Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Wirless problems
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Facu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Nov 2013
Posts: 47
Location: Localhost

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 6:43 am    Post subject: [Solved] Wirless problems Reply with quote

Hi all. I'm having problems to get wirless. I tried using wicd, wicd-ncruses, NetworkManager, wpa_supplicant, and none works... :S

The wifi was working but just when I used an AP without password. So this discards problems with controllers. And now, even without password I cant get it works.

I try to connect using this commands:

Code:

wpa_passphrase essid key > /var/tmp/wiconn
wpa_supplicant -B -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/var/tmp/wiconn
dhcpcd wlan0


Everything works fine until dhcpcd. This give me:

[/code]
dhcpcd[4439]: version 5.6.4 starting
dhcpcd[4439]: all: configured as a router, not a host
dhcpcd[4439]: wlan0: waiting for carrier
dhcpcd[4439]: timed out
dhcpcd[4439]: allowing 8 seconds for IPv4LL timeout
dhcpcd[4439]: timed out
[/code]

My ifconfig -a
Code:

eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 576
        inet 192.168.0.6  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 255.255.255.255
        ether e0:69:95:e0:bc:e5  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 3929  bytes 1345326 (1.2 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 4011  bytes 868535 (848.1 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 3  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0I tried run:
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 60  bytes 4424 (4.3 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 60  bytes 4424 (4.3 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlan0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether e0:91:53:4e:84:1b  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 23  bytes 1540 (1.5 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0


Using wicd, or networkmanager. no works, and no message error but this does not connect.

I tried run:
dhcpcd -k wlan0
and
dhcpcd -k eth0

before run dhcpcd wlan0. And it not works.

Sorry if I have errors writing. I speak spanish. I hope somebody please can help me.

Bytes! ;)


Last edited by Facu on Wed Dec 04, 2013 4:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BradN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 2391
Location: Wisconsin (USA)

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
And now, even without password I cant get it works.


This makes me suspect something has changed, if what was working before doesn't work now.

Does dmesg say anything about missing firmware? In fact, are any messages showing up there when you try to connect?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Facu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Nov 2013
Posts: 47
Location: Localhost

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, but i dont know what I change :S Anyway, before just works without password, and I need to get work with wpa.

I saw the dmesg like you suggest, and this is the only I found:

See in my dmesg:
Quote:

[165962.451635] wlan0: authenticate with b0:48:7a:af:cf:ca
[165962.467385] wlan0: send auth to b0:48:7a:af:cf:ca (try 1/3)
[165962.469819] wlan0: authenticated
[165962.470595] wlan0: associate with b0:48:7a:af:cf:ca (try 1/3)
[165962.473471] wlan0: RX AssocResp from b0:48:7a:af:cf:ca (capab=0x421 status=0 aid=2)
[165962.473669] wlan0: associated


Here is the dmesg complete.
http://bpaste.net/show/154810/

I need to remark that just now, I have NetworkManager, wicd and wpa_supplicant installed at the same time. This can get problems?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Facu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Nov 2013
Posts: 47
Location: Localhost

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Somebody have an idea? :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Facu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Nov 2013
Posts: 47
Location: Localhost

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fixed! :)

I only added "wifi" to my variable USE in /etc/portage/make.conf
And of course, after that:
emerge --sync
emerge --update --deep --newuse world

Bytes! ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum