Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can I use a switch on both ends?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
grant123
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 980

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 2:37 am    Post subject: Can I use a switch on both ends? Reply with quote

I use a Gentoo system as the router on a wired LAN. I'd like to connect some machines to the LAN that are in the same vicinity as the router and also some other machines that are not in the same vicinity. Ideally I would only run a single ethernet cable between the two locations. Can I use one switch in each location with a single ethernet cable running between them to accomplish this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1248
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes.

id set a switch on the other end of the gentoo router... then a switch on a long run of wire for elsewhere. 1 patch cable

cross over or straight through i couldnt tell you, im helpless with out packet tracer.

http://www.techexams.net/forums/ccna-ccent/40448-switch-switch-crossover.html <--- says cross over... my gut says crossover cable required for switch to switch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gotyaoi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2013
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, you'll want a crossover cable to connect the two switches. Some switches these days are smart enough to connect to each other even with a straight-through, but a crossover should always work. Just make sure the distance is less than 100 meters, or you're going to need a repeater or something in between.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
py-ro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Sep 2002
Posts: 1733
Location: St. Wendel

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You almost need never Cross Over Cable with Switches (produced in the last 10 years). If one of them is GBit, you realy don't have to care.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maitreya
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 407

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

py-ro wrote:
You almost need never Cross Over Cable with Switches (produced in the last 10 years). If one of them is GBit, you realy don't have to care.


This!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mad Merlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 1155

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Port auto-sensing is an optional part of the Gigabit standard, but in practice, is implemented on virtually all hardware. I personally haven't encountered any Gigabit hardware that doesn't support auto-sensing, I'd say you're fine with a straight-through cable.
_________________
Game! - Where the stick is mightier than the sword!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Carnildo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 591

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gotyaoi wrote:
Yeah, you'll want a crossover cable to connect the two switches. Some switches these days are smart enough to connect to each other even with a straight-through, but a crossover should always work. Just make sure the distance is less than 100 meters, or you're going to need a repeater or something in between.

Most switches produced in the past 20 years have either an uplink port, a port with an uplink switch, or autouplink detection, any of which will let you connect a pair of switches with a straight-through cable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grant123
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 980

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you so much everyone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum