So, the TPP might outlaw copy-left software
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
truekaiser
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2015 12:05 am    Post subject: So, the TPP might outlaw copy-left software Reply with quote

Emphasis on 'might' because I am not a lawyer and their may be legalese I am missing.

Code:
## Article 14.17: Source Code

1. No Party shall require the transfer of, or access to, source code
of software owned by a person of another Party, as a condition for the
import, distribution, sale or use of such software, or of products
containing such software, in its territory.

2. For the purposes of this Article, software subject to paragraph 1
is limited to mass-market software or products containing such
software and does not include software used for critical
infrastructure.

3. Nothing in this Article shall preclude:

(a) the inclusion or implementation of terms and conditions related
to the provision of source code in commercially negotiated contracts;
or

(b) a Party from requiring the modification of source code of
software necessary for that software to comply with laws or
regulations which are not inconsistent with this Agreement.

4. This Article shall not be construed to affect requirements that
relate to patent applications or granted patents, including any orders
made by a judicial authority in relation to patent disputes, subject
to safeguards against unauthorised disclosure under the law or
practice of a Party.

With red-hat's new cooperation with microsoft maybe we are going to see a closed source linux distro if this turns out to be true?
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2015 1:10 am    Post subject: Re: So, the TPP might outlaw copy-left software Reply with quote

truekaiser wrote: