Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
xfce4 doesn't "restart"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Fred Krogh
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 776
Location: Tujunga, CA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 5:31 pm    Post subject: xfce4 doesn't "restart" Reply with quote

Addressing this question is https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-905296-start-0.html?sid=44edd0b6e9758992a60d9a4ab85f6aa2, but although the title says SOLVED, there is no clear solution to be found there. I found this output from "upower -d" there
Quote:
Daemon:
daemon-version: 0.9.12
can-suspend: yes
can-hibernate yes
on-battery: no
on-low-battery: no
lid-is-closed: no
lid-is-present: yes
is-docked: no

I get this
Quote:
daemon-version: 0.9.23
on-battery: no
on-low-battery: no
lid-is-closed: no
lid-is-present: no
is-docked: no

Might this be a sign of my problem? At this point I seem to be lost due to all the different ways that these things might be done. I'm using slim to get started, but anything that works with xfce4 would be nice. Thanks,
Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trismo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2012
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

check kernel config consolekit need AUDIT
Quote:
CONFIG_AUDIT=y
CONFIG_AUDITSYSCALL=y
CONFIG_AUDIT_WATCH=y
CONFIG_AUDIT_TREE=y
# CONFIG_AUDIT_LOGINUID_IMMUTABLE is not set


EDIT2 if not desktop profile selected

package.use
# Required by udev helpers like udisks and upower
sys-apps/systemd gudev introspection keymap
sys-fs/eudev gudev hwdb introspection keymap
>=sys-fs/udev-171 gudev hwdb introspection keymap
>=virtual/udev-171 gudev hwdb introspection keymap


Last edited by trismo on Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:57 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred Krogh
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 776
Location: Tujunga, CA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply. Kernel configurations are what you recommended. I'm sorry, but I don't really understand the rest of your post. I probably have a desktop profile selected, but don't know this for sure. How does one find/set this? At one time I thought I might try using systemd. Now I have neither eudev or udev installed. When I try to install them I get
Quote:
[ebuild N ] sys-fs/eudev-1.3 USE="gudev hwdb introspection keymap modutils openrc rule-generator -doc -kmod (-selinux) -static-libs {-test}" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)"
[ebuild R ] virtual/udev-206-r3
[blocks B ] sys-apps/systemd ("sys-apps/systemd" is blocking sys-fs/eudev-1.3)

* Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be
* installed at the same time on the same system.

(sys-apps/systemd-208-r2::gentoo, installed) pulled in by
sys-apps/systemd required by @selected

(sys-fs/eudev-1.3::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
>=sys-fs/eudev-1.2-r1[abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,abi_x86_x32(-)?,abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o32(-)?,keymap,modutils,gudev?,hwdb,introspection?,selinux?,static-libs?] (>=sys-fs/eudev-1.2-r1[abi_x86_64(-),keymap,modutils,gudev,hwdb,introspection]) required by (virtual/udev-206-r3::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
eudev

I'm guessing I need to unmerge systemd, and then emerge udev and eudev. Could you please confirm this.
Many thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trismo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2012
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it just a info dont install it manual
the desktop profile add this to package.use automatically on
default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop

upower/udisks need udev for work with this use flags
udev it provided by
systemd / udev /eudev
check your profile with * is active

Code:
#eselect profile list
  [1]   default/linux/amd64/13.0
  [2]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/selinux
  [3]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop*
  [4]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome
  [5]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome/systemd
  [6]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/kde
  [7]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/kde/systemd
  [8]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/developer
  [9]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/no-multilib
  [10]  default/linux/amd64/13.0/x32
  [11]  hardened/linux/amd64
  [12]  hardened/linux/amd64/selinux
  [13]  hardened/linux/amd64/no-multilib
  [14]  hardened/linux/amd64/no-multilib/selinux
  [15]  hardened/linux/amd64/x32
  [16]  hardened/linux/uclibc/amd64


systemd = all ine one init system provided many think inc, udev read https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Systemd
udev = systemd but only the udev part
eudev = fork form gentoo devs without systemd stuff

Sorry my enlish is bad hope you understand it now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred Krogh
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 776
Location: Tujunga, CA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used eselect profile to select
Quote:
[3] default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop *
an emerge -DNauv --keep-going y world, then updates lots of packages. I thought after this xfce4 would probably restart properly. No such luck. It did change the appearance of the login screen, which clicking on restart takes me to. So what am I missing? Thanks,
Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trismo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2012
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mm .. still a problem

post emerge --info and kernel .config
try with no xdm*

Code:
$ echo "XSESSION=Xfce4" > /etc/env.d/90xsession
$ startx 2> ~/.xsession-error
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred Krogh
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 776
Location: Tujunga, CA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/etc/env.d/90xsession already contains what you suggested. If I boot with runlevel 1, and startx as my usual user the restart works, although I'd prefer it not ask for a password. That I supposed could be changed.
My emerge --info
Quote:
Portage 2.2.7 (default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop, gcc-4.7.3, glibc-2.17, 3.12.0-gentoo x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-3.12.0-gentoo-x86_64-Intel-R-_Core-TM-_i7-2600_CPU_@_3.40GHz-with-gentoo-2.2
KiB Mem: 8165080 total, 4794964 free
KiB Swap: 4194300 total, 4194300 free
Timestamp of tree: Wed, 13 Nov 2013 21:00:01 +0000
ld GNU ld (GNU Binutils) 2.23.2
app-shells/bash: 4.2_p45
dev-java/java-config: 2.2.0
dev-lang/python: 2.7.5-r4, 3.2.5-r3, 3.3.2-r2
dev-util/cmake: 2.8.12.1-r1
dev-util/pkgconfig: 0.28
sys-apps/baselayout: 2.2
sys-apps/openrc: 0.12.4
sys-apps/sandbox: 2.6-r1
sys-devel/autoconf: 2.13, 2.69
sys-devel/automake: 1.10.3, 1.11.6, 1.12.6, 1.14
sys-devel/binutils: 2.23.2
sys-devel/gcc: 4.7.3-r1, 4.8.1-r1
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.8
sys-devel/libtool: 2.4.2
sys-devel/make: 3.82-r4
sys-kernel/linux-headers: 3.11 (virtual/os-headers)
sys-libs/glibc: 2.17
Repositories: gentoo x-portage
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64 ~amd64"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="*"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=native -pipe"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/share/gnupg/qualified.txt /var/lib/hsqldb"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/dconf /etc/env.d /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/gentoo-release /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/sandbox.d /etc/terminfo /etc/texmf/language.dat.d /etc/texmf/language.def.d /etc/texmf/updmap.d /etc/texmf/web2c"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -march=native -pipe"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS="--autounmask=n"
FCFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
FEATURES="assume-digests binpkg-logs config-protect-if-modified distlocks ebuild-locks fixlafiles merge-sync news parallel-fetch preserve-libs protect-owned sfperms splitdebug strict unknown-features-warn unmerge-logs unmerge-orphans userpriv usersandbox usersync"
FFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://gentoo.osuosl.org http://ftp.ucsb.edu/pub/mirrors/linux/gentoo http://cudlug.cudenver.edu/gentoo http://gentoo.binarycompass.org"
LANG="en_US.utf8"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed"
MAKEOPTS="-j4"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT="/"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS=" --exclude=/.unionfs --exclude=.fuse_hidden*"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --omit-dir-times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --human-readable --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="64bit X a52 aac acl acpi ads alsa amd64 apache2 apng auctex bash-completion bcmath berkdb bluetooth branding bzip2 cairo caps caps-ng cdda cdr cdrom clamav clamd cli clisp colordiff consolekit cracklib crypt cups cxx dbus dconf debugger device-mapper dri dts dvd dvdr dvdread emacs emboss emul-linux86 encode exif fam fastcgi ffmpeg flac fontconfig fortran ftpuf g3dvl games gdbm gdu gif gnome gpm graphite gstreamer gtk gudev hwdb iconv icu introspection ipod ipv6 java javascript jpeg keymap kpathsea latex latin1 lcms ldap libclamav libnotify libwww logrotate mad mbox mmx mmxext mng modules mono motif mouse mp3 mp4 mpeg mudflap multilib mysql nat ncurses network-cron nls nptl nsplugin nvidia ogg opengl openmp openrc pam pango pcre pdf png policykit pop pop3d ppds preview-latex pulseaudio python qt3support qt4 readline regex rpc samba sdl session smbclient sockets sound spamassassin spell sqlite sse sse2 ssl startup-notification sudoku svg symlink systemd tcpd theora threads thunderbird tiff truetype udev udisks unicode upcall upower usb vdpau vhosts vorbis webkit winbind wxwidgets x264 xcb xcomposite xml xulrunner xv xvid zlib" ABI_X86="64" ALSA_CARDS="ali5451 als4000 atiixp atiixp-modem bt87x ca0106 cmipci emu10k1x ens1370 ens1371 es1938 es1968 fm801 hda-intel intel8x0 intel8x0m maestro3 trident usb-audio via82xx via82xx-modem ymfpci" APACHE2_MODULES="actions alias auth_basic auth_digest authn_anon authn_dbd authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache dav dav_fs dav_lock dbd deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter fcgid file_cache filter headers hwdb ident imagemap include info log_config logio macro mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation proxy proxy_ajp proxy_balancer proxy_connect proxy_http python rewrite setenvif so speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" CALLIGRA_FEATURES="kexi words flow plan sheets stage tables krita karbon braindump author" CAMERAS="ptp2" COLLECTD_PLUGINS="df interface irq load memory rrdtool swap syslog" ELIBC="glibc" GPSD_PROTOCOLS="ashtech aivdm earthmate evermore fv18 garmin garmintxt gpsclock itrax mtk3301 nmea ntrip navcom oceanserver oldstyle oncore rtcm104v2 rtcm104v3 sirf superstar2 timing tsip tripmate tnt ubx" GRUB_PLATFORMS="pc" INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse evdev" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" LIBREOFFICE_EXTENSIONS="presenter-console presenter-minimizer" LINGUAS="en en_US" OFFICE_IMPLEMENTATION="libreoffice" PHP_TARGETS="php5-5" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python2_7" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_2" RUBY_TARGETS="ruby19 ruby18" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia" XTABLES_ADDONS="quota2 psd pknock lscan length2 ipv4options ipset ipp2p iface geoip fuzzy condition tee tarpit sysrq steal rawnat logmark ipmark dhcpmac delude chaos account"
Unset: CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, INSTALL_MASK, LC_ALL, PORTAGE_BUNZIP2_COMMAND, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, USE_PYTHON
I'll post .config if you still want it. If so should I grep -v "#" .config to get rid of the comments. Thanks for help with this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trismo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2012
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok startx works then is a the problem on grapical login manger.

try out x11-misc/slim easy to setup look http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/SLiM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred Krogh
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 776
Location: Tujunga, CA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is that I'm using slim and have been for a long time. Looking at the configuration files has not helped me in finding why the restart button, just does a log out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trismo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2012
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what you use now, i think is still a consolekit problem

openrc with consolekit or systemd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred Krogh
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 776
Location: Tujunga, CA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure what you meant in this last post. I am using consolekit and not systemd. I tried starting with systemd at one point and had nothing but grief. So I think you are saying that my problem is the fault of consolekit. So am I stuck at this point, or is there some possible solution? Many thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trismo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2012
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

slim don't start your xfce session correct that all
try downgrade to x11-misc/slim-1.3.5-r4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred Krogh
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 776
Location: Tujunga, CA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just tried slim-1.3.5-r4. Still fails in the same way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trismo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2012
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

check your home user folder 2 files

.xsession
.xinitrc

remove them and try again to start the session
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred Krogh
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 776
Location: Tujunga, CA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried this, no change. ~/.xsession is XSESSION="Xfce4", and ~/.xinit is exec startxfce4, both before deleting and after restarting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lefsha
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 1012
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fred,

Honestly speaking my guess is, that the problem is "consolekit - is up and running"
Of course some might consider it useful, but I can't get the reason why.
But to be able reboot you system you probably need to allow those services in xfce config.

As of configuration to start xfce4, I use following:
as user:
Code:
ln -s /etc/X11/Sessions/Xfce4 ~/.xsession

That must let you enter xfce session.
_________________
Lefsha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred Krogh
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 776
Location: Tujunga, CA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lefsha, if nothing else you have left me a bit confused. But perhaps your comment will help reveal where the problem is. I have this
Quote:

~/.xsession contains XSESSION="Xfce4"
~/.xinitrc contains startxfce4
/etc/X11/Sessions/xfce4 contains startxfce4

I don't have proper permissions to put in the soft link that you suggested, but I tried replacing the contents of /etc/X11/Sessiona/xfce4 with what I have in ~/.xsession. That of course did not work. It might be helpful to know what you have in your ~/.xsession and ~/.xinitrc. Also do your permissions allow non-root users to change /etc/X11/Sessions/Xfce4? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lefsha
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 1012
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 4:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. I see absolutely no reason why you can't make a soft link. That file is open for read and run for any user.
So you should be able to make it. What happens if you do this? Of course ~/.xsession must not exist before
you do this.

2. As long as all installations are the same I have exactly the same string in /etc/X11/Sessions/Xfce4 : startxfce4

3. I don't have a file ~/.xinitrc, because of no need.

Now my suggestion is delete ALL files you have changed so far, including existing in your home directory .xinitrc and
.xsession. In /etc folder delete: /etc/X11/Sessions/Xfce4 and /etc/slim.conf
If you were playing around even more - delete /etc/X11 completely.

Now reemerge everything related to xorg and to xfce4 - if you have kept binary packages after first compilation, which
I would always suggest - it will take few minutes for everything. It will recreate all possibly corrupted config files.
After that run etc-update and accept all changes no matter what. It will be default setting, but it's easier to start with.

Now edit /etc/conf.d/xdm and exchange xdm with slim.
Then make a soft link as I said. That MUST be enough to run slim and call xfce4 out of it.

No else configurations are necessary.
_________________
Lefsha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred Krogh
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 776
Location: Tujunga, CA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 6:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I really appreciate your efforts in describing all that should be done. I've tried doing what you have suggested, (except for deleting all of /etc/X11), but no luck. I was confused about the soft link before, it works just like you said. I no longer have an .xinitrc in ~, and the soft link is as you suggested. But restart still just logs out, and more importantly , there is no memory of all my terminal windows. There was time when logging out (or restarting) would remember all my terminal windows in 4 work spaces, and also the directories active in the windows at the time I logged out. Those were the good days! Clearly I have something messed up, but I'm unclear where to look next. At this point I guess I'm ready to accept this sorry state of affairs. Maybe go back to Gnome or try KDE?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred Krogh
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 776
Location: Tujunga, CA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just noticed this error message in an xfce4 terminal window:
Quote:
(xfce4-terminal:1118): GLib-WARNING **: (/var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/glib-2.36.4-r1/work/glib-2.36.4/glib/gerror.c:390):g_error_new_valist: runtime check failed: (domain != 0)
Failed to connect to session manager: Failed to connect to the session manager: SESSION_MANAGER environment variable not defined
Not sure what was responsible for this, but am left wondering if the SESSION_MANAGER environment variable should be set, and if so how to set it on boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lefsha
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 1012
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 3:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see your problem. It's very frustrating as far as I can see. Have always the same feeling if something is not working
as I wish or as it should.

Well, my installation differs from yours because I don't have those *kit staff.
I hate things on my PC which are there just to be there and which are doing really nothing.

Well, besides they set some restrictions for your laptop use.

If you want I can provide you my complete settings and you can try them out in a virtual machine first.
If those works you can use them, if not you can always switch to anything else.

It's not the right place in that forum, but honestly speaking if you have nothing against systemD as I do,
I would really suggest you to switch to ArchLinux.

Much better documentation, more friendly forum and things working out of box.
No compile time and the fastest Linux installation among almost all distros here around.

Hope you will read it before I will be banned, for that statement here. ;))

P.S. Just one problem Arch installation is a bit of hassle. They did broke something.
But ArchBang works really well.

P.P.S. If you try further with Gentoo keep a lot of patience with you and don't move out
of standard configs or be ready to solve any problem by yourself.
If nothing else works make a fresh install step by step adding functionality.
And be your own tester if you add some.

Recently I managed to break the USB drive functionality in very funny way - everything works,
but it's dying as soon as I copy files to it.

Solved it by making a new kernel from scratch. And now want to discover which kernel config option
does this thing.

Just want to mention, that you are not the first one with all these troubles.

Ufff.
_________________
Lefsha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred Krogh
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 776
Location: Tujunga, CA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Lefsha for your thoughts. Generally, I have been happy with Gentoo, and a good part of the reason is that I find people who respond on the forums here to be very polite and very helpful. I have given systemd a try with gentoo, and for me gentoo's systemd is not even close to being ready for real use. Maybe at some point I'll give Arch a try, but I don't have the time at the moment to play with something like this. For now, I'll just hope that as I do updates, at some point slim will start saving the stuff in my various windows when I do a restart. And, I don't think there is any chance of you being banned for suggesting other Linux versions. I've seen a fair number of posts here by people who were very unhappy with gentoo. On balance, I'm one of the happy ones.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kingcrabmeat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This problem seems to pop up quite a bit on the forums. I've solved it times only to have to solve it again later. I'm not sure if XFCE is cursed by the issue or lots of Gentoo users prefer XFCE hence the wealth of related topics. In case you haven't already, try what worked for me in the past.

This worked for me the first time:
Code:
emerge -1 dbus dbus-glib


This is probably a no-brainer but, assuming you use consolekit (I'm not sure if it's a part of systemd), make sure the consolekit use flag is enabled for slim.

The second time I had to switch from lightdm to slim and it made all the difference needed. You might try the opposite, switching to lightdm, to see if anything changes in your case. I hope you solve your problem in case it ever returns to haunt me again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred Krogh
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 776
Location: Tujunga, CA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, but that didn't work. Consolekit has been in my use flags for some time. I'll give lightdm a try when I have a little time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred Krogh
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 776
Location: Tujunga, CA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I gave lightdm a quick try. I may be unfair given the brief effort, but I don't like it. I have a taskbar with slim that lets me have quick access to the things I use frequently, including monitors of network use, and cpu. It also shows what I have open in the current workspace and quick access to different workspaces. I guess I really like slim despite the problems I'm having with it. If all this can be done with lightdm and it will preserve the various windows I have open in different workspaces, I'll give it another try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum