Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] monitor does not use resolution in xorg.conf
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MALDATA
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 3:47 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] monitor does not use resolution in xorg.conf Reply with quote

Sorry for the lame subject, it's hard to describe the problem briefly. I also don't know if this is the right forum...

I'm running Gentoo with xorg-server 1.14.3-r2, gnome-shell 3.8.4-r1, and nvidia-drivers 331.20. My monitor is 1440x900. When X starts, it's always running in some weird resolution like 1366x768. I can then run the nvidia-settings tool and set the resolution to 1440x900, which I can apply from inside the tool, and it stays that way until I restart X. I then make it generate an xorg.conf file for me, I place it in /etc/X11, and restart X. But every time, it comes back up in the wrong resolution.

It seems like there's some default resolution that it uses instead of the one specified in xorg.conf. I recently upgraded from gnome2 to gnome3, and at the same time, it pulled in an updated nvidia-drivers ebuild. I'm not sure where the problem is, but it seems unlikely that it'd be gnome. Anyone have a similar problem, or at least know how to figure out what's causing the problem?

Thanks!


Last edited by MALDATA on Thu Mar 10, 2016 4:37 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42581
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MALDATA,

Post your xorg.conf so we can see what X is being asked to do and your /var/log/Xorg.0.log so we can see what Xorg actually did.
The log may be too big for a post. Use wgetpaste to put it on a pastebin site, then post the link.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MALDATA
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 2:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure. xorg.conf is below, and Xorg.0.log is at http://pastebin.ca/2514482. I didn't think X was the culprit since it hasn't changed lately, but I probably should've included this stuff originally anyway. Sorry about that. If you see anything, let me know. Thanks!

Code:

# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 325.15  (portage@skynet)  Fri Dec 13 05:04:23 CST 2013

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen      1  "Screen1" 1440 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from data in "/etc/conf.d/gpm"
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "BBY NS-LCD19"
    HorizSync       31.0 - 61.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "SAMSUNG"
    HorizSync       26.0 - 76.0
    VertRefresh     23.0 - 61.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 9500 GT"
    BusID          "PCI:2:0:0"
    Screen          0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 9500 GT"
    BusID          "PCI:2:0:0"
    Screen          1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "Stereo" "0"
#    Option         "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-1"
    Option         "metamodes" "VGA-0: 1440x900 +0+0"
    Option         "SLI" "Off"
    Option         "MultiGPU" "Off"
    Option         "BaseMosaic" "off"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Device1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "Stereo" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "HDMI-0: 1920x1080 +0+0"
    Option         "SLI" "Off"
    Option         "MultiGPU" "Off"
    Option         "BaseMosaic" "off"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42581
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MALDATA,

That all looks good,
Code:
[    23.862] (II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "VGA-0:1440x900+0+0"
...
[    23.943] (II) NVIDIA(1): Setting mode "HDMI-0:1920x1080+0+0"
which is what you asked for.

Further down the log is
Code:
[    30.410] (II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "VGA-0: nvidia-auto-select @1360x768 +0+0 {ViewPortIn=1360x768, ViewPortOut=1360x768+0+0}"
...
[   164.445] (II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "DPY-1:1440x900+0+0"

What is the 100 second gap all about?

It looks like Xorg is ok but something is changing the resolution settings of both displays.

From the top of the log
Code:
[    19.835] (==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Tue Dec 17 19:42:32 2013
[    19.958] (==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
[    19.958] (==) Using system config directory "/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d"

Do you have some junk in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/ that conflicts with /etc/X11/xorg.conf ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MALDATA
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 1:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
What is the 100 second gap all about?


I think that's the time it took me to log in and manually change the resolution to 1440x900. At 23 seconds, it looks like X sets the resolution correctly to 1440x900, then at 30 seconds, there's that nvidia-auto-select business that sets it (incorrectly) to 1360x768. Then at 164 seconds, that's probably when I opened the nvidia-settings tool to set it to 1440x900 again.

Quote:
Do you have some junk in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/ that conflicts with /etc/X11/xorg.conf ?


Nope, I don't have an /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d, and the only thing in /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d is an evdev config file.

Any ideas? Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jburns
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 1031
Location: Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 5:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The file /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/95-nvidia-settings runs the command /opt/bin/nvidia-settings --load-config-only which may be changing the resolution. You could try executing the command to see if it changes the displays resolution.

You should also check the ~/.nvidia-settings-rc file to see if it contains display resolution information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MALDATA
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 3:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for the delay... I was out of town a lot around the holidays.

Code:
/opt/bin/nvidia-settings --load-config-only
doesn't do anything at all.

~/.nvidia-settings-rc contains no resolution information that I can see. It's below.

Still not sure about the nvidia-auto-select thing. Could that be the issue? If you have any other ideas, please let me know. Thanks!

Code:

# ConfigProperties:

RcFileLocale = C
ToolTips = Yes
DisplayStatusBar = Yes
SliderTextEntries = Yes
IncludeDisplayNameInConfigFile = No
ShowQuitDialog = Yes
UpdateRulesOnProfileNameChange = Yes
Timer = Memory_Used_(GPU_0),Yes,3000
Timer = Thermal_Monitor_(GPU_0),Yes,1000
Timer = PowerMizer_Monitor_(GPU_0),Yes,1000

# Attributes:

0/SyncToVBlank=1
0/LogAniso=0
0/FSAA=0
0/TextureSharpen=0
0/TextureClamping=1
0/FXAA=0
0/AllowFlipping=1
0/FSAAAppControlled=1
0/LogAnisoAppControlled=1
0/OpenGLImageSettings=1
0/FSAAAppEnhanced=0
0/XVideoSyncToDisplayID=VGA-0
1/SyncToVBlank=1
1/LogAniso=0
1/FSAA=0
1/TextureSharpen=0
1/TextureClamping=1
1/FXAA=0
1/AllowFlipping=1
1/FSAAAppControlled=1
1/LogAnisoAppControlled=1
1/OpenGLImageSettings=1
1/FSAAAppEnhanced=0
1/XVideoSyncToDisplayID=HDMI-0
[DPY:DVI-I-0]/Dithering=0
[DPY:DVI-I-0]/DitheringMode=0
[DPY:DVI-I-0]/DitheringDepth=0
[DPY:DVI-I-0]/SynchronousPaletteUpdates=0
[DPY:VGA-0]/RedBrightness=0.000000
[DPY:VGA-0]/GreenBrightness=0.000000
[DPY:VGA-0]/BlueBrightness=0.000000
[DPY:VGA-0]/RedContrast=0.000000
[DPY:VGA-0]/GreenContrast=0.000000
[DPY:VGA-0]/BlueContrast=0.000000
[DPY:VGA-0]/RedGamma=1.000000
[DPY:VGA-0]/GreenGamma=1.000000
[DPY:VGA-0]/BlueGamma=1.000000
[DPY:VGA-0]/Dithering=0
[DPY:VGA-0]/DitheringMode=0
[DPY:VGA-0]/DitheringDepth=0
[DPY:VGA-0]/DigitalVibrance=0
[DPY:VGA-0]/SynchronousPaletteUpdates=0
[DPY:DVI-I-1]/Dithering=0
[DPY:DVI-I-1]/DitheringMode=0
[DPY:DVI-I-1]/DitheringDepth=0
[DPY:DVI-I-1]/SynchronousPaletteUpdates=0
[DPY:HDMI-0]/RedBrightness=0.000000
[DPY:HDMI-0]/GreenBrightness=0.000000
[DPY:HDMI-0]/BlueBrightness=0.000000
[DPY:HDMI-0]/RedContrast=0.000000
[DPY:HDMI-0]/GreenContrast=0.000000
[DPY:HDMI-0]/BlueContrast=0.000000
[DPY:HDMI-0]/RedGamma=1.000000
[DPY:HDMI-0]/GreenGamma=1.000000
[DPY:HDMI-0]/BlueGamma=1.000000
[DPY:HDMI-0]/Dithering=0
[DPY:HDMI-0]/DitheringMode=0
[DPY:HDMI-0]/DitheringDepth=0
[DPY:HDMI-0]/DigitalVibrance=0
[DPY:HDMI-0]/ColorSpace=0
[DPY:HDMI-0]/ColorRange=0
[DPY:HDMI-0]/SynchronousPaletteUpdates=0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MALDATA
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After more than 2 years, I finally figured this out.

It turns out that gnome-settings-daemon overrides xorg.conf. When I log into gnome, it uses the settings from that instead of xorg.conf. The nvidia-settings utility allows me to change it while I'm logged in, but the settings don't persist after logging out. If I go into the Gnome Settings -> Display menu, I can change the screen resolutions and positions and it saves that to ~/.config/monitors.xml. Those settings do correctly persist after a logout or reboot.

I hate that behavior. My understanding is that it can be disabled with dconf-editor, but I couldn't find the right setting. I'll mark this as solved and post that in another thread.

If you see this behavior on your machine, I think the takeaway message here is that xorg.conf CAN be overridden by gnome (or possibly other desktop environments).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum