Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Concerned about public ip when running gentoo through vpn.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Budoka
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 286
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 2:59 am    Post subject: Concerned about public ip when running gentoo through vpn. Reply with quote

I hope this is the right sub-forum. I assumed it would be since it is a networking question and does involve my Gentoo box. If not, my apologies and would appreciate a point to the right subforum.

To get "online" I connect my laptop (Gentoo) via a USB tether to my iPhone. The iPhone runs through a VPN.

I just noticed something odd and a little bit concerning. If I check my Public IP Address on the iPhone I do see that I am successfully connected to my VPN. But, when I check my Public IP Address on my laptop, even though it is using the network connection of my phone, it shows my address as where I actually am/my phone provider. This indicates to me that for some odd reason Gentoo isn't running through my VPN even-though the phone is running through VPN.

Not even sure how or where to troubleshoot this but am thinking since my phone is connecting to the VPN maybe it is a configuration issue on my Gentoo box?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 8592

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How are you determining your public IP? If your Gentoo system relies on the iPhone for network connectivity and the iPhone is responsible for sending traffic either direct to the provider or over the provider to the VPN, then how can any misconfiguration in the Gentoo system cause traffic to be routed improperly?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maitreya
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What Hu said, also the traffic in your phone runs trough the vpn as apparently the passtrough function is not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 286
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
How are you determining your public IP? If your Gentoo system relies on the iPhone for network connectivity and the iPhone is responsible for sending traffic either direct to the provider or over the provider to the VPN, then how can any misconfiguration in the Gentoo system cause traffic to be routed improperly?


On both my Gentoo box and phone I check the Public IP via the website www.whatismyip.com. I also use
Code:
curl ifconfig.me
on the gentoo box.

For example, at the moment I am tethered and connected and the Public IP on my phone is showing 198.144.114.176 This is terminating at my VPN in California. My laptop which is using the phone connection is showing 182.249.240.215 which is my actual location.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Amranu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 May 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the output of ifconfig -a?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can imagine at least 3 completly different setups that would match your description. Can you provide more details?
What network devices you have in pc and phone (phisical and virtual) and in what what way you want to route between related networks?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 286
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 1:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Amranu wrote:
What is the output of ifconfig -a?


Do you want the output of ifconfig when I am connected via my phone or will this suffice?

Quote:
$ ifconfig -a
eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet 192.168.10.10 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.10.255
inet6 fe80::ea03:9aff:fe1d:ffd3 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
ether e8:03:9a:1d:ff:d3 txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 62709 bytes 69257396 (66.0 MiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 39544 bytes 4660763 (4.4 MiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 65536
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x10<host>
loop txqueuelen 0 (Local Loopback)
RX packets 2472 bytes 195238 (190.6 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 2472 bytes 195238 (190.6 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

wlan0: flags=4098<BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
ether 88:53:2e:89:f2:0b txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 286
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

szatox wrote:
I can imagine at least 3 completly different setups that would match your description. Can you provide more details?
What network devices you have in pc and phone (phisical and virtual) and in what what way you want to route between related networks?


Thank you for the help. However I am not really sure what it is you are asking for. Can you give me the command you need output from? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 286
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is my
Code:
ifconfig -a
when tethered to phone.

Quote:
$ ifconfig -a
eth0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet6 fe80::ea03:9aff:fe1d:ffd3 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
ether e8:03:9a:1d:ff:d3 txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 3491457 bytes 5079149476 (4.7 GiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 1744666 bytes 124554533 (118.7 MiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

eth1: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet 172.20.10.4 netmask 255.255.255.240 broadcast 172.20.10.15
inet6 fe80::f0cb:a1ff:fe3d:fe5b prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
ether f2:cb:a1:3d:fe:5b txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 134 bytes 43693 (42.6 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 1 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 97 bytes 11160 (10.8 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 65536
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x10<host>
loop txqueuelen 0 (Local Loopback)
RX packets 4787 bytes 349596 (341.4 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 4787 bytes 349596 (341.4 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

wlan0: flags=4098<BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
ether 88:53:2e:89:f2:0b txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maitreya
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The thing is that the "problem" is in the IPhone.
And these are notorious for their non low-level hackability.
The passthrough software doesn't send its traffic over its VPN device.
Easiest fix around this would be to set up the vpn on the computer instead of the phone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 286
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2014 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maitreya wrote:
The thing is that the "problem" is in the IPhone.
And these are notorious for their non low-level hackability.
The passthrough software doesn't send its traffic over its VPN device.
Easiest fix around this would be to set up the vpn on the computer instead of the phone.



Quote:
The passthrough software doesn't send its traffic over its VPN device.


Can you elaborate? Are you saying that the connection doesn't run over a vpn on the phone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum