Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] intel and nvidia cards working together?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Zebbeman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2014 11:16 pm    Post subject: [solved] intel and nvidia cards working together? Reply with quote

I want to have 3 monitors (2 monitors and 1 TV) using the integrated intel card and a pci-x nvidia G210 graphics card. I thought I did this long time ago, but I cannot make it work.

I have 2 DVI on the integrated intel card and a TV connected to the HDMI of the nvidia card. The nvidia card is recognized, using the nouveau driver, but the TV is somehow not discovered. I tried using the DVI and the VGA connector of the nvidia card, with a monitor, to see if it was a HDMI thing, but noting. I can, however, use the nvidia only or the intel only with 2 monitors, including the TV as one of them.

lspci says:
Code:

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GT218 [GeForce 210] (rev a2)


I also tried using the proprietary nvidia-drivers but that did not make me happy. I also tried changing which card to be default in the bios but it did not affect X.

Does anyone know if it is possible to do what I am trying to do?

I want them to be in the same screen, meaning, moving windows between monitors.


Last edited by Zebbeman on Thu May 29, 2014 10:42 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When using the nouveau driver, look at the output of:
Code:
$ xrandr --listproviders
It should show you both the intel and the nouveau graphics. You can then add the nouveau graphics as provider for intel, after which the monitor should appear in xrandr output.

Do note that you need a compositing window manager for this to work properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zebbeman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much, the third monitor came alive!

There is an annoying shadow/square behind the cursor. Any ideas about that?

Can I somehow move this configuration to Xorg?

If anyone else is playing with this - I did the:
Code:
$ xrandr --listproviders

and found:
Code:

$ xrandr --listproviders
Providers: number : 2
Provider 0: id: 0x9e cap: 0x7, Source Output, Sink Output, Source Offload crtcs: 2 outputs: 3 associated providers: 1 name:nouveau
Provider 1: id: 0x47 cap: 0xb, Source Output, Sink Output, Sink Offload crtcs: 3 outputs: 5 associated providers: 1 name:Intel

and then:
Code:
$ xrandr --setprovideroutputsource 1 0


After that, the TV was visible to xrandr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zebbeman wrote:
There is an annoying shadow/square behind the cursor. Any ideas about that?
This could be a bug in xorg-server or one of the x11-drivers packages. Try updating them to the latest unstable version, if you are not already running that. Besides that, you could try disabling HWCursor (I think only nouveau supports this).

Zebbeman wrote:
Can I somehow move this configuration to Xorg?
I think not, you need to run the xrandr commands at every X server start.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zebbeman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks again!

I cannot add device options to xorg.conf.d/. If I do, the second card is no longer recognized by xrandr.

The shadow/square of the cursor only appears when I use both cards.

Is there any other way I can set HWCursor to false?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zebbeman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found a solution for all my problems :-)

At http://nouveau.freedesktop.org/wiki/MultiMonitorDesktop/ there is an Xorg example that works!

Thank you, chithanh, for you help!

Code:

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier  "Layout0"
    Option      "Xinerama" "on"
    Option      "Clone"    "off"
    Screen   0  "Screen0"
    Screen   1  "Screen1"  Above "Screen0"
    Screen   2  "Screen2"  RightOf  "Screen0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Device0"
    Driver      "nouveau"
    BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    Option      "ZaphodHeads" "DVI-I-1"
    Screen      0
EndSection
Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Device1"
    Driver      "nouveau"
    BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    Option      "ZaphodHeads" "HDMI-3"
    Screen      1
EndSection
Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Device2"
    Driver      "intel"
    BusID       "PCI:0:2:0"
    Option      "ZaphodHeads" "HDMI1"
    Screen      0
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen0"
    Device      "Device0"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen1"
    Device      "Device1"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen2"
    Device      "Device2"
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum