Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Hostname Lookup Failures
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Enfield
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2008
Posts: 12
Location: Great Britain

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:08 pm    Post subject: Hostname Lookup Failures Reply with quote

Hello all,

I am having trouble with my connection at the moment - over wifi and direct connection. When I run emerge --sync it will come up with '!!! getaddrinfo failed for 'rsync.uk.gentoo.org': [Errno -2] Name or service not known' but will sync anyway.

Most of the time I can download via portage, but occasionally it will fail to find the server. Also, if I try to browse through konq I get a lot of an 'unknown host' errors. This does not happen at all via chromium which I suspect (perhaps wrongly) that it's because it uses a web service to help resolve navigation errors.

I have tried various different configurations with my hosts and net file with no joy.

My /etc/resolv.conf is as follows:

Code:
domain home
nameserver 192.168.1.254


/etc/hosts
Code:
127.0.0.1              gaz-pc.home gaz-pc


/etc/conf.d/net
Code:
config_wlp10s1="dhcp"
config_enp12s0="dhcp"


Any ideas?
_________________
'We're in the stickiest situation since Sticky the Stick Insect got stuck on a sticky bun.' - Edward Blackadder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 343
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

What does ifconfig give ?

Also, can you try to resolve a webname from the commandline, for example by using ping google.com ?

Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Enfield
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2008
Posts: 12
Location: Great Britain

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Good Sir,

I think I may have jinxed myself; Chromium is starting to suffer. Either that or it's these forums.

I can ping www.google.co.uk

Code:
gaz@gaz-pc ~ $ ping -c3 www.google.co.uk
PING www.google.co.uk (173.194.41.184) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from lhr08s04-in-f24.1e100.net (173.194.41.184): icmp_seq=1 ttl=52 time=16.9 ms
64 bytes from lhr08s04-in-f24.1e100.net (173.194.41.184): icmp_seq=2 ttl=52 time=17.9 ms
64 bytes from lhr08s04-in-f24.1e100.net (173.194.41.184): icmp_seq=3 ttl=52 time=17.0 ms

--- www.google.co.uk ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2000ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 16.975/17.320/17.977/0.488 ms


Code:
gaz@gaz-pc ~ $ ifconfig
enp12s0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 00:25:22:cc:c7:c8  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
        device interrupt 17 

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 26  bytes 1612 (1.5 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 26  bytes 1612 (1.5 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlp10s1: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.1.89  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.1.255
        inet6 fe80::20e:2eff:fee6:4e71  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 00:0e:2e:e6:4e:71  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 118859  bytes 160564316 (153.1 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 1474  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 63660  bytes 6945396 (6.6 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

_________________
'We're in the stickiest situation since Sticky the Stick Insect got stuck on a sticky bun.' - Edward Blackadder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 343
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I remember having a similar problem myself some months ago.
I think this link solved it : https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-952646-highlight-wget+resolve.html

Basically, if not using IPv6, emerge wget with ipv6 disabled. But the same might hold for other applications...

Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Enfield
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2008
Posts: 12
Location: Great Britain

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just tried emerge --sync again after compiling it without ipv6 support and it still produces the same error.

Could it be anything to do with my kernel?

gaz@gaz-pc ~ $ cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep "IPV6"
CONFIG_IPV6=y
# CONFIG_IPV6_PRIVACY is not set
# CONFIG_IPV6_ROUTER_PREF is not set
# CONFIG_IPV6_OPTIMISTIC_DAD is not set
# CONFIG_IPV6_MIP6 is not set
CONFIG_IPV6_SIT=y
# CONFIG_IPV6_SIT_6RD is not set
CONFIG_IPV6_NDISC_NODETYPE=y
# CONFIG_IPV6_TUNNEL is not set
# CONFIG_IPV6_GRE is not set
# CONFIG_IPV6_MULTIPLE_TABLES is not set
# CONFIG_IPV6_MROUTE is not set
CONFIG_NF_DEFRAG_IPV6=y
CONFIG_NF_CONNTRACK_IPV6=y
CONFIG_IP6_NF_MATCH_IPV6HEADER=y

I have also noticed that dhcpcd is run like so:

Code:
/sbin/dhcpcd -h gaz-pc --noipv4ll wlp10s1
could that have anything to do with it? I am running wicd by the way.
_________________
'We're in the stickiest situation since Sticky the Stick Insect got stuck on a sticky bun.' - Edward Blackadder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum