Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Beginner's Installation (I changed the title)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
gogobebe2
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 7:26 pm    Post subject: Beginner's Installation (I changed the title) Reply with quote

Hey, I am 13 years old. I want to learn linux and how it works. I am up to step 4 in Gentoo Hand book:http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-amd64.xml?part=1&chap=4 and I don't know how big each partiton and everything should be. I am really new to linux. I have a 320.1 GB hardrive and 6 gb of ram. Thanks if someone could tell me how to do this because I am sooo confused on how to partition.

Much appriciated :D

Last edited by gogobebe2 on Tue Nov 05, 2013 11:35 pm; edited 3 times in total
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to Gentoo! I hope you're having fun with it.

The page you linked tells you exactly how big you should make each partition. The boot partition will be 32M, the swap partition 512M, and the root partition will take up the remaining space.

If you have questions on specific parts of that page, quote the passage you're having trouble with and we'll see if we can help you out.
Discord: https://discord.gg/73XV24dNPN
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote