Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
portage-2.2.9-r1 update breaks emerge???[FIXED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3432
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 4:30 pm    Post subject: portage-2.2.9-r1 update breaks emerge???[FIXED] Reply with quote

Today's portage-2.2.9-r1 update apparently breaks emerge (emerge -upD @world gives this:)
Code:
localhost wrc # emerge -upD @world

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 50, in <module>
    retval = emerge_main()
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/_emerge/main.py", line 1037, in emerge_main
    return run_action(emerge_config)
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/_emerge/actions.py", line 4061, in run_action
    emerge_config.args, spinner)
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/_emerge/actions.py", line 320, in action_build
    settings, trees, myopts, myparams, myaction, myfiles, spinner)
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/_emerge/depgraph.py", line 8402, in backtrack_depgraph
    myaction, myfiles, spinner)
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/_emerge/depgraph.py", line 8434, in _backtrack_depgraph
    success, favorites = mydepgraph.select_files(myfiles)
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/_emerge/depgraph.py", line 3092, in select_files
    return self._select_files(args)
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/_emerge/depgraph.py", line 3428, in _select_files
    return self._resolve(myfavorites)
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/_emerge/depgraph.py", line 3583, in _resolve
    self.altlist()
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/_emerge/depgraph.py", line 6228, in altlist
    self._resolve_conflicts()
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/_emerge/depgraph.py", line 6355, in _resolve_conflicts
    self._process_slot_conflicts()
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/_emerge/depgraph.py", line 1212, in _process_slot_conflicts
    self._solve_non_slot_operator_slot_conflicts()
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/_emerge/depgraph.py", line 1163, in _solve_non_slot_operator_slot_conflicts
    self._remove_pkg(pkg)
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/_emerge/depgraph.py", line 2434, in _remove_pkg
    if not self._dynamic_config.digraph.parent_nodes(child):
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage/util/digraph.py", line 155, in parent_nodes
    return list(self.nodes[node][1])
KeyError: <Package ('installed', '/', 'sys-devel/autoconf-2.69', 'nomerge', 'installed')>

I ran python-updater, but only two items showed up. I then masked >=2.2.9-r1, and installed 2.2.8-r1, and now emerge appears to work again:
Code:
 localhost wrc # emerge -upD @world

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild     U  ] app-misc/ca-certificates-20140223.3.16 [20140223.3.15.5] USE="cacert" 0 kB
[ebuild  NS    ] dev-lang/vala-0.22.1:0.22 [0.20.1:0.20] USE="vapigen {-test}" 0 kB
[ebuild     U #] sys-apps/portage-2.2.9-r1 [2.2.8-r1] USE="(ipc) -build -doc -epydoc (-pypy2_0) -python2 -python3 (-selinux) -xattr" LINGUAS="-ru" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_2 -pypy2_0 -python2_6 -python3_3 (-python3_4)" 0 kB
[ebuild     U  ] net-misc/dhcpcd-6.3.2 [6.3.1-r1] USE="udev -ipv6" 0 kB
[ebuild     U  ] sci-visualization/gnuplot-4.6.4-r2 [4.6.4-r1] USE="X cairo gd qt4 readline wxwidgets (-aqua) -bitmap -doc -examples -ggi -latex -lua -plotutils -svga -thin-splines (-emacs%) (-xemacs%)" 0 kB

Total: 5 packages (4 upgrades, 1 in new slot), Size of downloads: 0 kB


What's confusing is it still wants to upgrade th 2.2.9-r1, even though i masked that version. :?

Could this really be a python problem/conflict? Currently, and actually forever, I've run 2.7:
Code:
 localhost wrc # eselect python list
Available Python interpreters:
  [1]   python2.7 *
  [2]   python3.2
  [3]   python3.3
localhost wrc # 


I'm running ~Arch, and am wondering if I should actually be using python 3.2 or 3.3, and after setting it, run python-updater? What's the official recommended version for ~Arch users?


Hmmm. Seems to be this bug on bugzilla: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=505422
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 7 3700x, 3.6GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
OpenRC Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.36-r7, gcc-13.2.1_p20230304
kernel-6.7.2 USE=experimental python3_11


Last edited by wrc1944 on Wed Mar 26, 2014 12:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3432
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After reading the details of the bugzilla item, it mentions some perl problems/conflicts, which I also encountered updating another another Gentoo box yesterday, and I thought I had resolved them with perl-cleaner runs. IIRC, I also did the portage update, but I haven't tried to emerge anything on that box since, so i can't say if it has this new emerge problem, or not.
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 7 3700x, 3.6GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
OpenRC Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.36-r7, gcc-13.2.1_p20230304
kernel-6.7.2 USE=experimental python3_11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1631
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did perl-cleaner --all - still the same. Should I do anything else?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3432
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xywa,
Sorry- I really don't know. I just checked that other gentoo box, and I was mistaken- it's still at 2.2.8-r1. Guess I'll do a quickpkg of portage-2.2.8-r1 just so i can revert back in case of problems, and see if the same thing happens on this box when I update to 2.2.9 (it is an ~amd64, while the first box my above posts refer to is ~x86, if that makes a difference).

I have done the perl-cleaner run on both boxes. I did eselect python set 3.2 (was at 2.7) and run python-updater on the ~x86 box with 2.2.9, but same problem persists. Only thing I can do so far to avoid this mess is to downgrade portage to 2.2.8-r1. However, even though I mask 2.2.9, a world update still wants to install 2.2.9. Is portage even supposed to be in the world file (thus emerge --sync always says --oneshot for available portage updates)? Somehow I have portage in my world file on both boxes.

Just to clarify- are you seeing the same sort of error I am when you try to emerge?


UPDATE: OK- did the emerge --oneshot portage on the ~amd64 box, and got the 2.2.9-r1 portage update, and emerge -upD @world works normally- no list of problematic items, and error out.
Code:
 gentoo-amd64 wrc # emerge -upD @world

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild     U  ] app-misc/ca-certificates-20140223.3.16 [20140223.3.15.5] USE="cacert" 0 kB
[ebuild     U  ] sys-apps/help2man-1.45.1 [1.44.1] USE="nls" 122 kB
[ebuild     U  ] net-misc/dhcpcd-6.3.2 [6.3.1-r1] USE="udev -ipv6" 0 kB

Total: 3 packages (3 upgrades), Size of downloads: 122 kB


Not sure if this means if my problem is related to ~x86 vs. ~amd64, or either of the ebuilds, or any misconfig on my ~x86 system(s), or a python and/or perl problem. I'm running python-2.7.6 on this ~amd64 box.

So, bottom line is I still don't know what's going on. I'll try the update on another Gentoo ~x86 box, and maybe that will give me a clue.
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 7 3700x, 3.6GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
OpenRC Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.36-r7, gcc-13.2.1_p20230304
kernel-6.7.2 USE=experimental python3_11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This problem has been fixed in git already. See this commit from bug 505422

Please downgrade to 2.2.8-r1 or test portage-9999. We'll likely have another new release out soon with the fixes.
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3432
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dol-sen,
Thanks very much! Good to know I'm not going crazy here. :?
This is the reason Gentoo is such a great distro- devs who personally address problems users run into.

FWIW, on the other ~x86 box I updated portage to 2..2.9-r1 today , and it's curiously NOT exhibiting this problem. (It is running systemd as opposed to RC on the other boxes, but I don't see how that would make any difference).

So, I have 2 virtually identical Gentoo ~x86 installs using portage-2.2.9-r1, one RC, and the other systemd, and only the RC install has the problem.

Python 2.7 or .3.2 and a thorough python-updater run doesn't seem to make any difference.
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 7 3700x, 3.6GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
OpenRC Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.36-r7, gcc-13.2.1_p20230304
kernel-6.7.2 USE=experimental python3_11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 5:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've bumped portage to 2.2.10 with the fixes for the breakage in 2.2.9.
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3432
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Brian! :D
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 7 3700x, 3.6GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
OpenRC Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.36-r7, gcc-13.2.1_p20230304
kernel-6.7.2 USE=experimental python3_11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 412

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have this error now.
Is there a quickpkg somewhere for me?

Or maybe i can use that from my netbook. It's x86. And my laptop with the problem has x86, too.
Is that enough?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should be able to just "emerge portage" to fix the problem. No need for a binpkg.
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 412

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is true, that emerge portage is working.
But then it is loading 2.2.10 again.
After i put 2.2.10 to package.mask it is not working
there it comes to the error described here.
emerge =sys-apps/portage-2.2.8-r1 is not working, too.
the error is listed here:
http://pastebin.com/V0CbDgfs
same comes here for emerge portage now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, you have portage-2.2.10 installed. OK, there is a fix for that one. You will have to run ebuild manually to get past this problem.

see bug 506406


Code:
ebuild /usr/portage/sys-apps/portage/portage-2.2.8-r1.ebuild merge


I will get another release out soon with that and a couple more fixes.
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 412

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did work. Many thanks to you.
I thought. 'hmmm', 'how to fix that?' :p
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum