Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Wrong resolution on one monitor on boot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
azp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 336
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2013 4:15 pm    Post subject: [Solved] Wrong resolution on one monitor on boot Reply with quote

I recently got a second monitor, so now I'm running a dual setup. It works great, except that each boot I get a wrong resolution on the second one. But here's the strange part: I only need to turn the monitor off and on again to fix the issue. Another way of fixing it is to change resolution in the Screen settings in Gnome.

Code:
peter@skare ~ $ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 3600 x 1200, maximum 8192 x 8192
HDMI-0 connected 1920x1200+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 518mm x 324mm
   1920x1200      60.0*+
   1600x1200      60.0 
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0 
   1152x864       75.0 
   1024x768       75.1     60.0 
   800x600        75.0     60.3 
   640x480        75.0     60.0 
   720x400        70.1 
VGA-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DIN disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-0 connected primary 1680x1050+1920+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 474mm x 296mm
   1680x1050      59.9*+
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0 
   1280x960       60.0 
   1152x864       75.0 
   1024x768       75.1     70.1     60.0 
   832x624        74.6 
   800x600        72.2     75.0     60.3     56.2 
   640x480        75.0     72.8     66.7     60.0 
   720x400        70.1


I'm running without Xorg.conf, except an 10-evdef.conf

10-evdev.conf wrote:
Section "InputClass"
Identifier "evdev keyboard catchall"
MatchIsKeyboard "on"
MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
Driver "evdev"
Option "XkbLayout" "se,se"
Option "XkbRules" "evdev"
Option "XkbModel" "tm2030PS2"
Option "XkbVariant" ",dvorak"
Option "XkbOptions" "eurosign:e, grp:lwin_toggle"
EndSection

_________________
Weeks of coding can save you hours of planning.


Last edited by azp on Sat Oct 05, 2013 11:03 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
netixen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Sep 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Sep 26, 2013 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi azp,
I can't say if that is a bug in X11 but i remember having similar problems on my workstation.
Here's how I've fixed it here, hope it helps.

Code:

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d $ cat 20-radeon.conf
Section "Device"
        Identifier      "RadeonHD 5650"
        Driver          "radeon"
        Option          "Monitor-LVDS"  "LVDS screen"
        Option          "Monitor-VGA-0" "VGA screen"
   Option      "AccelMethod"   "EXA"       #valid options are XAA and EXA. EXA is the newest acceleration method and it is the default.
EndSection

Code:

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d $ cat 40-monitor.conf
Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "LVDS screen"
   Option      "PreferredMode" "1366x768"
   DisplaySize   359 202
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "VGA screen"
   Option      "LeftOf" "LVDS screen"
   Option      "PreferredMode" "1680x1050"
   DisplaySize   560 350
EndSection
Section   "Screen"
   Identifier   "Screen"
   Device      "RadeonHD 5650"
   Monitor      "LVDS screen"
   DefaultDepth   24
   SubSection   "Display"
      Modes   "1366x768"
      Modes   "1680x1050"
#      Virtual   3046 1050
   EndSubSection
EndSection
[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
azp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 336
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! I've re-created a monitor settings file, as well as the radeon.conf file. Let's hope it works better next boot.
_________________
Weeks of coding can save you hours of planning.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
azp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 336
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2013 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It worked like a charm! But I should probably send a bug upstream so the automatic settings based on Essid work correctly.
_________________
Weeks of coding can save you hours of planning.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum