Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo on Asus T100 - work but not all
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ADi-mistrzu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2014
Posts: 12
Location: Poland/Legionowo

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 6:46 pm    Post subject: Gentoo on Asus T100 - work but not all Reply with quote

Hi,

I try install Gentoo system on my ASUS T100 netbook.

Do that on cumputer with UEFI and not suportet MBR is really difficult... but after many hours it's worked with GRUB2 :D

But now I try run WiFi and there I have a problem, because its Broadcom BCM43241 and it's on SDIO :/
I try use this module:
http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/brcm80211
I copy to /lib/firmware/brmc/ but it still did'nt work, I nothing see in ifconfig -a.
When I try read /dev/nvram a have error of read, sow I cut it out Ubuntu LiveCD.

Maybe you have some idea?

Hardware spec:
Code:
1. Amtel MXT1664TXES-C2U 1330B TW QLG9F -> touchscreen controler
2. Broadcom BCM43241SFKFFBG TN1322 P24 294688 P3T -> WiFi on SDIO
3. Phison PS2251-68-5 UO1329C D75J0.11AA -> USB 3.0 controler
4. Realtek ALC5642 D2L87HI GD13F -> Audio
5. Winbond 250(Q)64FW1G 1329 6236 QP30003 -> Memory with UEFI
6. Intel Q326A657 SR1M5 02962 '12 -> CPU
7. M F20 P02 CFQ0589 (No idea)
8. ITE IT8568VG 1331-AXO ZC0P1A (No idea)
9. SANDISK 9.15 XC4*00 SanDisk32G -> eMMC disc
10. HannStar J 94V-0 E89382 1335 MV-4 -> Camera module


And I have a strange problem, when I try halt system, last mesage is:
Code:
[ 321.12313 ] reboot: Power down

And after that, it is nothing do, maybe you have some idea why?

ouh.. I use kernel 3.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1767
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For Broadcom Wifi, be sure to enable all related CONFIG_BCMA_* options in menuconfig, as well as CONFIG_BRCMFMAC_SDIO.

Can you turn off the computer with Magic SysRq? (Alt+SysRq+O)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ADi-mistrzu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2014
Posts: 12
Location: Poland/Legionowo

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TurnOff system with using Magik key doesn't work:
http://obrazki.elektroda.pl/4215444900_1390852794.jpg

About WiFi, I add module and now it's look that:
http://obrazki.elektroda.pl/1189200900_1390855232.jpg

It's with nvram copy on ubuntu, when I rm this file, system show me that:
http://obrazki.elektroda.pl/5919468400_1390855314.jpg

In the last line I try read nvram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1767
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your screenshot indicates that you pressed Alt+SysRq+0 (number zero), not Alt+SysRq+O (letter Oh).

The brcmfmac driver loads and detects the hardware, but fails to initialize it. Make sure that you have at least sys-kernel/linux-firmware-20131230 installed. Maybe you could try a wireless-next kernel. If the issue does not go away, it would probably be a good idea to report this to kernel bugzilla (in case no report already exists).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augury
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 718
Location: philadelphia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It says the dongle is not responding. Dongle.

Is the unit new or used? Is the dongle plugged in? Do you have a dongle? Have you ever seen it work before? Have you tried holding it in? Have lights on it? A quarter of the electronics and logic circuity could be in your dongle.


Last edited by augury on Wed Jan 29, 2014 10:58 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augury
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 718
Location: philadelphia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ADi-mistrzu wrote:
TurnOff system with using Magik key doesn't work:
http://obrazki.elektroda.pl/4215444900_1390852794.jpg


Did you install polkit or whatever it is? It's supposed to finish that off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ADi-mistrzu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2014
Posts: 12
Location: Poland/Legionowo

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2014 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Network is working :D

Now I install xorg, and when I return to home I will be try fix problem with turnoff and restart system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ADi-mistrzu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2014
Posts: 12
Location: Poland/Legionowo

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed PolKit, bit system is still stoped when I try halt it or restart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zlice
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2014 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

network is working? how? what'd you do?

completely different system...but same BCM43241...i can't even get dmesg to show anything
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ADi-mistrzu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2014
Posts: 12
Location: Poland/Legionowo

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I run xorg I'm going to write HowTo about "Linux on T100".

In brief:
1. Kernel 3.13
2. BCM module (http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/brcm80211)
3. cat /dev/nvram and follow the instructions about BCM (links is up)
4. install wpa_wireller (or something like that) on your system
5. and probably something change in configuration about network, but now I don't remember



Now I have problems:
1. I try run X but I must turn on DRI on kernel. When I do that, at boot time I see init proces in maybe 100ms and then screen is black.
Why is this happening?
2. Maybe you have any idea why system isn't shutdown computer when I use for example halt command?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kate Monster
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 226
Location: Clarkston, Michigan

PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2014 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you ever figure out the issue with the system shutting down? Also, how well does the video driver work? Does xf86-video-intel work well enough?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ADi-mistrzu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2014
Posts: 12
Location: Poland/Legionowo

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now intel driver for video isn't work with KMS.
When I try run that together, I see only black screen, but system work (I can connect with SSH).

I try use kernel 3.14-rc3 but still video don't work and I can't system shutdown.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ADi-mistrzu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2014
Posts: 12
Location: Poland/Legionowo

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KDE work with acceleration :D
http://obrazki.elektroda.pl/5830232200_1392743560.jpg

Now I try run touchscreen, battery status, sound card and orientation system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
polytan
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jul 2004
Posts: 370
Location: Cambridge - UK

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Have you kept Gentoo on your T100 ?

I will receive mine very soon and plan on having Gentoo.

How have you managed to boot the liveUSB and then to have a grub working ?

Thanks for your feedback ! :)

By the way, I'm planning on eventually building binaries externally (I have access to a good server) and then emerge -g everything. I will be happy to share the repo, definitely ! :)
_________________
Wait & See

-=( Polytan )=-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HeXiLeD
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 984
Location: online

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just got an Asus T100T and i would like to know how is the progress with this install before opening the box and trying to install it. How is the install going for you guys ?

I am debating if i sell it or install gentoo on it. Is all hardware working ? What are the known problems ?

According to this wiki not everything is working for some people.

http://www.jfwhome.com/2014/03/07/perfect-ubuntu-or-other-linux-on-the-asus-transformer-book-t100/

EDIT
I got rid of piece of crap. Hardware that i cannot use with linux it not for me.
_________________
443640, Questioning, Unsolved, BinHost
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum