Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
VMWare horizon on gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stealthgun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 44
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2016 5:16 pm    Post subject: VMWare horizon on gentoo Reply with quote

Im wondering if ppl are intrested in a how-to for VMware horizon (6.2) on Gentoo?

Its not a supported OS, but i got it working on Gentoo with Dantel-Gnome 3

It does need some modding (even the installation scripts need editing)

So if anyone wants to know how im more then happy to write something for it.
_________________
www.gjdwebserver.nl

How mant but's do I have to cut before you people realise not to be dummy's
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Metuchen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Dec 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2016 5:38 pm    Post subject: I'm interested Reply with quote

I've just tried the VMWare Horizon installation script...it *mostly* worked with the exception of some libudev stuff (but I don't think I care about that stuff). Unfortunately, I can't figure out how to make it work...is it a browser plugin or something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stealthgun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 44
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well the script doenst supoort gentoo (I got the message "Gentoo is not supported" right from the start)

So what you need to do is make sure that in <<instalationfilesdir>>/bin/commonlib.sh you get this:

Code:
identify_distribution() {
   DISTRO_ID_CENTOS=CentOS
   DISTRO_ID_RHEL_CLIENT=RedHatEnterpriseClient
   DISTRO_ID_RHEL_SERVER=RedHatEnterpriseServer
   DISTRO_ID_RHEL_WORKSTATION=RedHatEnterpriseWorkstation
   DISTRO_ID_NEOKYLIN=" NeoKylin Linux Desktop"
   DISTRO_ID_UBUNTU=Ubuntu
   DISTRO_ID_SUSE="SUSE LINUX"
   DISTRO_ID_GENTOO="Gentoo"


Code:

  #
   # Check supported distributions
   #
   case "$DISTRO_ID" in
   ${DISTRO_ID_CENTOS}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_RHEL_CLIENT}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_RHEL_SERVER}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_SUSE}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_RHEL_WORKSTATION}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_GENTOO}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_NEOKYLIN})
      ;;



Code:


   #
   # Distro specific UI
   #
   case "$DISTRO_ID" in
   ${DISTRO_ID_CENTOS})
      DISTRO_PLATFORM_LABEL=CentOS
      ;;
   ${DISTRO_ID_RHEL_CLIENT}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_RHEL_SERVER}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_RHEL_WORKSTATION})
      DISTRO_PLATFORM_LABEL=RHEL
      ;;
   ${DISTRO_ID_NEOKYLIN})
      DISTRO_PLATFORM_LABEL=FedoraKylin
      ;;
   ${DISTRO_ID_UBUNTU})
      DISTRO_PLATFORM_LABEL=Ubuntu
      ;;
   ${DISTRO_ID_KYLIN})
      DISTRO_PLATFORM_LABEL=UbuntuKylin
      ;;
   ${DISTRO_ID_SUSE})
      DISTRO_PLATFORM_LABEL=SUSE
      ;;
   ${DISTRO_ID_GENTOO})
      DISTRO_PLATFORM_LABEL=Gentoo
      ;;
   esac


Code:

 #
   # Distro specific commands
   #
   case "$DISTRO_ID" in
   ${DISTRO_ID_CENTOS}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_RHEL_CLIENT}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_RHEL_SERVER}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_RHEL_WORKSTATION})
      PKG_QUERY="rpm -q"
      PKG_INSTALL="yum -q -y install"
      ;;
   ${DISTRO_ID_NEOKYLIN})
      PKG_QUERY="rpm -q"
      PKG_INSTALL="yum -q -y install"
      ;;
   ${DISTRO_ID_KYLIN}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_UBUNTU})
      PKG_QUERY="dpkg -s"
      PKG_INSTALL="apt-get -q -y install"
      ;;
   ${DISTRO_ID_SUSE})
      PKG_QUERY="rpm -q"
      PKG_INSTALL="zypper -q -n install"
      ;;
   ${DISTRO_ID_GENTOO})
      PKG_QUERY="eix -I"
      PKG_INSTALL="emerge"
      ;;
   esac


make sure to emerge eix


The install script itself needs alot less editing

Code:
   #
   # Command specific
   #
   case "$DISTRO_ID" in
   ${DISTRO_ID_CENTOS}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_RHEL_CLIENT}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_RHEL_SERVER}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_SUSE}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_RHEL_WORKSTATION}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_GENTOO}|\


This is only if you get a "GenuineIntel is not supported" error
Code:

isPlatformArchSupported() {
   local arch="`uname -i`"
   local binpath="`dirname $0`/VMwareBlastServer/VMwareBlastServer"
   local binarch="`file $binpath`"
   local ret=1

   case "$arch" in
   "i386"|"i686")
      echo "$binarch" | grep "Intel 80386" >/dev/null 2>&1
      if [ "$?" = "0" ]; then
         ret=0
      fi
      ;;
   "x86_64"|"GenuineIntel")
      echo "$binarch" | grep "x86-64" >/dev/null 2>&1
      if [ "$?" = "0" ]; then
         ret=0
      fi
      ;;
   esac

   return $ret
}


Code:

erify_environment() {
   case "$DISTRO_ID" in
   ${DISTRO_ID_CENTOS}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_RHEL_CLIENT}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_RHEL_SERVER}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_SUSE}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_RHEL_WORKSTATION}|\
   ${DISTRO_ID_GENTOO}|\


Best thing to do is create the vmware group and user yourself (i had errors even when changing the create user code)[/code]

After that start vmware tools
Start viewagent (this might cause errors and you need to change the init.d script to say echo "succes")

And make sure you have a vnc server installed (i used tigervnc 1.4.2-r2)
After that is should work.. but its not the most stable.

It works greate the 1st time you connect after that you might need to start xdm

And the view agent you can install on the gentoo server is not how you can connect to it you need a separate vmware horizon connection server to act as the blast server the client is using.
_________________
www.gjdwebserver.nl

How mant but's do I have to cut before you people realise not to be dummy's
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum