Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo on changed hardware ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
koencalliauw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 May 2002
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:47 pm    Post subject: Gentoo on changed hardware ? Reply with quote

I've changed my motherboard and processor, should I now reinstall gentoo because all the sudden it seems quite unstable (or is it just buggy hardware).

I've changed my mobo from an MSI K7T Turbo to an ECS K7S5A (both Athlon processors)

Any help would be appreciated

thx in advance
/optical out
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmason
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2002
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2002 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, anytime you install new motherboards, it is always a good idea to clean the os and start again, because that way it is fully integrated with just that board, also, did you make sure to remove all of the modules that dealt with the old motherboard, and install new drivers for the new one correctly, that could also lead to instability. Although interesting thing is that I did a similar thing when I used redhat and windows 2000 in a dual boot, RedHat didn't care, it just dropped the old hardware profile and rebuilt on its own, windows, well, it died a horrible death, and there was the first bsod I have ever seen on a 2000 box.
_________________
uname -srmp
Linux 2.4.19-gentoo-r7 i686 AuthenticAMD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2002 2:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have to call up the Gentoo Licensing Department and get a new Product Activation Code when you make changes like this to your hardware ... oh, wait, wrong board. :D

On a serious note, make sure that your RAM is compatible with your new motherboard.
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rommel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1140
Location: Williamsburg Virginia

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2002 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rac...lol

did you rebuild the kernel and disable support for the via chipset and enable support for sis?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2002 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmason wrote:
well, anytime you install new motherboards, it is always a good idea to clean the os and start again, because that way it is fully integrated with just that board


What? The only part of your Gentoo system that is hardware-specific is the kernel. Just make sure everything looks good for your new hardware and you'll be off and flying.
_________________
I don't believe in witty sigs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syadnom
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 531

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2002 11:02 pm    Post subject: duh.. Reply with quote

dmason : wtf??

just rebuild the kernel to include any new hardware that you have and you should be 100%, linux apps dont care!, the only thing they would care about is if the CPU has changed, given that they might be optimized for a certain feature(sse2) and when you change to an athlonxp that doesn't have sse2. but i doubt that is the case here .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meyerm
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1311
Location: Munich / Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2002 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmason wrote:
Although interesting thing is that I did a similar thing when I used redhat and windows 2000 in a dual boot, RedHat didn't care, it just dropped the old hardware profile and rebuilt on its own, windows, well, it died a horrible death, and there was the first bsod I have ever seen on a 2000 box.


Well, just to add my 2 cents. When I inserted a second processor into my Workstation Linux didn't care. And after building a new SMP Kernel everthing went sooo smooth :)

But my Windows 2000 on another partition just got so evil slow. It is just no longer usable. You really have to wait sometime a few seconds until a click is recognized. Well, if I will ever need Windows the next time, I'll have to reinstall it... :x

Oh, I'm so happy with Linux & Co... :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2002 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

meyerm wrote:
But my Windows 2000 on another partition just got so evil slow. It is just no longer usable. You really have to wait sometime a few seconds until a click is recognized. Well, if I will ever need Windows the next time, I'll have to reinstall it... :x


Windows NT (2k included) uses different HALs for uniprocessor and SMP machines. Windows 2000 generally is pretty tolerant, but you have to do silly things to NT4 to make it work.
_________________
I don't believe in witty sigs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dcloues
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Apr 2002
Posts: 7
Location: Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I built my K7S5A-based system I had a ton of problems - installing gentoo was impossible, as every program I ran would segfault almost immediately.

The culprit? Cheap ram and (I suspect) a very picky ram controller. The 512 mb dimm I was using worked fine at 133 mhz in my Asus A7V, but it refused to work properly with the K7S5A (the memory was very cheap, and from a not-too-reliable source. I don't trust it). I swapped in a different dimm (512 MB, PC133, decent-quality Kingston) and everything worked just fine. The cheap memory lives on in my A7V.

I've also read that the K7S5A has trouble with some power supplies; it doesn't like poor-quality equipment, apparently. I had no trouble with my 300w pc power&cooling psu, despite the fact that I swapped out the fan for a quieter one (which would presumably put a bit more stress on the psu components).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum