Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gnome 3.8 & systemd
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ggeeoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 9:36 am    Post subject: Gnome 3.8 & systemd Reply with quote

I have an experimental system where I run gnome 3.8. An hour ago I tried to do an upgrade world (last time I did that was a week ago). It seems that now some packages depend on systemd. Namely the following 3 core gnome packages
Code:
=gnome-base/gnome-shell-3.8.3-r2
=gnome-base/gnome-settings-daemon-3.8.4
=gnome-base/gdm-3.8.3.1

have a hard dependency on systemd. Moreover, gdm requires the systemd use flag to be set for sys-auth/pambase. Does this mean that there is no way to run gnome 3.8 without systemd? Or do those packages just use some parts of systemd but without relying on it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mardok45
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 63
Location: Right behind you

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

3.8 uses some parts of systemd. If you don't boot with systemd, everything except suspening works. If you need to suspend your machine, but don't want to use systemd, you should stick with 3.6.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ggeeoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok so I installed these packages (the ones that pull systemd in as a dependency) and I rebooted my system without changing anything else (e.g. no init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd). The systems boots without any issues using openrc like before but now I cannot start gdm. I get the following error:

Code:
# /etc/init.d/xdm start
ERROR: Please set your DISPLAYMANAGER variable in /etc/conf.d/xdm,
   or install x11-apps/xdm package  [ !! ]
 * Setting up xdm ...
 * start-stop-daemon: /usr/bin/xdm does not exist
 * ERROR: could not start the Display Manager  [ ok ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 1269

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you checked /etc/conf.d/xdm? Chances are it really is what it says: A config file that isn't properly configured. Updates have a nasty habit of removing your changes.

Next, have you tried to run GDM manually? With what result?
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ggeeoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so it seems that it is not possible to run gnome 3.8 without systemd :( (relevant bug). That's disappointing. I don't know what I am going to do now. I will not stay with gnome 3.6 for ever. I will either have to migrate to systemd or stop using gnome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
azp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 336
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ggeeoo wrote:
Ok so I installed these packages (the ones that pull systemd in as a dependency) and I rebooted my system without changing anything else (e.g. no init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd). The systems boots without any issues using openrc like before but now I cannot start gdm. I get the following error:

Code:
# /etc/init.d/xdm start
ERROR: Please set your DISPLAYMANAGER variable in /etc/conf.d/xdm,
   or install x11-apps/xdm package  [ !! ]
 * Setting up xdm ...
 * start-stop-daemon: /usr/bin/xdm does not exist
 * ERROR: could not start the Display Manager  [ ok ]


I have the same issue, and chose to install systemd. I'm not booting via it yet though, so I guess I have to do that. The issue does not seem to be because of an error in the config file, mine looks the same as before. But for some reason, xdm doesn't seem to look for the variable in the config file anymore.
_________________
Weeks of coding can save you hours of planning.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ggeeoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No it does. It's just that the gdm binary moved from /usr/bin/gdm to /usr/sbin/gdm. You could try to symlink it but it still doesn't seem to work. In my case, it started loading gdm, but it never got to the login screen. Also, the /etc/init.d/xdm script never forked to the background.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sipingal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 62
Location: China

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2013 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

there is xdm service there, you can use "-f" option to override it.
# systemctl -f enable gdm.service
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryszardzonk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 182
Location: Rzeszów, POLAND

PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2013 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just tried to get gnome 3.8 running without systemd and I stumbled across same XDM problem. Have you guys made it work?

sipingal wrote:
there is xdm service there, you can use "-f" option to override it.
# systemctl -f enable gdm.service

do you mean "sysctl" not "systemctl"? If so what it does? Does it interfere with /etc/conf.d/xdm in any way? What if I set there to some other displaymanager like "lightdm"?
_________________
Sky is not the limit...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fturco
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Dec 2010
Posts: 240
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2013 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

He means "systemctl", not "sysctl". systemctl is the command for starting/stopping services with systemd. You don't have it on your system unless you install systemd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryszardzonk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 182
Location: Rzeszów, POLAND

PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2013 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fturco thanks for explanation. So I take there is no other way than switch to systemd eventually at some point. Oh well it wouldn't be first time one has to switch some integral part in Linux to keep up ;)
_________________
Sky is not the limit...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum