Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Mozilla rc1 broken
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Daemon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 9:20 pm    Post subject: Mozilla rc1 broken Reply with quote

i built it twice, first with -O3 then with -O2 and still got the same result... look at the snapshot. of course the mess in the GUI happens everywhere and not only in that part of the screen.

[img:faeab24936]http://duraid.netfirms.com/snapshot2.png[/img:faeab24936]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Malakin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Apr 2002
Posts: 1692
Location: Victoria BC Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problems with rc1 here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dArkMaGE
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2002
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the only weirdness i saw with mozilla rc1 was in the mail reader under WindowMaker when my inbox mail list was long enough to merit having a scroll bar the scroll bars would flip around basically rendering the view useless... at least im assuming this is a mozilla problem, maybe its a WindowMaker thing... either way ive been very happy with the actual browser
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2002 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thats strange.
8O
Back to top
niyogi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 199
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2002 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

looks more to as a graphics card problem than a mozilla problem although I could be completely wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Daemon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2002 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

niyogi wrote:
looks more to as a graphics card problem than a mozilla problem although I could be completely wrong.


why does it only happen with mozilla then? every thing else is fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cr0t
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Apr 2002
Posts: 874
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2002 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RC1 is working great 8)
_________________
cya
    ©®0t
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sublime
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Apr 2002
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2002 12:44 pm    Post subject: libpng issue? Reply with quote

Libpng has been updated a few times recently, maybe compiled mozilla rc1 with different libpng?
doing a

mozilla & in a term window should say something about it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Daemon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2002 2:09 pm    Post subject: Re: libpng issue? Reply with quote

Sublime wrote:
Libpng has been updated a few times recently, maybe compiled mozilla rc1 with different libpng?
doing a

mozilla & in a term window should say something about it


yep i think libpng is the problem. although the console is not showing any error messages, but i can tell because mozilla cant display png images.

what's your libpng? mine is 1.2.1-r1 which i think is the latest version. all i did is emerge mozilla.

do you suggest that i update libpng only. or unemerge mozilla -> install libpng -> emerge mozilla?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2002 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

finally everything is sloved....

the problem was the dpi.. it was 25x25 and i changed it by add this to the monitor section in XF86config:

DisplaySize 368 270

and everything works fine now ... even my small font problem is solved.

just thought to let you know in case you run into this problem. thanks everyone.
Back to top
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16090
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2002 2:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anonymous wrote:
finally everything is sloved....

the problem was the dpi.. it was 25x25 and i changed it by add this to the monitor section in XF86config:

DisplaySize 368 270

and everything works fine now ... even my small font problem is solved.

just thought to let you know in case you run into this problem. thanks everyone.


Does this affect anything else? What exactly does that setting change?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Daemon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2002 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kanuslupus wrote:

Does this affect anything else? What exactly does that setting change?


it changes the dpi (dots per inch) for your display.. ideally it should be 75x75.. but mine is 71x72 which is ok.

yes it effects everything.. without that line my dpi was 25x25 and ruined all my display as you can see above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum