Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Beginner's Installation (I changed the title)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1248
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i make those 2 use flags global. (as in recursively across my system)

i nano /etc/portage/make.conf

go to

USE="

and add past the "

USE="xa libkms


then ctrl + x then y then y

then emerge gnome


make sure you learn how to merge the changes as they are suggesting you learn previous page too though.


i do it by manipulating /etc/portage/make.conf.... the config auto write wants to edit it for only those packages and does it through manipulating /etc/portage/package.use which is technically a more correct solution for everything else unless you know you want every package to use those uses flags in the future on your system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54233
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gogobebe2,

You have the gnome profile set.
As a result, many of your USE flags have been changed but they are not yet included in the software you hake installed.
For that to happen, you need to rebuild all the packages affected by USE flag changes. Thats what --newuse does.

Run
Code:
emerge -uDNav @world --keep-going
all the USE flags that appear in green have been changed.

Code:
Homework :)

What do the options -uDNav and --keep-going do?
Read
Code:
man emerge


Also, it looks like your VIDEO_CARDS= setting in make.conf is incorrect, if its set at all.
Check the Xorg guide.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1428

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GoGoBebe,
I thought, I'd provide some examples of a fully running VirtualBox VM running Gentoo and XFCE inside Windows 7 Pro. I provided these not only so you could see settings from a fully working example, but also because I wanted you to know about our Documentation Repository and our Wiki.

Code:
# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
CFLAGS="-march=corei7 -O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
# These are the USE flags that were used in addition to what is provided by the
# profile used for building.
USE="bindist fbcondecor mmx sse sse2 -ipv6 -qt3support -qt4"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
DISTDIR="${PORTDIR}/distfiles"
PKGDIR="${PORTDIR}/packages"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://gentoo.osuosl.org/"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.us.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
VIDEO_CARDS="virtualbox"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev"


Code:
ecyoung@gentoo-vbox ~ $ sudo eselect profile list
Password:
Available profile symlink targets:
  [1]   default/linux/amd64/13.0
  [2]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/selinux
  [3]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop *
  [4]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome
  [5]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome/systemd
  [6]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/kde
  [7]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/kde/systemd
  [8]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/developer
  [9]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/no-multilib
  [10]  default/linux/amd64/13.0/x32
  [11]  hardened/linux/amd64
  [12]  hardened/linux/amd64/selinux
  [13]  hardened/linux/amd64/no-multilib
  [14]  hardened/linux/amd64/no-multilib/selinux
  [15]  hardened/linux/amd64/x32
  [16]  hardened/linux/uclibc/amd64


Code:
#Package Name      Arch
#Manually Added
media-gfx/splashutils   ~amd64

#Added by Autounmask-write
#Removed specific versions to always
#accept testing
# required by www-client/midori-0.5.5
# required by midori (argument)
dev-lang/vala       ~amd64
# required by dev-lang/vala-0.20.1
# required by www-client/midori-0.5.5
# required by midori (argument)
dev-libs/vala-common   ~amd64
# required by midori (argument)
www-client/midori   ~amd64


Code:
#Package Name            Use Flag List
#Manually Added
#Needed by Package media-gfx/splashutils
virtual/jpeg            static-libs
sys-libs/zlib            static-libs
media-libs/libmng         static-libs
app-arch/bzip2            static-libs
media-libs/libpng         static-libs
media-libs/freetype         static-libs
media-libs/libjpeg-turbo      static-libs
media-libs/lcms            static-libs
sys-libs/gpm            static-libs

#See XFCE Gentoo Wiki:
#http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Xfce
gnome-base/gvfs            -http


Gentoo Multilib ScreenShot

Useful Tools:
app-admin/sudo
app-admin/gksudo
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gogobebe2
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Oct 2013
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I'm gonna revert to my last snapshot and try again

[edit]: I am now gonna try enlightenment17 instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54233
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gogobebe2,

You want to try all the hard ones first. Good luck :)

To get the best out of your Gentoo, make it work first, make it better/faster/shinier later.
If it works, even if its slow, fat and ugly, it gives you something to go back to when, not if, you break it.
With small steps you will learn both more and faster.

Follow the Xorg guide - in particular twm and xterm which are installed only for testing. twm is quite usable too.
With twm working, you can try something else, without removing twm, so you have it as a fallback.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1428

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
gogobebe2,

You want to try all the hard ones first. Good luck :)

To get the best out of your Gentoo, make it work first, make it better/faster/shinier later.
If it works, even if its slow, fat and ugly, it gives you something to go back to when, not if, you break it.
With small steps you will learn both more and faster.


I wanted to say that, but didn't want to disappont :lol:

@gogo: Re: Hard ones, E17 requires an overlay and a slot, and overlays aren't exactly the easiest to grasp...
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1248
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i streamlined the layman wiki page to make it a snap.... i should probably note that the various back ends need to be installed... ie if pulling from a git repo, git must be emerged first... or if mercurial to merge mercurial first.... that should really be handled upstream imho... use merging procedures, like svn 2 git, mercurial 2 git, etc etc etc and just git everything on the users end...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kurly
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Apr 2012
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

666threesixes666 wrote:
i streamlined the layman wiki page to make it a snap.... i should probably note that the various back ends need to be installed... ie if pulling from a git repo, git must be emerged first... or if mercurial to merge mercurial first.... that should really be handled upstream imho... use merging procedures, like svn 2 git, mercurial 2 git, etc etc etc and just git everything on the users end...
Your edit to the wiki removed important information. Please, please, please, please refrain from making changes when you do not understand why the original was written the way it was. Your complaints about git/mercurial/svn are already properly handled by USE flags in layman, and again indicate a lack of understanding about how software distribution actually works.

Providing guesswork as advice is particularly dangerous when you are dealing with someone new who can't necessarily tell the difference between good advice and bad advice yet. It really does seem that you are willing to send someone up the river before realizing that some things are better left unsaid. It may not be today, it may not be tomorrow, but you are going to cause grievous harm to someone's setup, and it's not fair and not right to continue to risk that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2569

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dude.

This one is on a VM right?

Don't revert, copy the VM and THEN try something else. That way you have two VMs and two different environments. Or make a clone from the snapshot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1248
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kurly... i tested it before i edited it.... i removed verbose babel, and inserted concise commands instead. if you have better edits, i welcome them....

the note was completely inaccurate.

https://wiki.gentoo.org/index.php?title=Layman&diff=49361&oldid=14099

& the gem...

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Layman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gogobebe2
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Oct 2013
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
gogobebe2,

You want to try all the hard ones first. Good luck :)

To get the best out of your Gentoo, make it work first, make it better/faster/shinier later.
If it works, even if its slow, fat and ugly, it gives you something to go back to when, not if, you break it.
With small steps you will learn both more and faster.

Follow the Xorg guide - in particular twm and xterm which are installed only for testing. twm is quite usable too.
With twm working, you can try something else, without removing twm, so you have it as a fallback.


I searched up Xorg and it talks about Windows X? Also twm and xterm are desktop environments, should I just use it to test if everything is working? I don't know how they are used, could u explain? So can you have more than 1 enviroment running on each Other?

[edit: Also, is openbox any good? I see that a lot on the internet about gentoo.]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gogobebe2
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Oct 2013
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have beem following: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Xorg/Configuration and it talks about configuring my kernel. I have genkernel. I went here: http://www.gentoo.org//doc/en/kernel-config.xml and it tells me I can't do that with genkernel because it's automatic?? Is there a way to change my kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gogobebe2
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Oct 2013
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I went to www.gentoo-wiki.info/Xorg/Install#Installation
and here is what I have done by following the guide. It's not working. Also that guide was made in 2008 so I don't know if it's good:
http://postimg.org/gallery/1d3xq5a6/bf8825e9/
Also just for laughs I just installed:
http://s15.postimg.org/a5lyiz00p/lol_look_what_I_got_XD_XD_XD.png
lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d3d9
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Location: Germany, NRW

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try the wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Xorg/Configuration guide again.

First, back up your current kernel and its related files, run
Code:
mkdir /boot/backup

and
Code:
cp /boot/*genkernel* /boot/backup/


Run
Code:
genkernel --menuconfig all
and configure it like the guide says.
Also, when it gives you an error, don't continue with the next command, read what it says and try to search for a fix or ask about that.
It is very bad to lose stuff on the way and it can lead to hard to fix problems, you should learn to do that even in a virtual machine, so you are prepared for when you will really install it :p
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1428

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Might I also recommend editing /etc/genkernel.conf. Set MENUCONFIG=yes CLEAN=yes MRPROPER=yes and LOGLEVEL=5
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 772
Location: over here

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gogobebe2 wrote:
I went to www.gentoo-wiki.info/Xorg/Install#Installation
and here is what I have done by following the guide. It's not working. Also that guide was made in 2008 so I don't know if it's good:
http://postimg.org/gallery/1d3xq5a6/bf8825e9/


Is there a reason you're reading such an old article?
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Xorg/Configuration is current.

You probably don't need an xorg.conf, nonetheless It probably is worth learning how to configure. That's something I have to get around to myself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gogobebe2
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Oct 2013
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d3d9 wrote:
Try the wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Xorg/Configuration guide again.

First, back up your current kernel and its related files, run
Code:
mkdir /boot/backup

and
Code:
cp /boot/*genkernel* /boot/backup/


Run
Code:
genkernel --menuconfig all
and configure it like the guide says.
Also, when it gives you an error, don't continue with the next command, read what it says and try to search for a fix or ask about that.
It is very bad to lose stuff on the way and it can lead to hard to fix problems, you should learn to do that even in a virtual machine, so you are prepared for when you will really install it :p

Could you further explain to me what those commands do and why and what each thing means - I know it backs it up and the last 1 opens genkernel's config, I am just curious
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d3d9
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Location: Germany, NRW

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
mkdir /boot/backup

makes a new directory in /boot/ called backup.

Code:
cp /boot/*genkernel* /boot/backup/

copies every file which has genkernel in its name into the directory /boot/backup.
the *'s are wildcards, just to make it easier. For me, genkernel made 3 files, see http://qs.lc/wp80 and each one of those has genkernel in its name.
you could just do
Code:
cp /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-3.10.7-gentoo-r1 /boot/backup/

and the same for the rest, but this command with the *'s copies all three at once and makes you write less. using wildcards is often useful when doing such stuff.

Code:
genkernel --menuconfig all

runs genkernel, but instead of running the default configuration, it opens the menuconfig and then compiles.
this is the same as running the stuff in the manual way, using "make menuconfig" and all that, I use the genkernel way all the time, but as far as I know it doesn't backup your current kernel, only your current kernel config, so its better to back up your kernel and its related files before that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gogobebe2
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Oct 2013
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d3d9 wrote:
Code:
mkdir /boot/backup

makes a new directory in /boot/ called backup.

Code:
cp /boot/*genkernel* /boot/backup/

copies every file which has genkernel in its name into the directory /boot/backup.
the *'s are wildcards, just to make it easier. For me, genkernel made 3 files, see http://qs.lc/wp80 and each one of those has genkernel in its name.
you could just do
Code:
cp /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-3.10.7-gentoo-r1 /boot/backup/

and the same for the rest, but this command with the *'s copies all three at once and makes you write less. using wildcards is often useful when doing such stuff.

Code:
genkernel --menuconfig all

runs genkernel, but instead of running the default configuration, it opens the menuconfig and then compiles.
this is the same as running the stuff in the manual way, using "make menuconfig" and all that, I use the genkernel way all the time, but as far as I know it doesn't backup your current kernel, only your current kernel config, so its better to back up your kernel and its related files before that.

Thanks! :)
http://postimg.org/gallery/6pnq4ly8/2b6cff80/ is it normal to take that long?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d3d9
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Location: Germany, NRW

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, don't worry. It also depends on how many cores you have given the image in the virtual machine, but just let it run for now.

Edit: And also on how many modules/settings/whatever you have in the kernel settings. First you want to try to get to a normally working install with desktop and all that, so let it be like this for now, later on your real system you should configure it to how you really need it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54233
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gogobebe2,

As you are in Virtual Box, specal kernel settings are not required. Your Gentoo cannot see your real hardware, only the virtual hardware provided by the virtual box software. To demonstrate, run lspci inside and outside of Virtual Box.

The X windows system provides interfaces to allow other programs to manipulate windows objects on your Linux install.
However, its only a low level interface. To actually draw windows requires a window manager program, of which there are lots.
The Window Manager (twm) is one cf the oldest and simplest.
It gets worse. You now have Xorg, that can draw windows a window manager to tell Xorg how to construct windows but as yet, no programs to tell the window manager what to draw and where to draw it. xterm is a simple terminal emulator that tells twm to tell xorg to draw a terminal.

There is almost no setup required as the default Xorg startup script is to start Xorg, 3 xterms and xclock. If that doesn't just work, nothing else will work in Xorg.
Its called keeping the problem space small - that makes it easy to locate and fix issues.

Some history may be in order. Xorg is in two parts. If you want X to draw pictures on your PC, you need the server part. (the client and server names are swapped)
If you only want to draw pictures to show on another system, you only need the client part. In fact, the 'client' is the libraries required by the programs generating the commads to the window manager.

You can try this - put it on your todo list.
In your Debian start VBox and Gentoo.
Open a terminal in Debian and ssh into Gentoo, taking care to turn on X forwarding.
When the prompt returns, type a command to start a graphical program on Gentoo.
Notice it is displayed on Debian

Consider your Debian to be your PC and your VBox to be some other system, anywhere on the internet.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1428

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
gogobebe2,

As you are in Virtual Box, specal kernel settings are not required. Your Gentoo cannot see your real hardware, only the virtual hardware provided by the virtual box software. To demonstrate, run lspci inside and outside of Virtual Box.

The X windows system provides interfaces to allow other programs to manipulate windows objects on your Linux install.
However, its only a low level interface. To actually draw windows requires a window manager program, of which there are lots.
The Window Manager (twm) is one cf the oldest and simplest.
It gets worse. You now have Xorg, that can draw windows a window manager to tell Xorg how to construct windows but as yet, no programs to tell the window manager what to draw and where to draw it. xterm is a simple terminal emulator that tells twm to tell xorg to draw a terminal.

There is almost no setup required as the default Xorg startup script is to start Xorg, 3 xterms and xclock. If that doesn't just work, nothing else will work in Xorg.
Its called keeping the problem space small - that makes it easy to locate and fix issues.

Some history may be in order. Xorg is in two parts. If you want X to draw pictures on your PC, you need the server part. (the client and server names are swapped)
If you only want to draw pictures to show on another system, you only need the client part. In fact, the 'client' is the libraries required by the programs generating the commads to the window manager.

You can try this - put it on your todo list.
In your Debian start VBox and Gentoo.
Open a terminal in Debian and ssh into Gentoo, taking care to turn on X forwarding.
When the prompt returns, type a command to start a graphical program on Gentoo.
Notice it is displayed on Debian

Consider your Debian to be your PC and your VBox to be some other system, anywhere on the internet.


See The Difference Between Desktop Environments (DE's) and Window Managers (WM's). This is very confusing because the Desktop Environments and the Window Managers don't exist in Windows. They are all one piece.
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gogobebe2
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Oct 2013
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@everyone,
Thanks! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gogobebe2
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Oct 2013
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eyoung100 wrote:
NeddySeagoon wrote:
gogobebe2,

As you are in Virtual Box, specal kernel settings are not required. Your Gentoo cannot see your real hardware, only the virtual hardware provided by the virtual box software. To demonstrate, run lspci inside and outside of Virtual Box.

The X windows system provides interfaces to allow other programs to manipulate windows objects on your Linux install.
However, its only a low level interface. To actually draw windows requires a window manager program, of which there are lots.
The Window Manager (twm) is one cf the oldest and simplest.
It gets worse. You now have Xorg, that can draw windows a window manager to tell Xorg how to construct windows but as yet, no programs to tell the window manager what to draw and where to draw it. xterm is a simple terminal emulator that tells twm to tell xorg to draw a terminal.

There is almost no setup required as the default Xorg startup script is to start Xorg, 3 xterms and xclock. If that doesn't just work, nothing else will work in Xorg.
Its called keeping the problem space small - that makes it easy to locate and fix issues.

Some history may be in order. Xorg is in two parts. If you want X to draw pictures on your PC, you need the server part. (the client and server names are swapped)
If you only want to draw pictures to show on another system, you only need the client part. In fact, the 'client' is the libraries required by the programs generating the commads to the window manager.

You can try this - put it on your todo list.
In your Debian start VBox and Gentoo.
Open a terminal in Debian and ssh into Gentoo, taking care to turn on X forwarding.
When the prompt returns, type a command to start a graphical program on Gentoo.
Notice it is displayed on Debian

Consider your Debian to be your PC and your VBox to be some other system, anywhere on the internet.


See The Difference Between Desktop Environments (DE's) and Window Managers (WM's). This is very confusing because the Desktop Environments and the Window Managers don't exist in Windows. They are all one piece.

Are Window Managers just for testing and debugging? Or do I need a environment?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gogobebe2
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Oct 2013
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:

As you are in Virtual Box, specal kernel settings are not required. Your Gentoo cannot see your real hardware, only the virtual hardware provided by the virtual box software. To demonstrate, run lspci inside and outside of Virtual Box..

I am up to the bit where I have to add a driver to the make.conf. Do I do
Code:
virtualbox
? Lol just guessing...
And I added udev like thois to the USE flag variable:
Code:
USE="udev bindlist mmx sse sse2"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next
Page 8 of 12

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum