Python versions and eselect
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
paradigm-X
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm    Post subject: Python versions and eselect Reply with quote

I am not a programmer, and I can't say I understand much about why I need two versions of Python on my Gentoo OS, but I can live with it if need be. Even so, I am puzzled about something that has come up in connection with the version and portage. When I do this:

eselect python list

I see this:

Available Python Interpreters
python 2.7
python 3.2
python 3.3 *

So, I believe that I have the last one selected as my preferred interpreter. Nevertheless, I do have both python 2.7 and python 3.3 installed, as I can see when I do this: eix python. All this duplication leads me to wonder what I should do in the case of building Qemu because I can see among the many USE flags available to portage with it is both of these:

"python" Add optional support/bindings for the Python language
"python_targets_python2.7" Build with Python 2.7

As it is right now, I have Qemu built with a USE flag for the latter of these two only. Lacking the first one as a USE flag, am I missing some sort of functionality, which I may need and presume to be enabled? Should I re-emerge Qemu with both of these flags, among the others I used with it already?
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

While applications are gradually updated from python2 to python3 (which will take years in some cases), users are likely to need both python3 and python2.

Take a look at the various actions and options for a given eselect module by simply typing 'eselect <modulename>'. In the case of eselect python, you see:
Code:
 ~ # eselect python
Usage: eselect python <action> <options>

Standard actions: