Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved]xfce no restart/shutdown buttons
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rexineffect
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 2:52 pm    Post subject: [solved]xfce no restart/shutdown buttons Reply with quote

i have just installed xfce and there are no shutdown or restart buttons, i have to logout to my shell and do the shutdown cmd
how can i make the buttons work?


thank u


Last edited by rexineffect on Tue Feb 25, 2014 11:45 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1774
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 5:11 pm    Post subject: Re: xfce no restart/shutdown buttons Reply with quote

I don't know if it was for the same reason as in your case, but when I installed Xfce in a fresh Gentoo Stable x86 installation a couple of years ago, there were also no 'Shutdown' and 'Restart' options in the Xfce logout dialogue box. To enable those two options I had to add the two files mentioned in Comment #2 in the Xfce Forums thread [Solved] Unable to reboot/shutdown from Xfce (org.freedesktop.consolekit.pkla and org.freedesktop.upower.pkla).
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
OpenRC eudev elogind & KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v_andal
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 527
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Usually, the problem is with polkit/consolekit. And usually one forgets to add option --with-ck-launch to the startxfce4. But YMMV.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 8129
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The buttons are available if *Kit is not installed.
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rexineffect
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

v_andal wrote:
Usually, the problem is with polkit/consolekit. And usually one forgets to add option --with-ck-launch to the startxfce4. But YMMV.



looks like u were right:


solution


user$ echo "exec startxfce4 --with-ck-launch" > ~/.xinitrc


then


root# rc-update add consolekit default
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum