Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] Using the full space of a 3TB hard disk
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31624
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

srs5694,

Well said, thank you. I mixed up the two issues.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
majoron
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Oct 2005
Posts: 186
Location: Frankfurt

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,
Thank you very much for the interest and the good comments here.

I had some problems due to a series of unfortunate coincidences starting with a wrong "grub-install" aimed at doing what s4e8 suggested
s4e8 wrote:
you must enable kernel config
CONFIG_SCSI_MULTI_LUN=y

BTW, thank you very much, s4e8, for the detail. I was missing this option.

Now, after being able to boot again, I can see that the disk is seen indeed as two devices: I have now sdc and sdd (of course sdc1 and sdd1 are the partitions). Somehow the effect of the HPA is to artificially split the disk.
In this situation my preferred strategy would be to proceed safely, avoiding any risky step. After all I have access to all the space I bought...

I'll comment below on other comments.
_________________
Computers are like air conditioners, they stop working properly if you open Windows
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
majoron
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Oct 2005
Posts: 186
Location: Frankfurt

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
majoron,

Code:
hdparm -N /dev/sdc

/dev/sdc:
SG_IO: bad/missing sense data, sb[]:  f0 00 01 00 50 4d 00 0a a0 50 a3 af 00 1d 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
 max sectors   = 5860533168/1(5860533168?), HPA setting seems invalid (buggy kernel device driver?)


and your comment about the disk being split into two gives me a pointer.

Your drive my be programmed to lie about it real size by having the missing space allocated to a Host Protected Area, which is what the HPA reference in your message above is. This is, or was, a small area at the end of a drive, hidden from the operating system, often used for a system restore area. Special software is needed to access it, as the Host cannot see the space - hence Host Protected Area.

It should be listed in dmesg if its there. If you do have a HPA, you may use Linux to remove it to get all of your space back.
Put your dmesg onto a pastebin site and post a link if you want us to review it.

-- Edit --
Max Sectors=5860533168 is 3000592982016 B or three salesmans Tb.


I posted on pastebin the part that shows up when the disk is switched on.

Do you need the full dmesg?
Again, thank you.
_________________
Computers are like air conditioners, they stop working properly if you open Windows
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31624
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

majoron,

All is well - you need to read Using the Verbatim Mode Change Tool
Unfortunately, it needs Windows.

This tool lets you switch between normal mode, where you see all of your drive in one piece and the two pieces you have now, which makes for easy living with MSDOS Partitions.
This switch destroys your data.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
majoron
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Oct 2005
Posts: 186
Location: Frankfurt

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you NeddySaegoon for your help.
The hard disk, as I wrote above, is a Verbatim Store 'N' Save 3TB usb3.0 external hard disk. I have other verbatim products and no particular complain about them, and this one had a special price. Now I know why :evil:
Just for completeness; I add the lsusb info:
Code:
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 18a5:022a Verbatim, Ltd
Device Descriptor:
  bLength                18
  bDescriptorType         1
  bcdUSB               2.10
  bDeviceClass            0 (Defined at Interface level)
  bDeviceSubClass         0
  bDeviceProtocol         0
  bMaxPacketSize0        64
  idVendor           0x18a5 Verbatim, Ltd
  idProduct          0x022a
  bcdDevice            1.00
  iManufacturer          10 Verbatim
  iProduct               11 Desktop USB3.0 Drive
  iSerial                 3 18A5022A0000E189
  bNumConfigurations      1
  Configuration Descriptor:
    bLength                 9
    bDescriptorType         2
    wTotalLength           32
    bNumInterfaces          1
    bConfigurationValue     1
    iConfiguration          4 USB Mass Storage
    bmAttributes         0xc0
      Self Powered
    MaxPower                2mA
    Interface Descriptor:
      bLength                 9
      bDescriptorType         4
      bInterfaceNumber        0
      bAlternateSetting       0
      bNumEndpoints           2
      bInterfaceClass         8 Mass Storage
      bInterfaceSubClass      6 SCSI
      bInterfaceProtocol     80 Bulk-Only
      iInterface              6 MSC Bulk-Only Transfer
      Endpoint Descriptor:
        bLength                 7
        bDescriptorType         5
        bEndpointAddress     0x81  EP 1 IN
        bmAttributes            2
          Transfer Type            Bulk
          Synch Type               None
          Usage Type               Data
        wMaxPacketSize     0x0200  1x 512 bytes
        bInterval               0
      Endpoint Descriptor:
        bLength                 7
        bDescriptorType         5
        bEndpointAddress     0x02  EP 2 OUT
        bmAttributes            2
          Transfer Type            Bulk
          Synch Type               None
          Usage Type               Data
        wMaxPacketSize     0x0200  1x 512 bytes
        bInterval               0
Binary Object Store Descriptor:
  bLength                 5
  bDescriptorType        15
  wTotalLength           42
  bNumDeviceCaps          3
  USB 2.0 Extension Device Capability:
    bLength                 7
    bDescriptorType        16
    bDevCapabilityType      2
    bmAttributes   0x00000002
      Link Power Management (LPM) Supported
  SuperSpeed USB Device Capability:
    bLength                10
    bDescriptorType        16
    bDevCapabilityType      3
    bmAttributes         0x00
    wSpeedsSupported   0x000e
      Device can operate at Full Speed (12Mbps)
      Device can operate at High Speed (480Mbps)
      Device can operate at SuperSpeed (5Gbps)
    bFunctionalitySupport   1
      Lowest fully-functional device speed is Full Speed (12Mbps)
    bU1DevExitLat          10 micro seconds
    bU2DevExitLat          32 micro seconds
  Container ID Device Capability:
    bLength                20
    bDescriptorType        16
    bDevCapabilityType      4
    bReserved               0
    ContainerID             {00010203-0405-0607-0800-000000000000}
Device Status:     0x0001
  Self Powered

Bus 001 Device 008: ID 18a5:0400 Verbatim, Ltd
Device Descriptor:
  bLength                18
  bDescriptorType         1
  bcdUSB               2.10
  bDeviceClass            0 (Defined at Interface level)
  bDeviceSubClass         0
  bDeviceProtocol         0
  bMaxPacketSize0        64
  idVendor           0x18a5 Verbatim, Ltd
  idProduct          0x0400
  bcdDevice            0.01
  iManufacturer           1 Verbatim
  iProduct                2 USB 3.0 Desktop HD
  iSerial                 3 306219105620
  bNumConfigurations      1
  Configuration Descriptor:
    bLength                 9
    bDescriptorType         2
    wTotalLength           32
    bNumInterfaces          1
    bConfigurationValue     1
    iConfiguration          0
    bmAttributes         0xc0
      Self Powered
    MaxPower                8mA
    Interface Descriptor:
      bLength                 9
      bDescriptorType         4
      bInterfaceNumber        0
      bAlternateSetting       0
      bNumEndpoints           2
      bInterfaceClass         8 Mass Storage
      bInterfaceSubClass      6 SCSI
      bInterfaceProtocol     80 Bulk-Only
      iInterface              0
      Endpoint Descriptor:
        bLength                 7
        bDescriptorType         5
        bEndpointAddress     0x81  EP 1 IN
        bmAttributes            2
          Transfer Type            Bulk
          Synch Type               None
          Usage Type               Data
        wMaxPacketSize     0x0200  1x 512 bytes
        bInterval              20
      Endpoint Descriptor:
        bLength                 7
        bDescriptorType         5
        bEndpointAddress     0x02  EP 2 OUT
        bmAttributes            2
          Transfer Type            Bulk
          Synch Type               None
          Usage Type               Data
        wMaxPacketSize     0x0200  1x 512 bytes
        bInterval              20
Binary Object Store Descriptor:
  bLength                 5
  bDescriptorType        15
  wTotalLength           22
  bNumDeviceCaps          2
  USB 2.0 Extension Device Capability:
    bLength                 7
    bDescriptorType        16
    bDevCapabilityType      2
    bmAttributes   0x00000002
      Link Power Management (LPM) Supported
  SuperSpeed USB Device Capability:
    bLength                10
    bDescriptorType        16
    bDevCapabilityType      3
    bmAttributes         0x00
    wSpeedsSupported   0x000e
      Device can operate at Full Speed (12Mbps)
      Device can operate at High Speed (480Mbps)
      Device can operate at SuperSpeed (5Gbps)
    bFunctionalitySupport   1
      Lowest fully-functional device speed is Full Speed (12Mbps)
    bU1DevExitLat           0 micro seconds
    bU2DevExitLat           0 micro seconds
Device Status:     0x0001
  Self Powered

For the moment, I think I will use as it is: from your comments I think it's wise to not to try fancy things with the HPA and just use it as two disks, although a bit uncomfortable.

Next time I'll try to be more careful when choosing hardware.

Anyway, thank you, also srs5694 and Jaglover for the other interesting comments about this issue.

Strictly speaking the thread title's question has been already answered, so I'll mark it as solved.

Thanks to all.
_________________
Computers are like air conditioners, they stop working properly if you open Windows
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4599
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are welcome. Although I do not think this has anything to do with HPA. I'd contact the customer support and let them know splitting the drive 'just in case the customer is using a crappy OS' is not the solution, also I'd ask how to overcome this in POSIX environment.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31624
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

majoron,

It doesn't have a HPA. Its a standard HDD inside the enclosure.
However the enclosure USB/SATA controller can play tricks to make the one drive appear as two smaller drives, its supplied with this enabled.
You can turn this off if you want to - there is/was a Windows program on the disk to do that.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
majoron
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Oct 2005
Posts: 186
Location: Frankfurt

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
majoron,

All is well - you need to read Using the Verbatim Mode Change Tool
Unfortunately, it needs Windows.

This tool lets you switch between normal mode, where you see all of your drive in one piece and the two pieces you have now, which makes for easy living with MSDOS Partitions.
This switch destroys your data.

Ah! Thank you!
I Don't have Windows. And unfortunately I don't manage to get it working under wine (it does not find the disk).

Anyway, thank you, really.

Best regards.
_________________
Computers are like air conditioners, they stop working properly if you open Windows
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
majoron
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Oct 2005
Posts: 186
Location: Frankfurt

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
You are welcome. Although I do not think this has anything to do with HPA. I'd contact the customer support and let them know splitting the drive 'just in case the customer is using a crappy OS' is not the solution, also I'd ask how to overcome this in POSIX environment.

This could be a good thing to try...
Thanks again.
_________________
Computers are like air conditioners, they stop working properly if you open Windows
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
majoron
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Oct 2005
Posts: 186
Location: Frankfurt

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
majoron,

It doesn't have a HPA. Its a standard HDD inside the enclosure.
However the enclosure USB/SATA controller can play tricks to make the one drive appear as two smaller drives, its supplied with this enabled.
You can turn this off if you want to - there is/was a Windows program on the disk to do that.

I'm a bit slow in answering :oops:
In any case, I understand that behind that problem there are good (monetary) reasons (they avoid many refunds). But it's so... arghh!
_________________
Computers are like air conditioners, they stop working properly if you open Windows
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srs5694
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 424
Location: Woonsocket, RI

PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

majoron wrote:
Now, after being able to boot again, I can see that the disk is seen indeed as two devices: I have now sdc and sdd (of course sdc1 and sdd1 are the partitions). Somehow the effect of the HPA is to artificially split the disk.
In this situation my preferred strategy would be to proceed safely, avoiding any risky step. After all I have access to all the space I bought...


If you're using the disk exclusively from Linux, you could use LVM or RAID features to re-connect both "drives" into one unit, if that would be more convenient than using it as two "drives." That's adding complexity when simplifying the matter would be a better choice, though. IMHO, it's probably better to look into that program that NeddySeagoon has located. Even if you don't normally run Windows, plugging the disk into a Windows computer just to run that one program is probably worth doing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
majoron
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Oct 2005
Posts: 186
Location: Frankfurt

PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

srs5694 wrote:
majoron wrote:
Now, after being able to boot again, I can see that the disk is seen indeed as two devices: I have now sdc and sdd (of course sdc1 and sdd1 are the partitions). Somehow the effect of the HPA is to artificially split the disk.
In this situation my preferred strategy would be to proceed safely, avoiding any risky step. After all I have access to all the space I bought...


If you're using the disk exclusively from Linux, you could use LVM or RAID features to re-connect both "drives" into one unit, if that would be more convenient than using it as two "drives." That's adding complexity when simplifying the matter would be a better choice, though. IMHO, it's probably better to look into that program that NeddySeagoon has located. Even if you don't normally run Windows, plugging the disk into a Windows computer just to run that one program is probably worth doing.

I also thought about somehow combining the disks doing a RAID or something, but as you mention, that's not ideal and I would prefer to stay on the safe side for the moment.
On the other hand, I really don't have access to windoze, nor I'll have it in the short time (after all I bought the disk because I need it with some urgency): all the people I interact usually with, as far as I remember, use either Linux or Mac...
_________________
Computers are like air conditioners, they stop working properly if you open Windows
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srs5694
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 424
Location: Woonsocket, RI

PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

majoron wrote:
On the other hand, I really don't have access to windoze, nor I'll have it in the short time (after all I bought the disk because I need it with some urgency): all the people I interact usually with, as far as I remember, use either Linux or Mac...


If you bought it locally, take it to the store and ask to run the software on one of their computers. If they refuse (as they might), return the drive. It's not worth the hassle of dealing with half-baked workarounds, IMO.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum