Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
problems with wpa_supplicant.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mreff555
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2011
Posts: 231
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 17, 2013 11:31 pm    Post subject: problems with wpa_supplicant. Reply with quote

Reinstalling gentoo again and I'm having the same problem I always do. I have an Intel Untimate N 5300 wireless card. After installing the drivers and following the tutorial on the gentoo wpa_supplicant page, I reboot to find wlp4s0 up and not connected. I try to manually start net.wlp4s0, No [FAILED]error messages but at the end it tells me that wpa_supplicant is inactive. If I start wpa_supplicant myself like this everything works.
Code:

wpa_supplicant -Dnl80211 -iwlp4s0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf


In the past I have put a band-aid on it and modified /etc/init.d/wpa_supplicant and added that to the default runlevel instead. This time I would like to do it the right way but I'm running out of patience. Is there anything I may be missing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
druggo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 289
Location: Hangzhou, China

PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 5:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

paste the result:
Code:
cat /etc/conf.d/net

_________________
HighWayToHell(blog)
http://blog.druggo.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mreff555
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2011
Posts: 231
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

/etc/conf.d/net

Code:

modules_wlp4s0="wpa_supplicant"
wpa_supplicant_wlp4s0="-Dnl80211"
config_wpl4s0="dhcp"
config_enp5s0="dhcp"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mreff555
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2011
Posts: 231
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 3:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

figured it out. I feel dumb.
I had everything configured correctly but somehow I had removed net.lo from the default runlevel. I have no idea why I would have done that.
Oh well
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dataking
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 5:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mreff555 wrote:
figured it out. I feel dumb.
I had everything configured correctly but somehow I had removed net.lo from the default runlevel. I have no idea why I would have done that.
Oh well

I think wicd makes that recommendation if you have played around with that at all. One of the two does anyway.
_________________
-= the D@7@k|n& =-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mreff555
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2011
Posts: 231
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Evntually I'll probably install wicd. Right now I'm trying to keep it as simple as possible until I decide which way I want to go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dataking
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 4:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mreff555 wrote:
Evntually I'll probably install wicd. Right now I'm trying to keep it as simple as possible until I decide which way I want to go.


Wicd was way simpler for me. Wpa_supplicant had all these config files, etc (granted I had 2 wifi NICs at the time -- one still requires wpa_supplicant)....

I just emerged wicd and the wicd KDE widget, rebooted and it worked. (Of course I had all the appropriate firmware and kernel mods install from dealing with wpa_supplicant.) Still, on the surface, wicd seemed way easier.
_________________
-= the D@7@k|n& =-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
patrix_neo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Posts: 515
Location: The Maldives

PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mreff555 wrote:
Evntually I'll probably install wicd. Right now I'm trying to keep it as simple as possible until I decide which way I want to go.


Why not put a [SOLVED] in your thread headline?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum