Pirate Linux 2.0 alpha
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
akarmn
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 7:22 pm    Post subject: Pirate Linux 2.0 alpha Reply with quote

Hi,

Just released this distro. I have been working on something similar since over 2 years, but it started out as an Ubuntu based distro, and now it is fully transitioned into Gentoo. The goal is enhance privacy and transparency, and route around censorship. Being a source based (meta) distro, Gentoo definitely helps with the transparency aspect of it.

For now it's a Live DVD, but as a next step, I want to create an installer that automatically emerges all the packages to create the distro, starting from just the stage 3 tarball. Compiling from source like this is not just to optimize the performance or speed of the operating system, but to minimize the amount of binary programs that a user must trust. It is virtually impossible to audit binary programs for backdoors (intentional or accidental), or just in general, to make sure that they do what they're supposed to do. Whenever you install a binary program, you are trusting the person who (cryptographically) signed the package that it does what the source code says it does. Compiling from source (the Gentoo way) helps to remove this requirement of trust. Even if you do not read the source code yourself, there are many people around the world who can read the source code and verify its correctness. There is still of course, the problem of trusting the compiler and the stage 3 tarball, but at least we are moving in the right direction.

I am currently the only developer of this software, and have other full time commitments, so development is quite slow. So it would help to have more people contributing. If you would like to contribute, please contact me.

Link for more information: https://piratelinux.org/?p=567

Thanks,