Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Huawei E3131 - how to run this under Gentoo?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1472
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 2:20 pm    Post subject: Huawei E3131 - how to run this under Gentoo? Reply with quote

Hi,

I have bought Huawei E3131, I am going on holiday and I would like to have an Internet from this.
http://www.huaweidevice.co.uk/devices/huawei-e3131/

On Gento wiki there is only manual for E367:
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Huawei_E367

What to do to run this? There is samle config file on Gento wiki form link above, can I find those details for my model form lsusb -v ?

Code:
*  sys-apps/usb_modeswitch
      Latest version available: 2.2.0_p20140529
      Latest version installed: 2.2.0_p20140529


Code:
# lsusb
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 12d1:15ca Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. E3131 3G/UMTS/HSPA+ Modem (Mass Storage Mode)


and with usb_modeswitch
Code:
Bus 003 Device 005: ID 12d1:1506 Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. Modem/Networkcard


Code:
# ls /dev/ttyUSB*
ls: cannot access /dev/ttyUSB*: No such file or directory


Update!!
This did the trick (thx NeddySeagoon)
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-942092-start-0.html
Quote:
Shot in the dark ...Kod:
modprobe option

plug in your dongle, wait a few seconds and Kod:
ls /dev/ttyUSB*

The uppercase USB matters.


Code:
# ls /dev/ttyUSB*
/dev/ttyUSB0  /dev/ttyUSB1  /dev/ttyUSB2


:D

Code:
# wvdialconf
Editing `/etc/wvdial.conf'.

Scanning your serial ports for a modem.

Modem Port Scan<*1>: S0   S1   S2   S3   
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 Z -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 -- +CME ERROR: Incorrect parameters
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &D2 -- +CME ERROR: Incorrect parameters
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 +FCLASS=0 -- +CME ERROR: Incorrect parameters
ttyUSB0<*1>: Modem Identifier: ATI -- Manufacturer: huawei
ttyUSB0<*1>: Speed 9600: AT -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: Max speed is 9600; that should be safe.
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 -- OK
ttyUSB1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 2400 baud, next try: 9600 baud
ttyUSB1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 9600 baud, next try: 9600 baud
ttyUSB1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- and failed too at 115200, giving up.
ttyUSB2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- OK
ttyUSB2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 Z -- OK
ttyUSB2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 -- OK
ttyUSB2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 -- +CME ERROR: Incorrect parameters
ttyUSB2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &D2 -- +CME ERROR: Incorrect parameters
ttyUSB2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 +FCLASS=0 -- +CME ERROR: Incorrect parameters
ttyUSB2<*1>: Modem Identifier: ATI -- Manufacturer: huawei
ttyUSB2<*1>: Speed 9600: AT -- OK
ttyUSB2<*1>: Max speed is 9600; that should be safe.
ttyUSB2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 -- OK

Found a modem on /dev/ttyUSB0.
/etc/wvdial.conf<Warn>: Can't open '/etc/wvdial.conf' for reading: No such file or directory
/etc/wvdial.conf<Warn>: ...starting with blank configuration.
Modem configuration written to /etc/wvdial.conf.
ttyUSB0<Info>: Speed 9600; init "ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0"
ttyUSB2<Info>: Speed 9600; init "ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0"


But how to configure this?
Code:
# wvdial
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.61
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0
ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Configuration does not specify a valid phone number.
--> Configuration does not specify a valid login name.
--> Configuration does not specify a valid password.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pearlseattle
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Oct 2007
Posts: 127
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

A long time ago I posted some guide about this kind of task and just today I edited the article adding some user's comments and then found as well your post (in the 0-reply posts section).

Therefore, what you might have to do is what I mentioned here under "5-Prepare the dialer":
http://www.blah-blah.ch/it/how-to-s/install-a-huawei-e1762-on-gentoo/#preparedialer

Just don't ask me anythiing about what I wrote there - it was 4 years ago :) .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum