Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[CLOSED] ext4 in write only mode
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
J.I.N.X.
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 3:37 am    Post subject: [CLOSED] ext4 in write only mode Reply with quote

OK, my comp says I have read write but when I do anything, (Like try to save a document.) it tells me it's write protected. I just got the system up so nothing is installed. Also it only dose this when I boot the system, but not with lives DCs/USBs.

Last edited by J.I.N.X. on Fri Nov 22, 2013 7:26 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tw04l124
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 1308
Location: A t z e l, lower austria

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, just a guess.

Check your /etc/fstab

Whats the output of #mount
Whats the output of #cat /etc/fstab

Are you root and try to write a file? If you are a user, you need to set special permissons to write on ext4 (more complicated). First you should be able to write as root. Than you can set permissons for user.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
J.I.N.X.
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://i.imgur.com/TLBiliih.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/4tQruF2h.jpg

And yes I did it as root. I'd need to be able to write to make a user account.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6253
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

boot the cd, run:
Code:
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/var/log/dmesg
post the url

boot the cd, run:
Code:
fsck /dev/sda3
fsck /dev/sda1
picture of the output of each command

boot the installed gentoo (hard drive), run
Code:
mount -o remount,rw /
if there is output, post picture
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
J.I.N.X.
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://bpaste.net/show/151553/

http://i.imgur.com/4bWj5lwh.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/V5RM1Jch.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
J.I.N.X.
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could this be the problem?

http://i.imgur.com/oqquKZuh.jpg

I met heard that's something I need for a 32bit kernel... But I don't want to touch it unless I find it the menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6253
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 2:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it won't hurt to enable it.
is under "enable the block layer" in menuconfig
you will need to boot cd, mount the gentoo partitions, and enter the chroot to reconfigure and recompile the kernel
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
J.I.N.X.
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I fond it about two minutes after making that post, it didn't do anything... All keep looking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
J.I.N.X.
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update: I recorded this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LEXb0tzQb9o&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Helpful?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6253
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

there is a line in red about boot filesystem that if googled gets much discussion of lbdaf as you already pointed out
I think you said you did reconfigure to enable CONFIG_LBDAF and recompiled - but just in case, boot the installed gentoo on the hard drive, run
Code:
grep -i CONFIG_LBDAF /usr/src/linux/.config
zgrep -i CONFIG_LBDAF /proc/config.gz
if the output of the first is CONFIG_LBDAF=y the configuration has it; if the output of thesecond is CONFIG_LBDAF=y the running kernel has it; as lbdaf is enabled in the pappy's kernel that was used for your kernel this should be an academic exercise; but if it is not enabled in the running kernel, you need it

run
Code:
nl /proc/mounts
does "rootfs / rootfs rw" and "/dev/sda3 / ext4 rw,noatime" appear?

Code:
ls -l /
does drwxr-xr-x root root appear in the lines that end in . and .. and for the other directories?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
J.I.N.X.
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh darn... I tock that back out last night.

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

I'll put it back when I get home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
J.I.N.X.
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Silly me, I did live it in. But before I get out of the menu could this have anything to do with it?

http://i.imgur.com/bRsMA2Ih.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
J.I.N.X.
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK... Nobody's responding... Adding:

Fermware blobs
CardBus IDE
Generic PCI IDE chip set
FireWire driver stack

I'll let you know of that helps.

I can do the commands after completion.

Update: Done. It didn't seem to make any difference.

Here's the output.

http://i.imgur.com/ePve1vFh.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/yB6OCpCh.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1122

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rootfs / is rw
/dev/sda3 / is ro

Means
/etc/init.d/root || /etc/fstab
is messy?

PS: CONFIG_LBDAF is needed with Terrabyte harddisk ....
PS2: /usr/src/linux/.config != /proc/config.gz (Can you boot with the new kernel?)
_________________
fun2gen2


Last edited by ulenrich on Fri Nov 22, 2013 1:00 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
J.I.N.X.
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 12:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ulenrich wrote:
rootfs / is rw
/dev/sda3 / is ro

Means
/etc/init.d/root || /etc/fstab
is messy?

What should I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1122

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 12:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

... you are too fast, I have edited two PS ...

- Write down your /etc/fstab / - root entry
- Is it /dev/sda3 for sure?
- Can you use localversion, just to be sure to boot a new kernel?
Code:
# zcat /proc/config.gz | grep LOCALVERSION
CONFIG_LOCALVERSION="-1001.bfiosprdo"
CONFIG_LOCALVERSION_AUTO=y

_________________
fun2gen2


Last edited by ulenrich on Fri Nov 22, 2013 1:03 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
J.I.N.X.
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ulenrich wrote:
... you are too fast, I have edited two PS ...

Writie down your /etc/fstab
/ - root entry
Is it /dev/sda3 for sure?

This?

http://i.imgur.com/ukLJi85h.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1122

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

... you are too fast: localversion - see above
Are you sure it is /dev/sda?
Is it an external drive?
Do you have more than one harddisk drive?
Are you sure, you have ext4 in kernel .config
Are you sure, you formated ext4 not ext2 ?
Are you using an initrd, dracut-or-genkernel?

I had a look at your above excerpts :
Code:

                         EXT4-fs (sda3): couldn't mount as ext3 due to feature incompatibilities
[    2.791316] EXT4-fs (sda3): couldn't mount as ext2 due to feature incompatibilities
[    2.842039] EXT4-fs (sda3): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)

_________________
fun2gen2


Last edited by ulenrich on Fri Nov 22, 2013 1:13 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
J.I.N.X.
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 1:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ulenrich wrote:
... you are too fast: localversion - see above
Are you sure it is /dev/sda?
Is it an external drive?
Do you have more than one harddisk drive?
Are you sure, you have ext4 in kernel .config
Are you sure, you formated ext4 not ext2 ?
Are you using an initrd, dracut-or-genkernel?

Let's see...

Thanks?
Yes.
No.
No.
Yes... It wouldn't boot without it silly.
Yes.
What?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1122

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

... you are too fast ... see above:
You didn't format the drive ext4
Or you don't have ext4 in kernel .config.
Or you once booted forcely in ext3 mode and all was messed up?

I am not sure, but something like that.
Or wrotten hardware? Another harddisk...

Probably a very silly error, you must look at it yourself:
try excluding all possible errors systematicaly!
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
J.I.N.X.
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now I see what you mean by to fast... Have you tried tabbed browsing?

Now... Let's go back and read.

http://i.imgur.com/ukLJi85h.jpg

As for the ext2 and 3 fails, I had the use ext4 for ext3 and ext2 drivers, but I tock them out.

I know the hard drive can work because I had it working befor.

Why do you keep clicking submit if you're just going to add more?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keet
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Sep 2008
Posts: 367

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you please post the relevant lines from grub.cfg, i.e., the ones for the boot option that you are choosing in GRUB?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
J.I.N.X.
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 5:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-f3f2a899-bf84-4bc8-a56b-f9a2b616c141' {
   load_video
   insmod gzio
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='hd0,msdos1'
   if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  5a5bfdbb-2cde-4d7b-b73a-c5d461d8ba17
   else
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 5a5bfdbb-2cde-4d7b-b73a-c5d461d8ba17
   fi
   echo   'Loading Linux 3.10.17-gentoo ...'
   linux   /vmlinuz-3.10.17-gentoo root=/dev/sda3 ro

Hu... That can't be write... Maybe:

Code:
### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-f3f2a899-bf84-4bc8-a56b-f9a2b616c141' {
   load_video
   insmod gzio
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext4
   set root='hd0,msdos1'
   if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  5a5bfdbb-2cde-4d7b-b73a-c5d461d8ba17
   else
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 5a5bfdbb-2cde-4d7b-b73a-c5d461d8ba17
   fi
   echo   'Loading Linux 3.10.17-gentoo ...'
   linux   /vmlinuz-3.10.17-gentoo root=/dev/sda3 rw

Or is that dumb?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keet
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Sep 2008
Posts: 367

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like you're not using and initramfs, so that simplifies things a bit. I would just take out the 'ro' altogether, and see how that works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 1238
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The "ro" is very important! With out that, the system can _NOT_ fsck the root device if anything went wrong!
The system will be remounted rw after boot stage.

J.I.N.X.: Please follow the guide at http://kernel-seeds.org/working.html that determines your hardware and which drivers to load. The whole story looks like a driver conflict to me.
_________________
I *do* know that I easily aggravate people due to my condensed writing. Rule of thumb: If I wrote anything that can be understood in two different ways, and one way offends you, then I meant the other! ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum