

What confuses me a lot is that, when i run the command 'ifconfig' in the shell, I get these things:

Code:
hwsim0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        unspec 12-00-00-00-00-00-B0-84-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00  txqueuelen 0  (UNSPEC)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

sit0: flags=193<UP,RUNNING,NOARP>  mtu 1480
        inet6 ::127.0.0.1  prefixlen 96  scopeid 0x90<compat,host>
        sit  txqueuelen 0  (IPv6-in-IPv4)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlan0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 02:00:00:00:00:00  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlan1: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 02:00:00:00:01:00  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0


Are hwsim0,sit0,wlan0,wlan1 all Network Interface Cards????? Any help will be appreciated!!!! Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

manoeuvrable ...

You have CONFIG_MAC80211_HWSIM enabled in your kernel, this is a software simulator of 802.11 radios, hence the hwsim0 (and probably wlan1). The 'sit0' interface is a "simple internet transition" interface and is a device used for encapsulating ipv6 in ipv4, you can disable it in modprobe.d or by disabling CONFIG_IPV6_SIT in the kernel.

/etc/modprobe.d/aliases
Code:
#alias net-pf-10 ipv6
alias net-pf-10 off

or blacklist the module ...

/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist
Code:
blacklist sit

The 'lo' is the 'loopback' and is required for normal functioning. I don't see your wired ethernet device, perhaps the driver/module isn't loaded, or available.

HTH & best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1753

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually with that weird MAC wlan0 doesn't seem to be a device either.

also, run 'ifconfig -a' to list all interfaces rather than only those active
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

szatox wrote:
Actually with that weird MAC wlan0 doesn't seem to be a device either.

szatox ... yeah, I didn't notice that. Its probably the outcome of having CONFIG_MAC80211_HWSIM enabled, I've not used this feature but as its simulating radio it probably subsumes the physical wireless device.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum