Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] could not find root block device
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 33101
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ch64

Code:
title=Gentoo Linux 3.13.6 ohne ram0
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-3.10.7-gentoo-r1 root=/dev/sda1 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sda1 acpi=force rootfstype=ext3 udev noapic doscsi
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-3.10.7-gentoo-r


The title calls for 3.13.6 .. the kernel and initrd load 3.10.7.
Are you sure you are loading the kernel you think you are?

Look at the Gentoo Handbook for grub
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6754
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

an alternate

from chroot

Code:
eselect kernel set 7
make clean
make mrproper
genkernel --menuconfig all
look through the menuconfig, then exit saving the configuration and allow genkernel to finish

Make the first item in grub.conf be
Quote:
title genkernel 3.13.6
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-3.13.6-gentoo real_root=/dev/sda1 #acpi=force rootfstype=ext3 noapic doscsi
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-3.13.6-gentoo


reboot
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon: That was my mistake. I knew that it's the other kernel. It was just a short boot.

https://ata.wiki.kernel.org/index.php/Ata_piix
I install the kernel, like DONAHUE called me now.
But i don't think that it's running into boot, because of i did it like that a few times before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 33101
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ch64,

Thats how the liveCD kernel is made.

Do you get new errors now?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After genkernel --menuconfig all and booting into that kernel.
It's still not functioning. Could not find root block.

I'm pretty sure i have selected my sata driver. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 33101
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ch64,

Please post the error message. A photo of the kernel panic will do nicely.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm compiling the world now. When i reboot i make a photo and load it up to my server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://178.63.132.61/flash/Foto1.JPG
http://178.63.132.61/flash/Foto2.JPG

The initrd modules are not loaded, you see. "loading modules" but no list of loaded modules.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-3.10.7-gentoo-r1 root=/dev/sda1 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sda1 acpi=force rootfstype=ext3 udev noapic doscsi


Are you sure it's ext3? Try booting without that command. And look at what might be stopping udev from running, i.e. wrong path, typos. I've never specified the device type. Is ext support built in or modular?
Once the kernel is loaded and in control, it has only it's own code. Grub may have the right driver but it the kernel doesn't, it can't access anything. It looks like you can't get a shell either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried with rootfstype=ext4, ext3 .. (it's ext3, for sure)
Then i tried without option.

The support for all ext .. up to ext4 is built in the kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 4648

PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ch64,

I cannot help you, as i only see genkernel as a strange beast...
But don't use noapic boot parameter, you add problem to your problem, noapic should only be use if you know your mb/bios have a buggy interrupt controller or a really really old implementation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it's any help, I found this note deep within my intramfs:
Quote:
# If the kernel is handed a mount option is does not recognize, it WILL fail to
# mount. util-linux handles auto/noauto, but busybox passes it straight to the kernel
# which then rejects the mount.
# To make like a little easier, busybox mount does not care about leading,
# trailing or duplicate commas.


example line from one of my machines' grub.conf:
Code:
title=Gentoo Linux (3.10.25-gentoo)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-3.10.25-gentoo root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sda2 udev
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-3.10.25-gentoo


I use a separate /boot on the first partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 33101
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ch64,

Make friends with wgetpast and post your kernel .config file please.
The error has not changed so the kernel is still not seeing your hardware.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Neddy, edit your last post and then delete this post.
Quote:
Make friends with wgetpaste
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 33101
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tony0945,

Thank you for the correction.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the kernel config. there are three drivers which could be the harddisk controller.
http://pastebin.com/hZRwXRH4

One example is CONFIG_ATA_PIIX=y i have marked all these three as <*>.
Also i have ext3/4 in the kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 33101
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ch64,

Code:
CONFIG_SYSFS_DEPRECATED=y
Thats a boot killer.
Code:
CONFIG_IDE=y
will probably stop booting. The IDE drivers conflict with the PATA drivers on the SATA menu.
When both are selected, neither will work. To add to the interest, udev won't make any /dev/hd* nodes.
Code:
CONFIG_SCSI_LOGGING=y
is not needed, its a source of logspam.
Code:
CONFIG_SCSI_LOWLEVEL=y
sholud be off. Its harmless but is only needed if you have real SCSI devices.

You have two showstoppers there. There may be more that I've missed.

Fix your kernel, boot into the new kernel. If it still fails, post the error ant the new kernel .config.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I removed all that lines, you said. And compiled the kernel, again.
But the error at boot is the same.
Could not find root block. And it's not finding a device /dev/hdX /dev/sdX
I really think, that the newest kernels doesn't support my laptop anymore. :(

I normally not being too stupid to make it boot!! really... :(

kernel config:
http://pastebin.com/NGmNGdiC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 33101
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ch64,

Here is a snippet from my kernel .config file.
Code:
# Intel MIC Card Driver
#
# CONFIG_INTEL_MIC_CARD is not set
CONFIG_HAVE_IDE=y
# CONFIG_IDE is not set

#
# SCSI device support
#
CONFIG_SCSI_MOD=y

Notice that the IDE drivers are completely missing.
Code:
# CONFIG_IDE is not set
hides all the options in that menu.

Your .config shows
Code:
# Intel MIC Host Driver
#
 
#
# Intel MIC Card Driver
#
CONFIG_HAVE_IDE=y
#CONFIG_IDE is not set
 
#
# Please see Documentation/ide/ide.txt for help/info on IDE drives
#
CONFIG_IDE_XFER_MODE=y
CONFIG_IDE_TIMINGS=y
CONFIG_IDE_ATAPI=y
CONFIG_IDE_LEGACY=y
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDE_SATA is not set
CONFIG_IDE_GD=y
CONFIG_IDE_GD_ATA=y
# CONFIG_IDE_GD_ATAPI is not set
...


This strongly suggests to me that you have not followed the advice at the top of the file
Code:
# Automatically generated file; DO NOT EDIT.
# Linux/x86 3.13.6-gentoo Kernel Configuration
and now you have an illegal kernel .config.
The only solution to that is to throw it away and start from the default state with menuconfig.
When you use menuconfig, the options you choose affect several entries in the .config file. If you use $EDITOR, you have to adjust all of these options or your .config is illegal.
The build system then does some very add things.

For example
Code:
#CONFIG_IDE is not set
turns off the high level IDE code that the low level chipset drivers depend on. Since the high level code is missing, it makes no sense to attempt to build the lower level code for the individual chip sets ... but you nave done just that.

When I asked you to change kernel settings I expected you to use menuconfig to do it. I'm sorry if I wasn't clear.
menuconfig has a symbol name search function. Press /.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rhumbliner
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 51
Location: Las Vegas

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 3:46 am    Post subject: [One Possible Solution] could not find root block device Reply with quote

fwiw, i encountered this message trying to install gentoo on a system with no hard drive. (i know)

it was a LiveCD 3.10.25
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 3:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For all people who were so nice, to help me :-)
I have a new Picture with the 3.0.7 pf sources. That not gentoo supported one of source.
Well, it is not booting, it gives the same error. But in a picture i took, you can see well, that the driver for
the harddisk is loaded and the harddisk partitions are found.
Still the big question is, why ... the hell it is not finding the partition neither the disk.
The foto shows exactly the same as the other two. But with another output of the ATA driver.
When i log in with 'shell' there are only three devices mounted in /dev/
But no harddisk!
http://178.63.132.61/flash/Foto.JPG

cu soon my friends. :)

NeddySeagoon:
I have followed your instructions. With menuconfig. I did a new config. But not working.
edit: Maybe tomorrow i will send in a bug report. This is too strange for me. I have worked with embedded devices for years. Had much mistakes, but such a laptop would be easy compared.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 33101
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ch64,

As a get you started, go back to gentoo-sources, genkernel and genkernel --menuconfig all.

Once you have a kernel that works, you can make a better kernel.
3.0.7 is very old now.

As the kernel can see your partitions but they are not in /dev/

Either you don't have the DEVTMPFS options on in the kernel or you have one or both sys depreciate options on, which kills udev.
As udev is not yet started, my money is on DEVTMPFS as that's what should populate /dev
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm assuming you have a reasonably recent sysresuecd or Gentoo LiveCD.

1. Boot into into it and mount your drive as /mnt/gentoo per the handbook.
2. run this code
Code:
zcat /proc/config.gz >/mnt/gentoo/root/kernel.config

This step will extract the configuration of the boot cd which obviously will boot.
3. chroot onto your drive per the handbook.
4. rename whatever config you have now to another name (general precaution)
5. emerge -av gentoo-sources, you should get v 3.12.13
6. run
Code:
genkernel --kernel-config=/root/kernel.config  --menuconfig --bootloader=grub all

take the default of anything that comes up from 'make oldconfig'
Boot into the new kernel and continue the zcat etc. process removing hardware you don't have, always retaining a version that boots. You do this by going to 'General Setup->Local Version' and entering a descriptive string, i.e. version <x>. That will cause a new grub entry for each descriptive string

First get it working. Then optimize.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tony0945,
I have done that, using the config.gz from the Gentoo LiveCD 11 for kernel gentoo-sources-3.13.6.
It was 'could not find root block'

Also i have made a bug report which was cancled.
They say, i have a misconfiguration. And my driver could be aacraid.
aacraid is a scsi driver. But i have a sata harddisk.

I do not understand very well, where my misconfiguration should be.
All 2.6 kernels long i have used that laptop. Then i didn't use it for a while.
Then no 3.x Kernel did boot.

The answer on the bug tracker was, all 2.6x boot like 3.x.

I really don't know what the cause of the boot problem is.

The bugtracker url is: (maybe useful for someone)
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=508926

I know, they cancle this 'could not find root block device' error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 4648

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi ch64, i'm the one that told you it's a misconfiguration issue on the bug report.
Your bug report has been cancel, because if kernel 3x couldn't boot what a kernel 2x boot it would have been know already from kernel bugzilla.
So your bugreport doesn't actually report a bug in kernel 3x, just that you are unable to configure it properly.

And the aacraid, is the driver for adaptec sas card, of course you can say it's scsi related if you wish, that doesn't mean you need it.
You only need it if you own such card, and from your lspci, you don't own any ; confirming you have trouble at configuring a kernel with weird options.
Code:
01:00.0 RAID bus controller: Adaptec AAC-RAID (rev 09)
   Subsystem: Adaptec 5405
   Kernel driver in use: aacraid

So, you don't need that driver at all. It was an example, but your lsmod shown aic7xxx aic79xx... that are scsi drivers also for adaptec, also not useful for you. But many other less obvious might be there too.

I'm surprise if you have follow advises given that you still have weird configuration like that, but like i said before, genkernel handling is mystery for me.
You should go with a kernel seed for 3x. And try to follow advises and do not change anything just because you think it might be that, other (like i'm) will get lost on what is your current kernel state.
From your picture we can see sda1 is found, but the error is "sda1 is not a valid root devices"...
Can you provide then result of
Code:
fdisk -l

edit: forget fdisk part i see you gave it earlier.
At least now kernel see sda partitions, you're closer to success.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum