Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
sky2 still broken
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
venus_to_mars
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Sep 2004
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 6:46 pm    Post subject: sky2 still broken Reply with quote

I am experiencing a problem with my Marvell 88E8036 GbE card. During heavy load, the internet cuts off, and the only way I've found to fix it is to rmmod the sky2 module and then modprobe it again. I have read that this was supposed to be fixed with the 2.6.16 kernel, but I am using gentoo-sources-2.6.17-r4 and no luck.

Anyone have any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allex87
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 154
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have had the same problem with 2.6.17 and IIRC 2.6.18rc... That was on my laptop running I think Fedora at the time. My only solution unfortunately was to install the binary driver provided by syskonnect (the sk98lin one). At least it works under heavy load until the bugs in the kernel driver are ironed out.

Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
venus_to_mars
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Sep 2004
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I modprobe sk98lin (module from the kernel) it doesn't let me bring eth0 up. Does the binary version work for more cards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phatscum
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Mar 2006
Posts: 34
Location: Down the sewers

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sky2 is supposedly fixed in 2.6.18, but it didn't work for me.

I have to 'modprobe -r sky2 && modrpobe sky2' a couple times every day..

Edit: been stable with 2.6.17-gentoo-r5
_________________
Computer games don't affect kids, I mean, if pacman affected us as kids we'd all run around in a darkened room munching pills and listening to repetitive music.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zxy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: in bed in front of the computer

PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sky2 sucks. I use 2.6.18-r4 kernel, but it is still broken. Sky2 turned my card into a 9.6k modem. :roll:

Skge does not work, sk98lin neither.

@phatscum: What do you mean with "been stable", does this mean that it works with gentoo-sources 2.6.17-r5.
Strange that it doesen't work with 2.6.18-r4 then.
_________________
Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.
Lao Tzu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phatscum
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Mar 2006
Posts: 34
Location: Down the sewers

PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zxy wrote:
Sky2 sucks. I use 2.6.18-r4 kernel, but it is still broken. Sky2 turned my card into a 9.6k modem. :roll:

Skge does not work, sk98lin neither.

@phatscum: What do you mean with "been stable", does this mean that it works with gentoo-sources 2.6.17-r5.
Strange that it doesen't work with 2.6.18-r4 then.


I meant that it's been stable for me with 2.6.17-r5. I have no idea why.
It was unstable for me on all other versions. Kinda weird. I don't know the diffs between 2.6.17-r4 and r5.
Maybe it's been patched.
_________________
Computer games don't affect kids, I mean, if pacman affected us as kids we'd all run around in a darkened room munching pills and listening to repetitive music.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zxy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: in bed in front of the computer

PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get opera to freeze when i want to login to forums.gentoo.org (opera reloads pages in the background - that is why,maybe). Driver breaks down non-stop.
_________________
Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.
Lao Tzu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phatscum
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Mar 2006
Posts: 34
Location: Down the sewers

PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Err.. it still breaks down on me under heavy continuous load. I just haven't been downloading lately so that's why it has been "stable" for me, heh.
_________________
Computer games don't affect kids, I mean, if pacman affected us as kids we'd all run around in a darkened room munching pills and listening to repetitive music.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5610
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you tried to compile it into the kernel ?

I'm using mm-sources 2.6.18-rc4-mm2

it works pretty fine for me here both on x86 and amd64 :D

Code:
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 20)
04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 20)


Quote:
sky2 v1.6 addr 0xebdfc000 irq 18 Yukon-EC (0xb6) rev 2
sky2 eth0: addr 00:17:31:e8:f3:53
sky2 v1.6 addr 0xebcfc000 irq 17 Yukon-EC (0xb6) rev 2
sky2 eth1: addr 00:17:31:ee:e4:18
tun: (C) 1999-2004 Max Krasnyansky <maxk@qualcomm.com>
sky2 eth0: enabling interface
sky2 eth0: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full duplex, flow control both

_________________
Unofficial minimal livecd x86/amd64 w/reiser4+truecrypt (by Neo2)
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xr31Daisy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2002
Posts: 326
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just tried 2.6.18-rc4 (but not mm), and I still get these :
Code:
sky2 eth0: rx error, status 0x5e90002 length 1513
printk: 22 messages suppressed.

during any kind of heavy transfer ...

That's on a Core 2 Duo, 64 bits ( amd64 )
_________________
#include "pictures.h"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
recall
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Dec 2005
Posts: 32
Location: Lithuania

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strange, but i am using sky2 with 2.6.17-gentoo-r4. And i have no problems since 2.6.14 or something
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5610
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@xr31Daisy:

which mainboard / network card do you have ? I think on my board it's an 8053 (p5w dh deluxe)
_________________
Unofficial minimal livecd x86/amd64 w/reiser4+truecrypt (by Neo2)
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xr31Daisy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2002
Posts: 326
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just like you mentionned: an Asus P5W DH Deluxe. With the 8053.
I'm using only the first network controller, and I've deactivated the second one in the Bios.

Also, with 2.6.16.19, any kind of monitoring crashed my network https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-488652-highlight-.html
I haven't relaunched gkrellm2 with the 2.6.18-rc4 kernel, I'll try that tonight.

I might try mm2 after all.
_________________
#include "pictures.h"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5610
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

probably the 8053 chipset is too new ?
it runs fine for me on 2.6.18-rc4-mm1 & mm2

if your are looking for a newer bios: (in German), 1305 is the newest, and runs fine here
_________________
Unofficial minimal livecd x86/amd64 w/reiser4+truecrypt (by Neo2)
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xr31Daisy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2002
Posts: 326
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I'm trying big copy through the network, on 2.6.18-rc4, with gkrellm2 running, it doesn't crash anymore.And the download rate is fine.
And the messages don't appear ... They might be only UT2004 related :twisted:
_________________
#include "pictures.h"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xr31Daisy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2002
Posts: 326
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The messages are still present, but the network works fine. Except for querying the UT2004 master server.
_________________
#include "pictures.h"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zxy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: in bed in front of the computer

PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have GigaByte motherboard with marvell and nvidia NICs.
To crash marvell (alone or in combination with the other card) try running amule and emerge --rsync at the same time. If amule is downloading a lot and you didn't sync for some time (there needs to be some transfer), it will crash. If not try some bittorent client with both of them. With me it crashes almost for sure.

I just tried to install original marvell drivers from the companies site, but I had no luck. Patched kernel wouldn't compile. I tried 2.6.17-beyond3, 2.6.18-rc4-viper1 and no-sources-2.6.18-rc4-no2. But on some other post a guy said that it worked for him with 2.6.16 kernel.
_________________
Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.
Lao Tzu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
funkmankey
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2003
Posts: 304
Location: CH

PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

same problem here, amd64 on an asus a8r4t, gentoo 2.6.17-r{1-7}. under network load (e.g. ktorrent) I get
Code:
NETDEV WATCHDOG: eth0: transmit timed out
sky2 eth0: tx timeout
sky2 eth0: transmit ring 24 .. 495 report=65 done=65
sky2 status report lost?
NETDEV WATCHDOG: eth0: transmit timed out
sky2 eth0: tx timeout
sky2 eth0: transmit ring 65 .. 24 report=65 done=65
sky2 hardware hung? flushing

over and over again, have to reload sky2 to bring network back up. sometimes it even locks up the machine.

from this bug
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=144662
I have tried
Code:
ethtool -A eth0 autoneg off rx on tx on

seems to be working so far (*crosses fingers*)

some people also recommended disabling msi when loading the module (have not tried that yet)

see also
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=6839#c12
_________________
I've got the brain, I'm insane, you can't stop the power
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zxy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: in bed in front of the computer

PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

funkmankey thanks for the ethtool ... command. I just set it. I hope it works. I'm using marvell for local net connection and nvidia (forcedeth) net card for internet access. I hope it won't crash, as much as it did, with the new settings.

The fact is, that if I emerge --sync'ed with the other computer through marvell it crashed and I had to repeat the sync many times. (Heh - I have rsync mirror-proxy on my gateway - so I dont put my troubles in hand of official gentoo servers) 8) - and it goes fasssst

If the ethtool thing works, I'm gonna put it to local.start.

---- EDIT ----
For now it's holding. It even survived emerge --sync.
_________________
Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.
Lao Tzu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fw146
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zxy wrote:

If the ethtool thing works, I'm gonna put it to local.start.

---- EDIT ----
For now it's holding. It even survived emerge --sync.

I'm glad that ethtool has been a successful work-around. Could you please try
Code:
ethtool -s eth0 speed 100 duplex half autoneg off
instead? As far as I know, if you turn off autoneg on one end of the link (laptop/computer), the other end switches itself to 100baseTx-HD, i.e. half duplex.

I would appreciate if other sky2-Marvell users can check their logs to see if they have
Code:
sky2 eth0: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full duplex, flow control both

or
Code:
sky2 eth0: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full duplex, flow control none

I have a hunch that if sky2 works for you, you will see flow control both , otherwise you will see
flow control none.
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zxy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: in bed in front of the computer

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the output from the dmesg
Code:

ethtool -s eth_lan speed 100 duplex half autoneg off 
dmesg   # <--- last line after a few seconds
sky2 eth_lan: Link is up at 100 Mbps, half duplex, flow control both

ethtool -s eth_lan speed 100 duplex full autoneg off 
dmesg   # <--- last line after a few seconds
sky2 eth_lan: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full duplex, flow control both

_________________
Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.
Lao Tzu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fw146
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zxy wrote:
Here is the output from the dmesg
Code:

ethtool -s eth_lan speed 100 duplex half autoneg off 
dmesg   # <--- last line after a few seconds
sky2 eth_lan: Link is up at 100 Mbps, half duplex, flow control both

ethtool -s eth_lan speed 100 duplex full autoneg off 
dmesg   # <--- last line after a few seconds
sky2 eth_lan: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full duplex, flow control both


OK. I should have posed my request differently. Could you please check the dmesg for similar messages before trying the work around?

FYI sk98lin seems to be working for me. This is the version 8.36.1.3, which I obtained from SysKonnect's download center To apply, I used the "generate patch mode". Hope it helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zxy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: in bed in front of the computer

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll post you dmesg. I cannot right now.
I tried sysconnect's driver patch, as you, but didn't work. I posted it here on the forums somhere. I tried 3 different kernels. 2.6.18 (no-sources, viper) and beyond3.
_________________
Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.
Lao Tzu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phatscum
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Mar 2006
Posts: 34
Location: Down the sewers

PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2.6.18-gentoo

Still broken :)

(Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 19))
_________________
Computer games don't affect kids, I mean, if pacman affected us as kids we'd all run around in a darkened room munching pills and listening to repetitive music.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
warer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2002
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its also broken in 2.6.18-rc6-mm2.

Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 22)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
Page 1 of 16

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum