Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
NetworkManager appears to work but doesn't - edited
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
robinmarlow
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 10:54 am    Post subject: NetworkManager appears to work but doesn't - edited Reply with quote

Hello,

Not sure if anyone can help troubleshooting this - but I'm stuck.
NetworkManager used to work well but somewhere over a recent update it got broken & I can't seem to get it working again (despite various attempts at roll backs).

It appears to connect to a wired network & even reports that the interface has an IP address, but ifconfig doesn't show that it has.

Any ideas what could be causing this?

The logs look like it's working until it gets marked inactive.

Code:
May 15 11:48:42 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> NetworkManager state is now CONNECTING
May 15 11:48:42 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> Activation (eth0) Stage 1 of 5 (Device Prepare) scheduled...
May 15 11:48:42 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> Activation (eth0) Stage 1 of 5 (Device Prepare) started... 
May 15 11:48:42 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> Activation (eth0) Stage 2 of 5 (Device Configure) scheduled...
May 15 11:48:42 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> Activation (eth0) Stage 1 of 5 (Device Prepare) complete.
May 15 11:48:42 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> Activation (eth0) Stage 2 of 5 (Device Configure) starting...
May 15 11:48:42 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> (eth0): device state change: prepare -> config (reason 'none') [40 50 0]
May 15 11:48:42 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> Activation (eth0) Stage 2 of 5 (Device Configure) successful.
May 15 11:48:42 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> Activation (eth0) Stage 3 of 5 (IP Configure Start) scheduled.
May 15 11:48:42 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> Activation (eth0) Stage 2 of 5 (Device Configure) complete.   
May 15 11:48:42 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> Activation (eth0) Stage 3 of 5 (IP Configure Start) started...
May 15 11:48:42 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> (eth0): device state change: config -> ip-config (reason 'none') [50 70 0]
May 15 11:48:42 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> Activation (eth0) Stage 5 of 5 (IPv4 Configure Commit) scheduled...
May 15 11:48:42 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> Activation (eth0) Stage 3 of 5 (IP Configure Start) complete.
May 15 11:48:42 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> Activation (eth0) Stage 5 of 5 (IPv4 Commit) started...
May 15 11:48:42 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <error> [1400150922.433052] [nm-system.c:287] sync_addresses(): (eth0): error -7 returne
Invalid input data or parameter
May 15 11:48:43 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> (eth0): device state change: ip-config -> secondaries (reason 'none') [70 90 0]
May 15 11:48:43 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> Activation (eth0) Stage 5 of 5 (IPv4 Commit) complete.
May 15 11:48:43 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> (eth0): device state change: secondaries -> activated (reason 'none') [90 100 0]
May 15 11:48:43 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> NetworkManager state is now CONNECTED_GLOBAL
May 15 11:48:43 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> Policy set 'UOB_wired' (eth0) as default for IPv4 routing and DNS.
May 15 11:48:43 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> Writing DNS information to /sbin/resolvconf
May 15 11:48:43 thinkpad NetworkManager[8371]: <info> Activation (eth0) successful, device activated.
May 15 11:48:43 thinkpad /etc/init.d/NetworkManager[8636]: status: inactive
May 15 11:48:43 thinkpad /etc/init.d/NetworkManager[8651]: status: inactive


No other services are set to start.

Ideas?

Robin


Last edited by robinmarlow on Fri May 16, 2014 9:20 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1717

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
[nm-system.c:287] sync_addresses(): (eth0): error -7 returned Invalid input data or parameter

NM is marked inactive when it fails to configure network. Like your ethernet wire is unplugged. Or there is no wifi you can connect too. The line from your log might be related to Ip negotiation. Perhaps some problem with DHCP? Maybe you can check dhcp server log and see if it actually assigned you IP?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robinmarlow
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good idea. I wonder what would prevent NM from being able to configure the adaptor?
for this location the IP is static so no negotiation needed.

wicd works perfectly (but doesn't do vpns as well as NM used to) so I don't think it's a hardware problem.

Robin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robinmarlow
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I eventually figured this out.
The other diagnostic clues were that I wasn't able to edit connections - I could click on edit but then it would get stuck with the dialogue half open.
Although it wasn't NM reported the adaptor up with an IP etc. If I manually put up the network with the same values through ifconfig it all worked - so was something to do with communication between NM and actually setting it up.

The answer turned out that my user wasn't a member of netdev. Once I joined this group it all worked.

Despite having something in polkit that I thought was supposed to avoid that.
I really hate all these new complicated xxxkits they just seem to make things needlessly complicated.

R
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robinmarlow
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 9:22 pm    Post subject: not so fast Reply with quote

Rats. Adding my user to netdev does allow me to edit connections..... but the connection problems still remain.
Back to wicd i guess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum