Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Missing packet/byte count in ifconfig
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Barvinok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Sep 2013
Posts: 29
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 6:19 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Missing packet/byte count in ifconfig Reply with quote

Here's the story:

Code:
Orbiter ~ # ifconfig
enp2s0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 10.0.0.10  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 10.0.0.255
        inet6 2a01:d0:8100:0:da50:e6ff:fe49:8aaf  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        inet6 2a01:d0:8100::10  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        inet6 fe80::da50:e6ff:fe49:8aaf  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether d8:50:e6:49:8a:af  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 6  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
        device interrupt 16

enp3s5: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 10.0.1.10  netmask 255.255.255.240  broadcast 10.0.1.15
        inet6 fe80::56e6:fcff:fe81:3441  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 54:e6:fc:81:34:41  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 1134890  bytes 200381615 (191.0 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 371  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 4107736  bytes 5691154644 (5.3 GiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0


Note the stats on enp2s0 are all zero, even though that's primary Internet-connected interface of this box.

Code:
Orbiter ~ # uname -a
Linux Orbiter 3.12.13-gentoo #7 SMP Wed Apr 23 16:13:15 GMT 2014 x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 260 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux


Code:
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Qualcomm Atheros QCA8171 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 10)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 8587
        Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B- DisINTx-
        Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR+ <PERR- INTx-
        Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 64 bytes
        Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 41
        Region 0: Memory at feac0000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256K]
        Region 2: I/O ports at dc00 [size=128]
        Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
                Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1- D2- AuxCurrent=375mA PME(D0+,D1+,D2+,D3hot+,D3cold+)
                Status: D0 NoSoftRst+ PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
        Capabilities: [58] Express (v1) Endpoint, MSI 00
                DevCap: MaxPayload 4096 bytes, PhantFunc 0, Latency L0s unlimited, L1 unlimited
                        ExtTag- AttnBtn+ AttnInd+ PwrInd+ RBE+ FLReset-
                DevCtl: Report errors: Correctable+ Non-Fatal+ Fatal+ Unsupported+
                        RlxdOrd- ExtTag- PhantFunc- AuxPwr- NoSnoop-
                        MaxPayload 128 bytes, MaxReadReq 512 bytes
                DevSta: CorrErr- UncorrErr+ FatalErr- UnsuppReq+ AuxPwr+ TransPend-
                LnkCap: Port #0, Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x1, ASPM L0s L1, Latency L0 unlimited, L1 unlimited
                        ClockPM+ Surprise- LLActRep- BwNot-
                LnkCtl: ASPM Disabled; RCB 64 bytes Disabled- Retrain- CommClk+
                        ExtSynch- ClockPM- AutWidDis- BWInt- AutBWInt-
                LnkSta: Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x1, TrErr- Train- SlotClk+ DLActive- BWMgmt- ABWMgmt-
        Capabilities: [c0] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/16 Maskable+ 64bit+
                Address: 00000000fee0300c  Data: 41b1
                Masking: 0000fffe  Pending: 00000000
        Capabilities: [d8] MSI-X: Enable- Count=16 Masked-
                Vector table: BAR=0 offset=00002000
                PBA: BAR=0 offset=00003000
        Capabilities: [100 v1] Advanced Error Reporting
                UESta:  DLP- SDES- TLP- FCP- CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF- MalfTLP- ECRC- UnsupReq+ ACSViol-
                UEMsk:  DLP- SDES- TLP- FCP- CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF- MalfTLP- ECRC- UnsupReq- ACSViol-
                UESvrt: DLP- SDES+ TLP- FCP- CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF+ MalfTLP+ ECRC- UnsupReq- ACSViol-
                CESta:  RxErr- BadTLP- BadDLLP- Rollover- Timeout- NonFatalErr-
                CEMsk:  RxErr- BadTLP- BadDLLP- Rollover- Timeout- NonFatalErr+
                AERCap: First Error Pointer: 14, GenCap+ CGenEn- ChkCap+ ChkEn-
        Capabilities: [180 v1] Device Serial Number ff-49-8a-af-d8-50-e6-ff
        Kernel driver in use: alx

03:05.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8169 PCI Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 10)
        Subsystem: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8169/8110 Family PCI Gigabit Ethernet NIC
        Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV+ VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B- DisINTx-
        Status: Cap+ 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
        Latency: 64 (8000ns min, 16000ns max), Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
        Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 20
        Region 0: I/O ports at e800 [size=256]
        Region 1: Memory at febffc00 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256]
        Expansion ROM at febc0000 [disabled] [size=128K]
        Capabilities: [dc] Power Management version 2
                Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=375mA PME(D0-,D1+,D2+,D3hot+,D3cold+)
                Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
        Kernel driver in use: r8169


Qualcomm Atheros QCA8171 is the one troubled. Everything works but I'd like to see slurm and ifconfig working wrt network statistics.
I don't even know where to begin digging.
Please, advise.
_________________
Unlike reality, stupidity is inescapable


Last edited by Barvinok on Tue May 13, 2014 6:05 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1560
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sure that your traffic really goes through enp2s0? Do you see incoming and outgoing traffic if you run "tcpdump -i enp2s0"?
Or does all of your traffic flow through enp3s5?

Please post the output of "cat /proc/net/dev".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barvinok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Sep 2013
Posts: 29
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bug_report wrote:
Are you sure that your traffic really goes through enp2s0? Do you see incoming and outgoing traffic if you run "tcpdump -i enp2s0"?
Or does all of your traffic flow through enp3s5?

Yes I am absolutely sure. See that
Code:
Orbiter ~ # route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
0.0.0.0         10.0.0.1        0.0.0.0         UG    2      0        0 enp2s0
10.0.0.0        0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     2      0        0 enp2s0
10.0.1.0        0.0.0.0         255.255.255.240 U     0      0        0 enp3s5
127.0.0.0       127.0.0.1       255.0.0.0       UG    0      0        0 lo

See, enp2s0 is the default interface, it is configured by the DHCP so at least its traffic should have been visible.
enp3s5 is just a crossover Ethernet link to my workstation.

bug_report wrote:
Please post the output of "cat /proc/net/dev".

Code:
Orbiter ~ # cat /proc/net/dev
Inter-|   Receive                                                |  Transmit
 face |bytes    packets errs drop fifo frame compressed multicast|bytes    packets errs drop fifo colls carrier compressed
    lo:  102040    1417    0    0    0     0          0         0   102040    1417    0    0    0     0       0          0
enp2s0:       0       0    0   30    0     0          0         0        0       0    0    0    0     0       0          0
enp3s5: 1184674011 16731247    0  252    0     0          0         0 176559028812 116696858    0    0    0     0       0          0

_________________
Unlike reality, stupidity is inescapable
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1560
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Google reports that others also saw this problem: http://askubuntu.com/questions/422244/network-traffic-reports-as-zero-bytes

Can you upgrade to Linux kernel 3.14? Please post the result.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barvinok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Sep 2013
Posts: 29
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2014 6:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bug_report wrote:
Google reports that others also saw this problem: http://askubuntu.com/questions/422244/network-traffic-reports-as-zero-bytes
Can you upgrade to Linux kernel 3.14? Please post the result.

Ok, 3.14.3 seem to have fixed the problem, thank you.
_________________
Unlike reality, stupidity is inescapable
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum