Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to get startup file for wireless interface?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ratcheer
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:09 am    Post subject: How to get startup file for wireless interface? Reply with quote

I'm a newbie, but I'm making some progress. :wink:

I have successfully turned on kernel support for my Ralink RT-3062 wireless card. After doing that, I got an interface named wlp6s0. The wireless driver is loaded and "lspci -v" shows "Kernel driver in use: rt2800pci"

However, there is no corresponding file in /etc/init.d for starting the interface. I am expecting to have a file net.wlp6s0, but it still does not exist. I have searched the wiki, but everything just refers to running that file, there's nothing on how to create it. Where does that file come from and/or how do I create it?

Tim
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:00 am    Post subject: Re: How to get startup file for wireless interface? Reply with quote

ratcheer wrote:
However, there is no corresponding file in /etc/init.d for starting the interface. I am expecting to have a file net.wlp6s0, but it still does not exist.

Tim ... simply create a symbolic link from net.lo to net.wlp6s0 ...

Code:
# ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.wlp6s0

For wireless you will need net-wireless/wpa_supplicant and an /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf that describes the AP ... you might also want to provide some configuration in /etc/conf.d/net ... some examples:

/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code:
ctrl_interface=DIR=/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
update_config=1

network={
    ssid="Your_AP/ESSID"
    psk=your_password
    proto=WPA2
    auth_alg=OPEN
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
}

... that would be for a WPA2 (your AP may use something else).