Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Serious networking problem! SOLVED
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sk8harddiefast
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Feb 2009
Posts: 335
Location: athens

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 6:55 pm    Post subject: Serious networking problem! SOLVED Reply with quote

Hi! I finally made it to install my Gentoo with generic kernel for now. But I have a serious problem with network.
I have RTL8169 Ethernet card. But is not loading during boot.
I have configured /etc/conf.d/net with this options
Code:
config_eth0="192.168.1.18 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.1.255"
routes_eth0="default via 192.168.1.1"

and
File /etc/resolv.conf
Code:
nameserver 192.168.1.1

Module is down because when I run
modprobe r8169 brink him up but I dont know how to put it on /etc/conf.d/modules to boot with the system.
Finaly ifconfig return this!!!:
http://s3.postimg.org/5ccj7edoj/IMG_20140211_203725.jpg
When I see ifconfig I feel that something is veeery wrong with my network!
Finally of course say that network is unreachable
_________________
Compile The Universe


Last edited by sk8harddiefast on Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:04 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 343
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 7:21 pm    Post subject: Re: Serious networking problem! Reply with quote

sk8harddiefast wrote:
Hi! I finally made it to install my Gentoo with generic kernel for now. But I have a serious problem with network.
I have RTL8169 Ethernet card. But is not loading during boot.
I have configured /etc/conf.d/net with this options
Code:
config_eth0="192.168.1.18 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.1.255"
routes_eth0="default via 192.168.1.1"

and
File /etc/resolv.conf
Code:
nameserver 192.168.1.1

Module is down because when I run
modprobe r8169 brink him up but I dont know how to put it on /etc/conf.d/modules to boot with the system.
Finaly ifconfig return this!!!:
http://s3.postimg.org/5ccj7edoj/IMG_20140211_203725.jpg
When I see ifconfig I feel that something is veeery wrong with my network!
Finally of course say that network is unreachable


Your screendump indicates your interface is called "enp4s4" ( the new naming scheme of udev, very confusing indeed).
However, you define eth0 (which does not exist in your case).
Can you try to either configure eth0 or enp4se manually ?

Maybe this thread helps:
https://forums-web1.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-958100-start-0.html
I switched to eudev to avoid all udev-problems with the new version.

Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sk8harddiefast
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Feb 2009
Posts: 335
Location: athens

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That means that I must change to this?
Code:
config_enp4s4="192.168.1.18 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.1.255"
routes_enp4s4="default via 192.168.1.1"

Sorry I am completely noob. I have no idea what to do.
I have Asus P5K3 DELUXE WIFI EDITION with 2 embeded ethernet cards (Marvel, Realtek) and one wireless (also embeded).
In the future I want to bond my 2 wired but for now I just want to connect to internet just to set and learn the system.
PS. I was preferring eth0. Was more easy and readable
_________________
Compile The Universe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 343
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sk8harddiefast wrote:
That means that I must change to this?
Code:
config_enp4se="192.168.1.18 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.1.255"
routes_enp4se="default via 192.168.1.1"

Sorry I am completely noob. I have no idea what to do.
I have Asus P5K3 DELUXE WIFI EDITION with 2 embeded ethernet cards (Marvel, Realtek) and one wireless (also embeded).
In the future I want to bond my 2 wired but for now I just want to connect to internet just to set and learn the system.
PS. I was preferring eth0. Was more easy and readable


Yes, I prefer eth0 too.

So, I guess you can either change to using eudev ( which I found solved a lot of problems), or keep using udev using the new "predictable" networknames.

Is udev started?
( try using
Code:
/etc/init.d/udev status
)

If not start or restart manually:
Code:
/etc/init.d/udev restart



See also this: ( this gives you the new styled names if you do not want to switch to eudev)
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-981570-highlight-enp.html



PS/edit: more reading
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-982584-highlight-eudev.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sk8harddiefast
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Feb 2009
Posts: 335
Location: athens

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. I fix it :)
I delete net.eth0 and created a net.enp4s4 and put it to runlevel.
Now after reboot I can connect to internet with my static ip :)
Thank you very much :)
Just for the knowledje. How can I bond two ethernet cards?
_________________
Compile The Universe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 343
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sk8harddiefast wrote:
Ok. I fix it :)
I delete net.eth0 and created a net.enp4s4 and put it to runlevel.
Now after reboot I can connect to internet with my static ip :)
Thank you very much :)
Just for the knowledje. How can I bond two ethernet cards?


Good to hear it helped ! ( best mark this as 'solved')

What do you mean with "bonding" of cards?
Do you want to use your computer as a central router/cache or something ( with one side being "internet" and the other "LAN"? )

Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sk8harddiefast
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Feb 2009
Posts: 335
Location: athens

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. I marked it as solved.
I want to bond my to ethernet cards to emulate a third ethernet card with static ip.
I have a NAS witch receive and send packets with link aggregation with 2 ethernet cards. And I want to do the same on my desktop too. Just to write faster on disks via network
_________________
Compile The Universe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 343
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, ok, I can't help you with that (never done something like that before).

So you better start a new topic with that specific question.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sk8harddiefast
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Feb 2009
Posts: 335
Location: athens

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. I am going to open a new threat with that when the time will come :)
_________________
Compile The Universe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1717

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd try this http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=4&chap=3#doc_chap6
good luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum