View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
grant123
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2014 7:18 pm    Post subject: NTP delays boot components Reply with quote

For a special project I'm running a .start script in /etc/local.d/ that deletes /home/* and re-creates the necessary folders and files there. NTP takes at least a few seconds to start at boot which delays the running of that script. During those seconds, someone could log in to an old home folder via lightdm. NTP also delays shorewall which causes some other problems. What can I do about this?
milomouse
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2014 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm relatively new to NTP but could there be a delay in ntp while waiting for the network? Or traffic suffers when communicating with the server pool? For me, my network isn't always available right away which led to appending these lines below the default servers in /etc/ntp.conf as per http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Ntp#Server and ntp starts immediately during the boot process.

Code:
server 127.127.1.0
fudge  127.127.1.0 stratum 10

Not sure if this is related to your delay or not (since I do not know your configuration variables), just an idea.
grant123
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That sounds like exactly what I need, but it doesn't seem to speed things up for me. Boot is still delayed for about 12 seconds on:

Code:
Setting clock via the NTP client 'ntpdate'

I'm using an otherwise completely default NTP config.
milomouse
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, you seem to be running ntp-client instead of ntpd. If I understand correctly, if you run ntpd it acts as both server and client. Refer to: http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Ntp#Server_2
Quote: