Faulty Motherboard?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
WillMcDade
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 11:43 am    Post subject: Faulty Motherboard? Reply with quote

Hey! I'm new to Gentoo and the Forums!

After a while of having my HP dx5150, that I bought for £30 on eBay, and doing quite a few upgrades, the system was working fine. But recently I decided to buy new RAM (DDR-400, Non-ECC, unbuffered, PC3200R). I went onto Crucial, as I wanted somewhere dependable. (I managed to get a £3 8GB Flash Drive aswell :P) I installed the modules, booted the system, all was fine...

After a while I ended up with crashes all over the place, and sometimes resulting in a freeze at POST, only showing the HP logo on a blue background. I couldn't even access the BIOS. I managed to find a problem with my PATA hard drive, which I then took out and reinstalled Arch, as that was the distro I was using then. I then found that my SATA hard drive was filled with bad sectors today, but then, both the PATA and the SATA 250GB hard drives were both quite old. I then installed a 160GB hard drive, which I am just in the process of installing Gentoo on, BUT my system ONLY boots with 2 modules out of 4 installed. The memtest on the modules passed, so it is NOT the modules. When I do try and boot all 4 modules, the system fails to boot, resulting in 5 beeps, with corresponding 5 flashes, with a 2 second pause, and after the beeps, which only happen twice round, only the flashes remain.

The system is:

HP dx5150 Microtower
2GB RAM (the whole 4GB cant be inserted at once?!)
160GB SATA Seagate Momentus 5400RPM
MSi GeForce GT N210 with 1GB dedicated memory
AMD Athlon 64 X2 @ 2.0GHz, 64 bit enabled.

Is my motherboard faulty? If so, I will sell all the parts that work, and build a PC with the money left over (also a bit more money on top of that :))

Thanks,

Will
creaker
l33t