Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
got the dreaded Cannot get into home directory. using /
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nightcast2000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 7:55 pm    Post subject: got the dreaded Cannot get into home directory. using / Reply with quote

Hi to all,
I'm a new user to gentoo. I have been a veteran Fedora user. I have installed the latest Gentoo AMD64 using the rescue cd on a usb drive method. I had a few goes trying to install and finally managed to get a relatively working system.
I am hitting a bit of a problem now. I had made a home directory and have installed some packages to get a KDE desktop. but when I try to login into my /home directory, it doesn't seem to exist. the error is:
[code] Cannot enter home directory. Using /[code]

I've looked around on google, but I haven't found many solutions. Here is the output from fdisk:
[code] Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 2048 206847 102400 83 Linux
/dev/sdb2 206848 63121407 31457280 83 Linux
/dev/sdb3 63121408 147007487 41943040 83 Linux
/dev/sdb4 147007488 156301487 4647000 82 Linux swap / Solaris[/code]

The output of ls -l /home: 0

And the output of my fstab:
[code]# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/BOOT /boot ext2 noauto,noatime 1 2
/dev/ROOT / ext3 noatime 0 0
/dev/SWAP none swap sw 0 0
/dev/HOME /home ext3 noatime 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom auto noauto,ro 0 0
/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto 0 0[/code]

Admittedly, I did manually edited the fstab to include the home directory, but that didn't solve my problem. Can anybody help me?
Thanks in advance
Regards,
Nightcast2000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7050
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to Gentoo.

So which partition, /dev/sd??, is root, boot, and home?
After editing fstab with the correct options you still need to mount it. Try
Code:
mount /home

or reboot to pull in the new fstab as long as you don't have the "user" or "noauto" options for /home.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nightcast2000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi eccerr0r,
Thank you for the welcome, afiak, I had created my /home partition on /dev/sdb3 when I used to fdisk to partition the hardrive I have Gentoo on.
I did try a reboot earlier,but I stil had the still the same effect.

Here is the output of mount /home
Code:
mernivia ~ # mount /home
mount: special device /dev/HOME does not exist


Regards,
Nightcast2000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42563
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nightcast2000,

Welcome to Gentoo

Your / (root) is being mounted by the kernel command line but as /dev/HOME does not exist, it won't be mounted.

The place holders are supposed to be replaced by actual block devices in /etc/fstab
Code:
/dev/sdb1 /boot ext2 noauto,noatime 1 2
would be better. Is /boot ext2 or does that need to be changed too.
This is just an example.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nightcast2000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi NeddySeagoon,
I've edited my fstab as you have outlined, all the relevant "sdb" numbers have been changed to this:
Code:

/dev/sdb1      /boot      ext2      noauto,noatime   1 2
/dev/sdb2      /      ext3      noatime      0 0
/dev/sdb4      none      swap      sw      0 0
/dev/sdb3               /home           ext3            noatime         0 0
/dev/cdrom      /mnt/cdrom   auto      noauto,ro   0 0
/dev/fd0      /mnt/floppy   auto      noauto      0 0


I will be rebooting in a min, and report if that has worked my /boot partition was formated as ext 2 but during the installation I had used btrfs after partitioning them.

Regards,
Nightcast2000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nightcast2000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys, sadly no luck, I still can't get into my /home driectory.

I guess I could re-update my initramfs with genkernel if the the kernel isn't loading it, but I'll wait for a reply if someone has a better solution.

I want to thank you for the welcome NeddySeagoon

Regards,
Nightcast2000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42563
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nightcast2000,

The kernel mounts root, which is ext3 so /home should just work.

What error do you get from
Code:
mount /home
The short form like this forces /etc/fstab to be consulted

Does
Code:
mount /dev/sdb3 /mnt/cdrom
work?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nightcast2000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi NeddySeagoon,
I've tried out those two commands,and it seems the /home partition is corrupt:
Code:
mernivia ~ # mount /dev/sdb3 /mnt/cdrom
mount: mount point /mnt/cdrom does not exist
mernivia ~ # mount /home
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sdb3,
       missing codepage or helper program, or other error
       In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
       dmesg | tail or so

Looks like I'll probably have to chroot using my rescue cd on my usb stick and try and repair it..

Regards,
Nightcast2000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nightcast2000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 10:01 am    Post subject: [solved!] got the dreaded Cannot get into home directory Reply with quote

Hi NeddySeagoon,
I managed to solve my problem. I looked on the web and found this article:http://www.howtoforge.com/a-beginners-guide-to-btrfs I then umounted my /dve/sdb3 qand then ran this command:

Code:
mount -o recovery /dev/sdb /mnt
and viola! I have a /home pertition back! :D I just need to adjust it in my fstab to make read "/home" instead of "/mnt" and I should be fine now.

Thank you guys for your help.

Regards,
Nightcast2000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum