Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved]Gnome 3.10. Where are suspend and hibernate gone?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Marlo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 1407

PostPosted: Sun Dec 29, 2013 1:22 pm    Post subject: [solved]Gnome 3.10. Where are suspend and hibernate gone? Reply with quote

Hi@,

Gnome 3.10. Where are "suspend to ram" and "hibernate to disk" gone?
After the upgrade from 3.8 to 3.10, these settings are lost.
Can I get the old system status menu back without downgrading?

I grateful for any advice
Ma
_________________
Thank you for your attention, interest and support.
------------------------------------------------------------------
http://radio.garden/


Last edited by Marlo on Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:12 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1553

PostPosted: Sun Dec 29, 2013 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hold ALT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marlo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 1407

PostPosted: Sun Dec 29, 2013 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi TomWij,

ahhhh this works,
thank you.

But what? "suspend to ram" or "hibernate to disk".
Where can I check this?

Ma
_________________
Thank you for your attention, interest and support.
------------------------------------------------------------------
http://radio.garden/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marlo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 1407

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok,
in gnome-tweak-tool "energy" I can adjust that. But only either or, but not both.
_________________
Thank you for your attention, interest and support.
------------------------------------------------------------------
http://radio.garden/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7051
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like another Gnome3-mantra-isms, no controls for the user...
Sigh. Some people know when they want to suspend vs hibernate (if both work on your computer), Gnome3 assumes you want to only do one or the other.

I saw on previous versions of Gnome that you could use gnome-shell-extensions-alternative-status-menu but it looks like it's gone in 3.10.

Still looking for a solution... XFCE might end up being the solution for me, as on my other machine it does exactly what I want :(
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
epsilon72
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2007
Posts: 568

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This extension might help you out:
https://extensions.gnome.org/extension/826/suspend-button/
I don't know if it can display both hibernate and suspend at the same time though...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7051
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm... Maybe. If I set the alt-power button to hibernate, would the suspend button still just suspend (or will it hibernate too?)

IMHO things I dislike about Gnome3 default:
- closing lid causes suspend - I don't want it to cut off my network connections or suspend my emerge :( (fix: hack default to not suspend during lid operation)
- Can't choose between suspend or hibernate - I know when I'll use my computer next, if I know it will be within an hour, I want to suspend. If it will be tomorrow, I'll hibernate. The OS has no way of knowing it and shouldn't force one to choose.

Alas no, it does not seem to do the trick. But it looks interesting - gnome shell. Maybe I can hack this to do what I want...hmm.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum