Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Ralink RT3070 USB
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Zubziro
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Sep 2005
Posts: 241
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 5:25 pm    Post subject: Ralink RT3070 USB Reply with quote

Hi

Anyone has experience with Ralink RT3070 USB WIFI under newer kernels like 3.10 or later in managed / AP mode?
I'm about to buy one and need advice if it will work or not.
Having one RTL8188RU which is working really badly as AP with hostapd and don't want another troublesome.

/Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1406

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This woman was none too happy, but got it working
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javeree
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 278

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have one:
Quote:
# lsusb -v
# Bus 001 Device 005: ID 148f:3070 Ralink Technology, Corp. RT2870/RT3070 Wireless Adapter
# Device Descriptor:
# bLength 18
# bDescriptorType 1
# bcdUSB 2.00
# bDeviceClass 0 (Defined at Interface level)
# bDeviceSubClass 0
# bDeviceProtocol 0
# bMaxPacketSize0 64
# idVendor 0x148f Ralink Technology, Corp.
# idProduct 0x3070 RT2870/RT3070 Wireless Adapter
# bcdDevice 1.01
# iManufacturer 1 Ralink
# iProduct 2 802.11 n WLAN
# iSerial 3 1.0


Using it using the following kernel settings:
Quote:
CONFIG_RT2800USB=m
# these are subsettings for additional, newer chipsets, but I don't need them
CONFIG_RT2800USB_RT33XX=n
CONFIG_RT2800USB_RT35XX=n
CONFIG_RT2800USB_RT53XX=n
CONFIG_RT2800USB_UNKNOWN=n
# in general, I don't need debugging
CONFIG_RT2X00_DEBUG=n


This is my /etc/conf.d/net.wlanu
Quote:
# /etc/conf.d/net.wlanu

modules_wlanu="!iwconfig !wpa_supplicant"

config_wlanu="null"

preup() {
if echo $IFACE | grep -q wlan ; then

# without 4addr it is not possible to add wlan to the bridge:
# 'brctl addif br0 wlanu' gives
# 'can't add wlanu to bridge br0: Operation not supported'

# setting wireless module AP in power_save mode save battery on the remote devices
# read read http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Documentation/iw#Using_4-address_for_AP_and_client_mode
# details on the settings:
# http://wireless.kernel.org/en/developers/Documentation/ieee80211/power-savings
# http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Documentation/dynamic-power-save
# Since some device drivers only power save manually, while others have it enabled all the time,
# by default use preup to enable it manually

# first set the type back to managed (hostapd sets it to AP), as it seems that setting 4addr or power_save in AP mode is not supported
iw dev $IFACE set type managed
iw dev $IFACE set power_save on
iw dev $IFACE set 4addr on
fi
return 0
}
# this interface must be part of a bridge, so the bridge must first be started,
# then the interface must be added to the bridge
rc_need="net.br0"
bridge_add_wlanu="br0"

# end of /etc/conf.d/net.wlanu


Quote:
# /etc/conf.d/hostapd
# Space separated list of interfaces which needs to be started before hostapd
INTERFACES="wlanu"

# Space separated list of configuration files
CONFIGS="/etc/hostapd/hostapd.conf.wlanu"

# Extra options to pass to hostapd, see hostapd(8)
OPTIONS=""

# end of /etc/conf.d/hostapd


and /etc/hostapd/hostapd.conf.wlanu:
Quote:
interface=wlanu
bridge=br0
driver=nl80211
logger_syslog=-1
logger_syslog_level=2
logger_stdout=-1
logger_stdout_level=2
dump_file=/tmp/hostapd.dump.wlanu
ctrl_interface=/var/run/hostapd
ctrl_interface_group=0
ssid=Vereecke
country_code=BO
hw_mode=g
channel=3
beacon_int=100
dtim_period=2
max_num_sta=255
rts_threshold=2347
fragm_threshold=2346
macaddr_acl=0
auth_algs=1
ignore_broadcast_ssid=0
wme_enabled=1
wme_ac_bk_cwmin=4
wme_ac_bk_cwmax=10
wme_ac_bk_aifs=7
wme_ac_bk_txop_limit=0
wme_ac_bk_acm=0
wme_ac_be_aifs=3
wme_ac_be_cwmin=4
wme_ac_be_cwmax=10
wme_ac_be_txop_limit=0
wme_ac_be_acm=0
wme_ac_vi_aifs=2
wme_ac_vi_cwmin=3
wme_ac_vi_cwmax=4
wme_ac_vi_txop_limit=94
wme_ac_vi_acm=0
wme_ac_vo_aifs=2
wme_ac_vo_cwmin=2
wme_ac_vo_cwmax=3
wme_ac_vo_txop_limit=47
wme_ac_vo_acm=0
wds_sta=1
eapol_key_index_workaround=0
eap_server=0
own_ip_addr=192.168.9.1
wpa=3
wpa_passphrase=xxxxxxxxxxxx
wpa_key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
wpa_pairwise=TKIP
rsn_pairwise=CCMP


I used to have it working like that, but recently switched kernel to 3.10.7-gentoo-r1. I now get during boot a message 'nl80211 cannot be loaded'. Still, when I plug in the stick, it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zubziro
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Sep 2005
Posts: 241
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

javeree wrote:
I used to have it working like that, but recently switched kernel to 3.10.7-gentoo-r1. I now get during boot a message 'nl80211 cannot be loaded'. Still, when I plug in the stick, it works.


Thanks for info!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zubziro
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Sep 2005
Posts: 241
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eyoung100 wrote:
This woman was none too happy, but got it working


Thanks, well i guess i will buy and give it a tray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum