Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Thunar and Problem with GVFS ( !! No automount !! )
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
krax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Troy, MI

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 8:50 am    Post subject: Thunar and Problem with GVFS ( !! No automount !! ) Reply with quote

hello;
i changed my network setup from wicd to wpa_supplicant
and after a reboot i saw that all of my automatically mounted (ntfs) partitions are gone;
thunar in command line produce this error in start :
Code:

(thunar:2342): GVFS-RemoteVolumeMonitor-WARNING **: invoking IsSupported() failed for remote volume monitor with dbus name org.gtk.Private.GduVolumeMonitor: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.Spawn.ChildSignaled: Process /usr/libexec/gvfs-gdu-volume-monitor received signal 6



Some one told me :

Quote:
if it depens on netmount to be running, then yes it would somewhat make sense.


So now i don't want wicd and I lost my auto-mount.

I am lost; if you have any solutions i am happy to hear them.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Troy, MI

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

re-emerge of libgdu also didn't work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1248
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry i was of no help yesterday, i use networkmanager. next time rather than comment your own post, append & edit the 1st to keep your thread on the unanswered post forum.

"re-emerge of libgdu also didn't work" & "re-emerge of gvfs also didn't work" ?????

"thunar" uhhh i guess your xfce4....

xfce-extra/xfce4-gvfs-mount
A panel plug-in to mount remote filesystems for the Xfce desktop environment

can you try that as a work around for the moment until you can really address the root problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Troy, MI

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

666threesixes666 wrote:
sorry i was of no help yesterday, i use networkmanager. next time rather than comment your own post, append & edit the 1st to keep your thread on the unanswered post forum.

"re-emerge of libgdu also didn't work" & "re-emerge of gvfs also didn't work" ?????

"thunar" uhhh i guess your xfce4....

xfce-extra/xfce4-gvfs-mount
A panel plug-in to mount remote filesystems for the Xfce desktop environment

can you try that as a work around for the moment until you can really address the root problem?


THANKS;
I did all of that and more but no luck; even PCMANFM returns The GVFS error that I posted on the first post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1248
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ntfs? are they samba shares?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
patrix_neo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Posts: 385
Location: Svedala

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

He might have meant nfs?

I bet my two nickles on udev here and fstab errors? Just throwing out a thought...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Troy, MI

PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello;
No samba, nothing networky.
My NTFS partitions (they are not in fstab) used to be mounted automatically in thunar and shown in the left panel.
Then i went with wpa_supplicant .
when i decided to remove the wicd from my default runlevel and i rebooted; lo and behold my Ntfs portions were gone. only the root (/) and /boot partitions that i specified in the fstab are mounted and shown.
my partition scheme:

Code:
  Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *        2048   245762047   122880000    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda2       245762048   655362047   204800000   83  Linux
/dev/sda3       655362048   659458047     2048000   83  Linux
/dev/sda4       659458048  1953523711   647032832    5  Extended
/dev/sda5       659460096   667652095     4096000   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda6       667654144  1077254143   204800000    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda7      1077256192  1486856191   204800000    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda8      1486858240  1953523711   233332736    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT


sda 6-7-8 would mount automatically without any additional software and thunar plugins even thunar-volman as long as i have wcid in my default run level. they would be gone;if i deleted wicd from the default run level and reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1248
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1, reinsert wicd, do the mounts come back mounting?
2, remove wicd again, and put #/dev on all the ntfs entries in fstab
3, report back what happens

:twisted:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Troy, MI

PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. wicd in default runlevel ---> every things good and automount is ok.
wcid removed from the runlevel:
Code:
~ $ thunar

(thunar:2360): GVFS-RemoteVolumeMonitor-WARNING **: invoking IsSupported() failed for remote volume monitor with dbus name org.gtk.Private.GduVolumeMonitor: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.Spawn.ChildSignaled: Process /usr/libexec/gvfs-gdu-volume-monitor received signal 6


2.there is only 3 entry in my fstab root boot swap thats all ( i was and has been since the day one).
Code:
/dev/sda2              /             ext4      defaults,noatime      0      1
/dev/sda5              none          swap      defaults              0      0
/dev/sda3              /boot         ext4      defaults,noatime      0      2


The report: Sir; I installed PcManFM and Nautilus too and they reported the same GVFS Error when there is no wicd in play. they all returned the same GVFS error.
I hate to say but it is a problem with the GVFS ( the gnome-base package)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1248
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

works with wicd, & network manager.... are you sure the blame doesn't lie with wpa_supplicant? i hate it when packages interacting with each other have problems, because of determining where the problem is becomes a task in its self. my gvfs mounts usb sticks that are jfs & btrfs with no net involved, and samba when net is involved. samba bit extra information, could be a bug in gvfs ntfs support that only shows up under your conditions. another problem is a mesh of ntfs methods. how are you loading ntfs? kernel only ntfs worked fine for me with gvfs. usb stick 4 car radio = known working reference.


https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-857657-start-0.html
says
re-emerge dbus and reboot fixes the GID. & "This can be "fixed" by running chmod u+s /usr/libexec/dbus-daemon-launch-helper "

multiple sources are saying its a dbus issue. (redhat included) i really hope you actually went through the motions of the 123 post, as silly as they may be..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Troy, MI

PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 6:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

666threesixes666 wrote:
works with wicd, & network manager.... are you sure the blame doesn't lie with wpa_supplicant?

wpa_supplicant is the base of network manager and wicd. (at least i know for sure wpa_supplicant is the brain of operations behind the wicd). wicd and networkmanager are tools or "GUI handy"s that manipulate wpa_supplicant; the actual job of "connecting" "handshaking" "checking the password" "reconnectin" and ... rests with wpa_supplicant.
The second part is "inability" of GVFS to meet his "NET compartment" with wpa_supplicant.

also I only configuration for ntfs is the kernel + ntfs3g package

666threesixes666 wrote:
i really hope you actually went through the motions of the 123 post

I did all of you told me and much more before i even post here.

666threesixes666 wrote:
multiple sources are saying its a dbus issue. (redhat included)

Yes it is true; redhat Centos Ubuntu are all reported that and they all fixed that issue they report if you looked closely was in 2009 and some in 2011.

you suggested the problem may rest with Udisks or Dbus; ok i checked and i got this:
Code:

[b]~#/usr/libexec/gvfs-gdu-volume-monitor[/b]
in gdu_pool_finalize()

(process:4445): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_object_unref: assertion `G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed
======================================================================
Error constructing GduPool: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: No such file or directory

This error suggests there's a problem with your udisks or D-Bus installation.
======================================================================

(process:4445): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: invalid (NULL) pointer instance

(process:4445): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_signal_connect_data: assertion `G_TYPE_CHECK_INSTANCE (instance)' failed

(process:4445): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: invalid (NULL) pointer instance

(process:4445): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_signal_connect_data: assertion `G_TYPE_CHECK_INSTANCE (instance)' failed

(process:4445): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: invalid (NULL) pointer instance

(process:4445): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_signal_connect_data: assertion `G_TYPE_CHECK_INSTANCE (instance)' failed

(process:4445): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: invalid (NULL) pointer instance

(process:4445): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_signal_connect_data: assertion `G_TYPE_CHECK_INSTANCE (instance)' failed
**
libgdu:ERROR:gdu-pool.c:2565:gdu_pool_get_presentables: assertion failed: (pool != NULL)


What is Your Take on This
Thank YOU
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1248
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i really have no idea, anything coming from me at this point is a shot in the dark. googleing a line of that error you posted, arch linux people saying your dbus is not started @ boot.

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=135048

as root....

/etc/init.d/dbus status

should return
* status: started

and if not

as root....

/etc/init.d/dbus start

& again as root

rc-update add dbus default


maybe wicd and NM trigger dbus to load & wpa_supplicant does not....

mkultra@mksrv ~ $ sudo rc-update | grep dbus
mkultra@mksrv ~ $ sudo /etc/init.d/dbus status
* status: started

there are many moving parts in your problem and it makes it that much more difficult to resolve because of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
patrix_neo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Posts: 385
Location: Svedala

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krax wrote:
(process:4445): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_object_unref: assertion `G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed
======================================================================
Error constructing GduPool: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: No such file or directory


This file really should be in there. So, your dbus is doing something weird, if it's running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum