Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
making portage prefer and use packages from an overlay?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jhon987
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2013
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2015 5:02 pm    Post subject: making portage prefer and use packages from an overlay? Reply with quote

Hi,
What is the correct way of making portage prefer and use packages from an overlay I use?

in here - https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Overlay#Setting_overlay_priorities - it says: 'all ... overlays take precedence. That is the default behavior, because overlays are designed to "lay over/on top" of the portage tree.'
So if that's the case then why is portage presenting me with the following:

Code:
# emerge -a kdelibs

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild  NS   ~] dev-qt/qttest-4.8.6-r1 [5.4.1] USE="exceptions (-aqua) -debug -pch"
[ebuild  NS   ~] dev-qt/qtxmlpatterns-4.8.6-r1 [5.4.1] USE="(-aqua) -debug -pch"
[ebuild  NS   ~] dev-qt/qtsvg-4.8.6-r1 [5.4.1] USE="accessibility exceptions (-aqua) -debug -pch"
[ebuild  NS   ~] dev-qt/qtwebkit-4.8.6-r1 [5.4.1] USE="exceptions gstreamer icu jit (-aqua) -debug -pch"
[ebuild  NS   ~] dev-qt/designer-4.8.6-r1 [5.4.1] USE="exceptions kde qt3support (-aqua) -debug -declarative -pch -phonon -webkit"
[ebuild  NS   ~] dev-qt/qtdeclarative-4.8.6-r1 [5.4.1] USE="accessibility exceptions qt3support (-aqua) -debug -pch -webkit"
[ebuild  N     ] kde-base/kdelibs-4.14.3-r1  USE="acl bzip2 crypt handbook nls opengl policykit ssl udev udisks upower -alsa (-altivec) (-aqua) -debug -doc -fam -jpeg2k -kerberos -lzma -nepomuk -openexr -spell {-test} -zeroconf" CPU_FLAGS_X86="mmx sse sse2 -3dnow"
[ebuild  N     ] kde-base/katepart-4.14.3  USE="handbook (-aqua) -debug"

Would you like to merge these packages? [Yes/No]


As you can see it wants to pull dev-qt/* lower versions from portage tree instead of keeping the ones I have from overlay.

Whilst $emerge --info --verbose clearly shows:

Code:
Repositories:

gentoo
    location: /usr/portage
    sync-type: rsync
    sync-uri: rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage
    priority: -1000

kde
    location: /var/lib/layman/kde
    masters: gentoo
    priority: 0


So what am I missing here?
Thanks for the help in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 33409
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2015 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jhon987,

Keywording and other 'masks' apply to all ebuilds. Check the keywording in the ebuilds in the overlay.
emerge -av will tell the repository used for each ebuild.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jhon987
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2013
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2015 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
jhon987,

Keywording and other 'masks' apply to all ebuilds. Check the keywording in the ebuilds in the overlay.
emerge -av will tell the repository used for each ebuild.


Thanks NeddySeagoon, it turns out that those higher version packages are actually from portage tree and not from the overlay (emerge -av has revealed that) .

It seemed so unlikely that I didn't even thought about it and just kept thinking I must stick to those 5.* versions in order to have my kde 5 running correctly, but then I looked and saw that inside ".../package.accept_keywords/kde-frameworks-5.8.keywords" is also 4.8.* versions so I realized I'm all good to emerge.

Damn autopilot thinking sometimes makes us miss things right under our noses...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 900

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 7:28 am    Post subject: Re: making portage prefer and use packages from an overlay? Reply with quote

jhon987 wrote:
Hi,
What is the correct way of making portage prefer and use packages from an overlay I use?
Check man portage for "priority".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum