Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Unable to print from KDE applications
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mr. M
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 83
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:03 pm    Post subject: Unable to print from KDE applications Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm having some problems with printing at work. I was able to fix some problems and can now print from non-KDE applications, see here.. However, in KDE applications, non of the printers are listed; the only options are to print to PDF or PS.

Has anyone else had this problem after the recent cups update (1.6.X)?

Thanks,

Martin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bjlockie
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Oct 2002
Posts: 1186
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 3:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does your printer still show up in cups (http://localhost:631)?
If so, print a test page.
If not re add it.
_________________
AMD FX6100 CPU, 16 GiB RAM, OCZ Vertex 3 SSD
ASRock 970 Extreme3 motherboard with S/PDIF audio
Galaxy-NVidia GeForce 8800GT video card, Cyber Power CP550HG USB UPS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2176
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are the appropriate qt packages built with CUPS use flag
(e.g. qtgui)?
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
franzf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 4105
Location: Irgendwo im Nirgendwo

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also make sure you have cups-filters installed.
_________________
"der mac dennoch wesen geil"
Wolfram von Eschenbach, Parzival (Buch 1, Z. 7).
Ein frühes Statement gegen Windows.

My overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr. M
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 83
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bjlockie wrote:
Does your printer still show up in cups (http://localhost:631)?
If so, print a test page.
If not re add it.


I'm connecting to a remote print server, non of the printers is attached locally. So they don't show up on the webinterface. I can print from non-KDE applications, e.g. Libre Office, Chromium.


albright wrote:
are the appropriate qt packages built with CUPS use flag
(e.g. qtgui)?


Yes, the cups use flag is enabled globally.

franzf wrote:
Also make sure you have cups-filters installed.


Is installed.

Any other ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2176
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is the print server showing the printers as windows shares?

if so, is kdebase-kioslaves built with samba use flag?
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr. M
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 83
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum